The Book of Numbers

Pharr, Robert Deane

Published by Doubleday, 1969
Used / Cloth / Quantity Available: 0
From On The Road Books (Waynesboro, PA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. Here are our closest matches for The Book of Numbers by Pharr, Robert Deane.

Description:

Slight shelf slant top edge, moderately foxed, 1/4"x3" damaged stamp on FFEP. DJ has light wear top/bottom of backstrip, 1/8" tear top front edge, two 1/8" tears top rear edge. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 007743

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Book of Numbers
Publisher: Doubleday
Publication Date: 1969
Binding: Cloth
Book Condition: Very Good +
Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good
Edition: First Edition
Book Type: Modern Literature

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Robert Deane Pharr
Published by Avon Books (1970)
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bank of Books
(Ventura, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon Books, 1970. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. We have 1.5 million books to choose from -- Ship within 48 hours -- Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000243410

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Pharr, Robert Deane
Published by Avon, New York (1970)
Used Mass Market Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Johnny's Used Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon, New York, 1970. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. First Printing. Very Good 12mo-over 6¾"-7¾" tall. Some creasing and discoloration to wraps. Light shelf wear. Solid copy with clean pages. Book. Bookseller Inventory # 035693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Pharr, Robert Deane
Published by University of Virginia Press (2001)
ISBN 10: 0813920469 ISBN 13: 9780813920467
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Virginia Press, 2001. Book Condition: Good. 1st Edition. N/A. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP11113358

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

robert deane pharr
Published by doubleday & co. inc. (1969)
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bank of Books
(Ventura, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description doubleday & co. inc., 1969. hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Dust Jacket Condition: good. First Edition. ex library. pages have stains on them. We have 1.5 million books to choose from -- Ship within 48 hours -- Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000053426

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Pharr, Robert Deane
Published by Doubleday, Garden City (1969)
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
On The Road Books
(Waynesboro, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday, Garden City, 1969. Cloth. Book Condition: Very Good +. Dust Jacket Condition: Almost Fine. First Edition. Book top paper edges are moderately foxed, slight shelf slant to text block, small stamp on FFEP. DJ has small piece missing on bottom edge of DJ spine. 374pp. Green cloth. Stated 1st U.S. Ed. Tight, bright copy with firm corners. No remainder mark. No internal names, notations. Crisp, unclipped pictorial DJ in Mylar cover ($5.95). A novel of the "Sporting Life". USPS Tracking provided. H Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Modern Literature. Bookseller Inventory # 20004

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Pharr, Robert Deane
Published by Avon, N.Y. (1969)
Used Mass-market paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rosebud Books
(golconda, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon, N.Y., 1969. Mass-market paperback. 1st. Avon printing-1970. mass market paperback; 408 pgs. Author's first novel. Very good. No dust jacket as issued. CLEAN, TIGHT, & ATTRACTIVE. Bookseller Inventory # 1.15527

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Pharr, Robert Deane
Published by Doubleday (1969)
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
zenosbooks
(San Francisco, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday, 1969. hardcover. 1st Edition. Garden City. 1969. Doubleday. 1st American Edition. Crease On Bottom Corner Of Front Free Endpaper,Otherwise Good In Stained Boards (No water Damage To The Interior of The Book).No Dustjacket. 374 pages. hardcover. keywords: Literature Black America. inventory # 11618. FROM THE PUBLISHER - Robert Pharr is a magnificent storyteller, and in THE BOOK OF NUMBERS he has created an important, enduring novel out of a classic American milieu - the Negro sporting life of a Southern city during the 1930’s. The hero of the story is Dave Green, only 22 when he arrives in town during the Easter season of 1935 with a good size bankroll and a dream to start banking numbers. Swirling about Dave is a marvelous assortment of con-men, gamblers, numbers writers, pick-up men, travelling waiters, and the girls of the sporting life, the Vessey Street chicks. Three years, and countless adventures later, Dave’s gambling operation has grown and prospered - making him one of the richest Negroes in the world. Pharr’s vision of this odyssey, though, is a unique one, subtly distorted at times, ironic at others. He perceives the masks worn by his characters, the illusions they create for themselves, and it is the power and truth of these perceptions that place him among the best of contemporary American Negro writers. After attending four different all-Negro Southern colleges in the 1930’s, and graduating from Virginia Union University, Robert Deane Pharr traveled the country working as a waiter, mostly at exclusive resort hotels. Since coming to New York, he has been on welfare and worked as a waiter at Lundy’s Restaurant in Brooklyn. A few years ago, while waiting tables at a banquet at Columbia University, Pharr left a note for Professor Lewis Leary, Chairman of the English Department at Columbia, explaining that he had written a novel and asking Professor Leary to read it. Professor Leary did read the book, was favorably impressed, and had the manuscript sent to Doubleday. Crease On Bottom Corner Of Front Free Endpaper,Otherwise Good In Stained Boards (No water Damage To The Interior of The Book).No Dustjacket. Bookseller Inventory # 11618

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 12.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Pharr, Robert Deane
Published by University of Virginia Press (2001)
ISBN 10: 0813920469 ISBN 13: 9780813920467
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Virginia Press, 2001. Book Condition: Used. This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Summary: In the tradition of Chester Himes and Walter Mosley, Robert Deane Pharr's novel tells the tale of two black men, Dave and Blueboy, traveling waiters who establish themselves as numbers runners in a fictionalized Richmond of the 1930s. Published to great acclaim in 1969, The Book of Numbers centers on powerful themes of truth and illusion, myth and legend, and vividly conveys a sense of African American life on the periphery of white society. The new Virginia edition complements Pharr's text with an afterword by the Washington Post editor Jabari Asim. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_usedgood_0813920469

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 16.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Robert Deane Pharr
Published by University of Virginia Press (2001)
ISBN 10: 0813920469 ISBN 13: 9780813920467
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Virginia Press, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0813920469

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 12.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Pharr, Robert Deane
Published by University of Virginia Press, Charlottesville, VA (2001)
ISBN 10: 0813920469 ISBN 13: 9780813920467
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Chop Suey Books
(Richmond, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description University of Virginia Press, Charlottesville, VA, 2001. Very Good+ paperback. Normal shelfwear to exterior including rubbing along edges with scattered slight associated creasing/splitting. Pages and text are clean and bright. Overall, an attractive copy. 382 pp. Bookseller Inventory # 10556

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 12.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 42 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book