9781402219443

Why Good Kids Act Cruel: The Hidden Truth about the Pre-Teen Years

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl

ISBN 10: 140221944X / 1-4022-1944-X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.
Publication Date: 2010
Binding: Softcover
About this title:
Synopsis:

Why do many good children treat one another so badly?
This is a question parents eventually face and most start thinking about as their children prepare for high school. But the hard truth is, high school is too late. The pre-teen years are actually when it begins, when the cruelty is even worse, causing more anxiety and stress for children already facing an enormous amount of change in their lives. Early adolescence is a phase of anxiety, of uncertainty, of insecurity. To make matters worse, although all kids are going through the same transformation, none of them share what it is like, each feeling alone, isolated, and unique. The result is that even fantastic kids will do and say harmful things. Why Good Kids Act Cruel is the first book to give you an understanding of why cruelty happens during these years and how to help your child through these difficult times.

She didn't make it; she was born with it: her nose. And in elementary school that was okay. But now in seventh grade, sometimes other girls would tease, "What's the matter Blaise, you having a bad nose day?" Looking in the mirror before school, she could see what they were making fun of. One day, a girl she had beaten out for a starting spot on the basketball team threw a nickname at her: "Snout." Some of the girl's friends picked it up, and it stuck. Blaise acted like she didn't care. But as she started to hate her nose, she started to hate herself.


"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Why Good Kids Act Cruel: The Hidden Truth about the Pre-Teen Years: Search Results

1.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Sourcebooks, Inc., 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Why do many good children treat one another so badly? This is a question parents eventually face and most start thinking about as their children prepare for high school. But the hard truth is, high school is too late. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_140221944X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 11.69
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
2.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Sourcebooks, Inc, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # TO-9781402219443

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.72
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Sourcebooks, Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 201 x 140 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. The first book to explore meanness and aggression in the pre-teen years, the next step in the tradition of Queen Bees Wannabes and Odd Girl Out. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781402219443

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.62
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
4.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Sourcebooks, Inc. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 140221944X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.18
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
5.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: Grand Eagle Retail (Romulus, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. 163mm x 21mm x 194mm. Paperback. Why do many good children treat one another so badly?This is a question parents eventually face and most start thinking about as their children prepare for high school. But the hard truth .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 308 pages. 0.345. Bookseller Inventory # 9781402219443

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 17.56
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
6.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Slough, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Sourcebooks, Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 201 x 140 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. The first book to explore meanness and aggression in the pre-teen years, the next step in the tradition of Queen Bees Wannabes and Odd Girl Out. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781402219443

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 17.82
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
7.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: BuySomeBooks (Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Sourcebooks, Inc. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 320 pages. Dimensions: 7.9in. x 5.5in. x 1.1in.Why do many good children treat one another so badly This is a question parents eventually face and most start thinking about as their children prepare for high school. But the hard truth is, high school is too late. The pre-teen years are actually when it begins, when the cruelty is even worse, causing more anxiety and stress for children already facing an enormous amount of change in their lives. Early adolescence is a phase of anxiety, of uncertainty, of insecurity. To make matters worse, although all kids are going through the same transformation, none of them share what it is like, each feeling alone, isolated, and unique. The result is that even fantastic kids will do and say harmful things. Why Good Kids Act Cruel is the first book to give you an understanding of why cruelty happens during these years and how to help your child through these difficult times. She didnt make it; she was born with it: her nose. And in elementary school that was okay. But now in seventh grade, sometimes other girls would tease, Whats the matter Blaise, you having a bad nose day Looking in the mirror before school, she could see what they were making fun of. One day, a girl she had beaten out for a starting spot on the basketball team threw a nickname at her: Snout. Some of the girls friends picked it up, and it stuck. Blaise acted like she didnt care. But as she started to hate her nose, she started to hate herself. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN, Momence,IL, Commerce,GA. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9781402219443

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.49
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
8.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Sourcebooks, Inc. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX140221944X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.12
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
9.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: Movie Mars (Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Sourcebooks, Inc. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 140221944X Why Good Kids Act Cruel. Bookseller Inventory # 5008543

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 17.06
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
10.

Pickhardt Ph.D., Carl
ISBN 10: 140221944X
ISBN 13: 9781402219443
Bookseller: Russell Books (Victoria, BC, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Sourcebooks, Inc. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 140221944X Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9781402219443

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.99
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book