Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780902308640

Charles Baudelaire: A lyric poet in the era of high capitalism

Benjamin, Walter

4.29 avg rating
( 79 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780902308640: Charles Baudelaire: A lyric poet in the era of high capitalism

Walter Benjamin, one of the foremost cultural ommentators and theorists of the 20th century, is perhaps best known for his analyses of art in the modern age and the philosophy of history. Yet, it was through his study of the social and cultural history of late-19th-century Paris, examined particularly in relation to the figure of the great Parisian lyric poet Charles Baudelaire, that Benjamin tested and enriched some of his core concepts and themes. Contained within these pages are, among other insights, his notion of the "flaneur", his theory of memory and remembrance, his assessment of the utopian Fourier and his reading of the modernist movement. First translated in English in 1973, this is a study of the French lyric poet Charles Baudelaire. It should be useful as a text for readers of both Benjamin and Baudelaire, and for students of French literature. Walter Benjamin is the author of "One-Way Street", "The Origins of German Tagic Drama" and "Understanding Brecht".

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Language Notes:

Text: English, German (translation)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 49.30

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.19
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Benjamin, Walter
Published by NLB
ISBN 10: 0902308645 ISBN 13: 9780902308640
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Phatpocket Limited
(Waltham Abbey, HERTS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NLB. Book Condition: Acceptable. Used - Acceptable. Heavy wear and tear. Ex-library with wear - may contain significant amounts of highlighting and underlining in pen or pencil. Bookseller Inventory # Z1-T-030-01041

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 49.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.19
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Benjamin, Walter
Published by NLB, London (1973)
ISBN 10: 0902308645 ISBN 13: 9780902308640
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Walden Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NLB, London, 1973. Hardback. Book Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: No Dust Jacket. Dk mauve boards (no d/jkt); clean and bright; silver titling, bright; binding tight; spine very slightly faded. Top corners slightly bumped; foredges slightly dusty. Owner's name on front endpaper. ; 8vo (6" x 8 1/2"); 192 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 27220

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 49.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.57
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds