THE FO'C'SLE: Henry Beston's "Outermost House"

Rossiter, Nan Parson

Published by Godine, 2012
ISBN 10: 1567924336 / ISBN 13: 9781567924336
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Sm 4to. Navy blue cloth, with gilt spine title and cover decoration. Illustrated end papers. [unpaginated] Text and illustrations by Rossiter. SIGNED on the title page by the author: "May you always enjoy the wonders of nature! Nan Parson Rossiter". No other names or marks. A crisp, as new copy signed by Rossiter. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
4 avg rating
(4 ratings)

Synopsis: Most adults know, and many have read, Henry Beston's beloved account of the year he spent in a shack high on a dune overlooking the thundering surf of the Atlantic. Here, on the outer forearm of Cape Cod, looking uninterrupted due east to Portugal, he made a life in a 16 x 20' shack, simply furnished with a kitchen, a bed, a chest of drawers, a writing table, and a few chairs. He lived there, alone, through the changing seasons, the migration of birds, the howling of the winter storms, the occasional visits of surfmen from nearby Nauset Station, and the turning of the stars in the night sky. During the days, he would wander along the beach, take notes, and think. At dusk he would come home to write by lantern light. The result was his immortal record of that year on the Nauset dunes, The Outermost House. The house was known as "The Fo'c'sle."

Now we have a record of that year for younger readers, brilliantly retold and illustrated by Nan Parson Rossiter. Her artwork glows with the same inner light and simplicity that animated Beston's prose and amplified the natural world. And although his memorable prose is incorporated throughout the book, it is Rossiter's skill, as both an artist and an interpreter, that makes him, his year, and the little shack he so loved come convincingly, and poignantly, to life.

About the Author: New York Times bestselling author Nan Parson Rossiter's adult fiction is often compared to the work of Nicholas Sparks - especially her first novel, THE GIN & CHOWDER CLUB. She hopes readers who enjoyed GIN & CHOWDER (or those who haven't discovered it yet!) will look for the same characters in the Christmas anthology, MAKING SPIRITS BRIGHT. Nan's second novel, WORDS GET IN THE WAY, is an uplifting story about a single mom whose young son has autism. Her third novel, MORE THAN YOU KNOW, touches on the bonds of sisterhood and the tragedy and despair of Alzheimer's.

Nan is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design and is also the author-illustrator of several books for children including, most recently, THE FO'C'SLE: HENRY BESTON'S OUTERMOST HOUSE, called "a lovely vision of one man's communion with nature" by Publisher's Weekly.

Nan lives in rural Connecticut with her husband, two handsome sons, and a noble yellow Lab named Mulligan.

To learn more visit nanrossiter.com

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: THE FO'C'SLE: Henry Beston's "Outermost ...
Publisher: Godine
Publication Date: 2012
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Fine
Edition: Stated First edition.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nan Parson Rossiter
Published by David R Godine (2012)
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description David R Godine, 2012. Book Condition: Very Good. Stated First Edition. N/A. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP91399376

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 12.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Nan Parson Rossiter
Published by David R. Godine Publisher
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description David R. Godine Publisher. Hardback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Fo'c'sle: Henry Beston's "Outermost House", Nan Parson Rossiter. Bookseller Inventory # B9781567924336

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rossiter, Nan Parson
Published by DAVID R GODINE (2012)
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DAVID R GODINE, 2012. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781567924336

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.68
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Rossiter, Nan Parson
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 11
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 4562408

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Rossiter, Nan Parson
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 18512837-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Nan Parson Rossiter
Published by David R. Godine Publisher, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description David R. Godine Publisher, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 257 x 211 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Yonder is the sea, great and wide, which teems with things innumerable, living things both great and small. —Psalms 104:25 Most adults know, and many have read, Henry Beston s beloved account of the year he spent in a shack high on a dune overlooking the thundering surf of the Atlantic. Here, on the outer forearm of Cape Cod, looking un interrupted due east to Portugal, he made a life in a 16 × 20 shack, simply furnished with a kitchen, a bed, a chest of drawers, a writing table, and a few chairs. He lived there, alone, through the changing seasons, the migration of birds, the howling of the winter storms, the occasional visits of surfmen from nearby Nauset Station, and the turning of the stars in the night sky. During the days, he would wander along the beach, take notes, and think. At dusk he would come home to write by lanternlight. The result was his immortal record of that year on the Nauset dunes, The Outermost House. The house was known as The Fo c sle. Now we have a record of that year for younger readers, brilliantly retold and illustrated by Nan Parson Rossiter. Her artwork glows with the same inner light and simplicity that animated Beston s prose and amplified the natural world. And although his memorable prose is incorporated throughout the book, it is Rossiter s skill, as both an artist and an interpreter, that makes him, his year, and the little shack he so loved come convincingly, and poignantly, to life. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781567924336

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Rossiter, Nan Parson
Published by DAVID R GODINE (2012)
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller
PBShop
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DAVID R GODINE, 2012. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9781567924336

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Nan Parson Rossiter
Published by David R. Godine Publisher, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description David R. Godine Publisher, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 257 x 211 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Yonder is the sea, great and wide, which teems with things innumerable, living things both great and small. —Psalms 104:25 Most adults know, and many have read, Henry Beston s beloved account of the year he spent in a shack high on a dune overlooking the thundering surf of the Atlantic. Here, on the outer forearm of Cape Cod, looking un interrupted due east to Portugal, he made a life in a 16 × 20 shack, simply furnished with a kitchen, a bed, a chest of drawers, a writing table, and a few chairs. He lived there, alone, through the changing seasons, the migration of birds, the howling of the winter storms, the occasional visits of surfmen from nearby Nauset Station, and the turning of the stars in the night sky. During the days, he would wander along the beach, take notes, and think. At dusk he would come home to write by lanternlight. The result was his immortal record of that year on the Nauset dunes, The Outermost House. The house was known as The Fo c sle. Now we have a record of that year for younger readers, brilliantly retold and illustrated by Nan Parson Rossiter. Her artwork glows with the same inner light and simplicity that animated Beston s prose and amplified the natural world. And although his memorable prose is incorporated throughout the book, it is Rossiter s skill, as both an artist and an interpreter, that makes him, his year, and the little shack he so loved come convincingly, and poignantly, to life. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781567924336

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Nan Parson Rossiter
Published by David R Godine (2012)
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description David R Godine, 2012. Book Condition: Used. This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_usedgood_1567924336

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 15.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Rossiter, Nan Parson
Published by David R Godine
ISBN 10: 1567924336 ISBN 13: 9781567924336
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description David R Godine. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1567924336. Bookseller Inventory # Z1567924336ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 19 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book