Stock Image

The Garden of the Peacocks

Weller, Anthony

Published by Marlowe & Company, New York, 1996
ISBN 10: 1569247633 / ISBN 13: 9781569247631
Used / Hard Cover / Quantity Available: 1
From Black Falcon Books (Wellesley, MA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 25.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Returns Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: The Garden of the Peacocks

Publisher: Marlowe & Company, New York

Publication Date: 1996

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Very Good

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: First Edition

Description:

First edition, stated. Inscribed, signed, and dated by the author on the half-title page: "To P-- and K-- / with all glory of the preacher I come from [??] / Anthony / 10 October 1996"; also signed by the author on the title page: "Anthony Weller." The author's debut novel. The book is unmarked; slight spine slant; corners sharp, spine ends bumped; crack in the binding between the half-title and title page; a half-dozen pages show some rippling from damp exposure. The dust jacket is not price-clipped (original price $22.95); Brodart protected. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 006471

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.71 avg rating
(7 ratings)

Synopsis: Anthony Weller's debut, The Garden of the Peacocks, is an exquisite and intricate novel that ranges from Havana to New York, Barcelona, and the Bahamas. Spanning five decades, it follows a father and daughter haunted by artistic genius, exile and suicide. In the tradition of W. Somerset Maugham's The Moon and Sixpence and Joyce Cary's The Horse's Mouth, it illuminates unforgettably the sacrifices and deep contradictions behind great art - and the heavy price paid for immortal beauty by those around it.

Review: This first novel might be called a portrait of the artist as a dead man; the famous Cuban sculptor Cristobal de la Torre has faked his own death so that he can continue his masterpiece, a labyrinth made of seashells, on a remote island in the Bahamas. Into this obsessive landscape wanders Esther Gautier, the daughter of de la Torre and his dead wife, who killed herself years before. Also present are an American photographer and a sardonic Bahamian foreman named Scully Moses. Weller relies heavily on metaphor and symbolism in this novel of artistic megalomania.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: Black Falcon Books
Address: Wellesley, MA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: July 23, 2012
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If
you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged)
or if the
order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the
estimated delivery
date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use
the Ask
bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business
days.
Mark Mayell
27 Seaver St.
Wellesley, MA 02481
United State...

[More Information]

Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books
weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact
you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: Black Falcon Books is an online seller with a broad range of titles, including fiction and nonfiction, hardcover and paperback, many of them signed by authors.