Stock Image

Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

Greenway, H. D. S.

Published by Simon and Schuster, New York, 2014
ISBN 10: 1476761329 / ISBN 13: 9781476761329
Used / Hard Cover / Quantity Available: 1
From Black Falcon Books (Wellesley, MA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 40.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Returns Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

Publisher: Simon and Schuster, New York

Publication Date: 2014

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Near Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: First Edition.

Description:

First Simon and Schuster hardcover edition August 2014, stated; first printing, full number line. Inscribed and signed by the author on the title page: "For R-- W-- / best wishes / David Greenway." Book is square and unmarked; corners sharp, spine ends bumped. The dust jacket is not price-clipped (original price $26.00); edgewear at head of spine; Brodart protected. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 006943

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.97 avg rating
(59 ratings)

Synopsis: David Greenway, a journalist?s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it?s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David Greenway was at the White House the day Kennedy was assassinated. He was in the jungles of Vietnam in that war?s most dangerous days, and left Saigon by helicopter from the American embassy as the city was falling. He was with Sean Flynn when Flynn decided to get an entire New Guinea village high on hash, and with him hours before he disappeared in Cambodia. He escorted John le Carre around South East Asia as he researched The Honourable Schoolboy. He was wounded in Vietnam and awarded a Bronze Star for rescuing a Marine. He was with Sidney Schanberg and Dith Pran in Phnom Penh before the city descended into the killing fields of the Khmer Rouge. Greenway covered Sadat in Jerusalem, civil war and bombing in Lebanon, ethnic cleansing and genocide the Balkans, the Gulf Wars (both), and reported from Afghanistan and Iraq as they collapsed into civil war.

This is a great adventure story?the life of a war correspondent on the front lines for five decades, eye-witness to come of the most violent and heroic scenes in recent history.

About the Author: H.D.S. Greenway has reported from 96 countries, and covered conflicts in Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Lebanon, Israel, Iraq, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, and the former Yugoslavia. He has been a contributing columnist for The Boston Globe, The International Herald Tribune, and Global Post, and has been a foreign correspondent for The Washington Post and Time magazine. He lives with his wife, JB Greenway, in Needham, Massachusetts. 

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: Black Falcon Books
Address: Wellesley, MA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: July 23, 2012
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If
you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged)
or if the
order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the
estimated delivery
date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use
the Ask
bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business
days.
Mark Mayell
27 Seaver St.
Wellesley, MA 02481
United State...

[More Information]

Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books
weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact
you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: Black Falcon Books is an online seller with a broad range of titles, including fiction and nonfiction, hardcover and paperback, many of them signed by authors.