The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel

Kim, Eugenia

Published by Tantor Audio
ISBN 10: 1400143543 / ISBN 13: 9781400143542
Used / Audio CD / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.78 avg rating
(4,925 ratings)

Synopsis: In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother?but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end.

In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher's Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

About the Author: Eugenia Kim has published short stories and essays in journals and anthologies, including Echoes Upon Echoes: New Korean American Writings, and is the author of the novel The Calligrapher's Daughter.

Lorna Raver, an accomplished stage actress, has also guest-starred in many top television series as well as appearing on the big screen. She has been named a Best Voice of the Year by AudioFile magazine and has been nominated for multiple Audie Awards. Lorna has also received numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards for her narrations.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel
Publisher: Tantor Audio

Binding: Audio CD
Book Condition: Fair

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Tantor Media, Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 1400143543 ISBN 13: 9781400143542
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tantor Media, Inc, United States, 2009. CD-Audio. Book Condition: New. Library ed. 178 x 178 mm. Language: English . Brand New. In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother-but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king s court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end.In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher s Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781400143542

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 62.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Eugenia Kim
ISBN 10: 1400143543 ISBN 13: 9781400143542
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Compact Disc. Book Condition: New. 180mm x 46mm x 174mm. Compact Disc. In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother-but her st.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 0.422. Bookseller Inventory # 9781400143542

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 62.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Tantor Media, Inc 2009-08-24, Old Saybrook, CT (2009)
ISBN 10: 1400143543 ISBN 13: 9781400143542
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tantor Media, Inc 2009-08-24, Old Saybrook, CT, 2009. audio CD. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9781400143542

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 63.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Eugenia Kim
ISBN 10: 1400143543 ISBN 13: 9781400143542
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Compact Disc. Book Condition: New. 180mm x 46mm x 174mm. Compact Disc. In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her moth.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 0.422. Bookseller Inventory # 9781400143542

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 65.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 28.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Tantor Media, Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 1400143543 ISBN 13: 9781400143542
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tantor Media, Inc, United States, 2009. CD-Audio. Book Condition: New. Library ed. 178 x 178 mm. Language: English . Brand New. In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother-but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king s court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end.In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher s Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781400143542

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 73.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Tantor Media Inc
ISBN 10: 1400143543 ISBN 13: 9781400143542
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tantor Media Inc. No binding. Book Condition: New. Audio CD. Dimensions: 7.0in. x 7.0in. x 1.9in.In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her motherbut her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the kings court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end. In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face Spanning thirty years, The Calligraphers Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Audio CD. Bookseller Inventory # 9781400143542

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 74.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Eugenia Kim
Published by Tantor Media (2009)
ISBN 10: 1400143543 ISBN 13: 9781400143542
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Tantor Media, 2009. Compact Disc. Book Condition: Brand New. unabridged edition. 7.00x7.00x1.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # x-1400143543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 107.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.79
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds