9780902308640

Charles Baudelaire: A lyric poet in the era of high capitalism

Benjamin, Walter

ISBN 10: 0902308645 / 0-902308-64-5
ISBN 13: 9780902308640
Publisher: NLB
Publication Date: 1973
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
Walter Benjamin, one of the foremost cultural ommentators and theorists of the 20th century, is perhaps best known for his analyses of art in the modern age and the philosophy of history. Yet, it was through his study of the social and cultural history of late-19th-century Paris, examined particularly in relation to the figure of the great Parisian lyric poet Charles Baudelaire, that Benjamin tested and enriched some of his core concepts and themes. Contained within these pages are, among other insights, his notion of the "flaneur", his theory of memory and remembrance, his assessment of the utopian Fourier and his reading of the modernist movement. First translated in English in 1973, this is a study of the French lyric poet Charles Baudelaire. It should be useful as a text for readers of both Benjamin and Baudelaire, and for students of French literature. Walter Benjamin is the author of "One-Way Street", "The Origins of German Tagic Drama" and "Understanding Brecht".

Review:
Text: English, German (translation)

Language Notes

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Charles Baudelaire: A lyric poet in the era of high capitalism: Search Results

1.
Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism (UK HB 1st in DJ) (ISBN: 0902308645 / 0-902308-64-5)
Benjamin, Walter
ISBN 10: 0902308645
ISBN 13: 9780902308640
Bookseller: Hunter Books (Slough, BKM, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: New Left Books - NLB, 1973. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. 1st Edition. UK hardback first impression. Good+ with some page tanning and some spotting to top page edges. Also has three previous owner name stamps. The jacket is unclipped, and VG overall with some browning. New Left Books - NLB 1973. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-13611250689

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 58.64
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 10.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
2.
Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism (ISBN: 0902308645 / 0-902308-64-5)
Benjamin, Walter
ISBN 10: 0902308645
ISBN 13: 9780902308640
Bookseller: Last Exit Books (Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: NLB, London, 1973. Hard Cover. Book Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. First Thus. First Thus First English Language of a compilation previously published in German & translation. Light shelf/reading wear, previous wner's name Inked to the front free endpaper, else clean & note free V/G in a V/G Dj 8vo 192 pgs. Bookseller Inventory # 21505

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 105.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
3.
Charles Baudelaire: A lyric poet in the era of high capitalism (ISBN: 0902308645 / 0-902308-64-5)
Benjamin, Walter
ISBN 10: 0902308645
ISBN 13: 9780902308640
Bookseller: Summit Read (Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Very Good. Very good. Bookseller Inventory # HH-076-54-6953906

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 230.91
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book