Stuart MacBride Broken Skin

ISBN 13: 9780007193189

Broken Skin

4.12 avg rating
( 3,610 ratings by GoodReads )
9780007193189: Broken Skin

The third in the bestselling Logan McRae series, set in gritty Aberdeen, laced with dark humour. In the pale grey light of a chilly February, Aberdeen is not at its best! There's a rapist prowling the city's cold granite streets, leaving a string of tortured women behind. But while DS Logan McRae's girlfriend is out acting as bait, he's dealing with the blood-drenched body of an unidentified male, dumped outside Accident and Emergency. When a stash of explicit films turns up, all featuring the victim, it looks as if someone in the local bondage community has developed a taste for violent death, and Logan gets dragged into the twilight world of pornographers, sex-shops and S&M. To make matters worse, when they finally arrest the Granite City Rapist, Grampian Police are forced by the courts to let him go: Aberdeen Football Club's star striker has an alibi for every attack. Could they really have got it so badly wrong? Logan thinks so, but the trick will be getting anyone to listen before the real rapist strikes again. Especially as his girlfriend, PC Jackie 'Ball Breaker' Watson, is convinced the footballer is guilty and she's hell-bent on a conviction at any cost!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Praise for Dying Light
“Fans of Ian Rankin and Denise Mina will enjoy the mordant MacBride, whose second novel is every bit as dark and riveting as his debut, Cold Granite.”
--- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Any of the flamboyant evildoers in Dying Light could carry a terrific whodunit.”
--- Entertainment Weekly
Praise for Cold Granite
“Stuart MacBride joins an illustrious roster of Scottish crime writers. . . . By tangling together a half-dozen competing plot lines, MacBride keeps readers off-balance, even those who think they can see the tripwires.”
--- Houston Chronicle
“Grade: A . . . Tartan noir has a fresh new voice with an Aberdeen brogue in Stuart MacBride, whose first mystery,  Cold Granite, bids well to keep up with Ian Rankin and Denise Mina. . . . I’m already looking forward to the next installment in the career of Det. Sgt. McRae.”
--- Rocky Mountain News
“McRae is an interesting and subtle detective, and his investigation is both inventive and imaginative.”
--- Dallas Morning News
“Unbelievably assured and accomplished . . . MacBride is starting at the very top with his first book, which approaches the level of Michael Connelly’s best work. . . . MacBride’s writing is so good here that it’s hard to believe it’s not a sign of staying power.”
--- Flint Journal

About the Author:

Stuart MacBride has gone from asking people if they 'want fries with that' to project-managing vast IT projects for the oil industry. Somewhere in the middle he managed to make money out of dressing up as a woman. His first book, 'Cold Granite' was shortlisted for the International Thriller Writers' best debut novel and won the Barry Award for best first novel. The follow-up, 'Dying Light', became an instant top-ten bestseller. Both books feature DS Logan McRae. Stuart MacBride won the 2007 Dagger in the Library, awarded for a body of work. Stuart lives in north-east Scotland with his wife Fiona, cat Grendel, and a vegetable plot full of weeds.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 55.96

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Stuart MacBride
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007193181 ISBN 13: 9780007193189
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1

Book Description Harper, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007193181

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 55.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds