Stock Image

Degrees of Love

Basch, Rachel

Published by W. W. Norton, New York, 1998
ISBN 10: 0393046257 / ISBN 13: 9780393046250
Used / Hard Cover / Quantity Available: 1
From Black Falcon Books (Wellesley, MA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 20.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Returns Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: Degrees of Love

Publisher: W. W. Norton, New York

Publication Date: 1998

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: First Edition.

Description:

First edition so stated; first printing/full number line. Inscribed and signed by the author on the title page: "To D--- So nice meeting you Best Rachel 10/20/98." Book is tight and square, appears unread. Jacket is fine. Brodart-protected. The author's first novel. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 000061

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.36 avg rating
(53 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of The Good Mother and The Deep End of the Ocean, a beautifully written first novel about a family's worst nightmare. Jack Keliher and Lily Sterne lead ordinary lives. But when their eighteen-month-old daughter, Katie, is accidentally burned while home alone with Lily and rushed to the hospital, their ordered world begins to unravel. An emergency room physician's report brings the state to take temporary custody of Katie, setting in motion a bureaucratic ordeal in which Lily and Jack are faced with every parent's worst fear: that their child will be taken away from them. Lily fears that her history of mental instability and postpartum depression will be used against her; Jack, in turn, blames Lily. Rachel Basch's quietly compelling narrative alternates between the voices of Jack and Lily as they reveal their increasingly divergent responses to the accident and its consequences. Their fierce struggle to keep their baby safe begins to take its toll on their relationship and their lives, and they are forced to grapple with the emotional and spiritual differences that slowly drive them apart. This exquisite novel's power reaches far beyond the story of an accident and its effect on a family. In depicting the anguish of a family in crisis, Basch has written a stunning work about the nature of privacy, the relationship of work and self, and the fragility--and ultimately, the importance--of love.

About the Author: Rachel Basch lives in Sandy Hook, Connecticut.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: Black Falcon Books
Address: Wellesley, MA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: July 23, 2012
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If
you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged)
or if the
order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the
estimated delivery
date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use
the Ask
bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business
days.
Mark Mayell
27 Seaver St.
Wellesley, MA 02481
United State...

[More Information]

Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books
weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact
you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: Black Falcon Books is an online seller with a broad range of titles, including fiction and nonfiction, hardcover and paperback, many of them signed by authors.