Stock Image

The Quick: A Novel

Owen, Lauren

Published by Random House Audio
ISBN 10: 0804165475 / ISBN 13: 9780804165471
Used / Audio CD / Quantity Available: 1
From Thrift Books (Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 27.93
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Returns Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: The Quick: A Novel

Publisher: Random House Audio

Binding: Audio CD

Book Condition: Fair

Description:

Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0804165475I5N10

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.26 avg rating
(5,452 ratings)

Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London
 
1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling ?Doctor Knife.? But the answer to her brother?s disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England.
 
In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction?s most dazzling talents.
 
Praise for The Quick

?Reading the blurbs on the dust jacket of Lauren Owen?s first novel?from such luminaries as Kate Atkinson, Hilary Mantel, and Tana French?readers might think they?re about to embark on a high-handed version of the Gothic novel, full of metafictions and literary allusions. These do appear, along with some beautiful language, but by Page 100, when the first neck is about to be bitten, The Quick drops its cloak and becomes a good old-fashioned vampire novel. . . . [It?s full of] wonderful inventions, while still providing the torn collars and hungry looks the genre demands. . . . What fun.? ?The New York Times Book Review (Editor?s Choice)
 
? The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night-reading romp of more than 500 pages that you?ll desperately wish was double that. This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing, and Lauren Owen should have a long and illustrious career ahead of her.? ?The Dallas Morning News
 
? The Quick is ambitious in both scope and structure. . . . Her London is exquisitely detailed. . . . [Owen] inhabits the breadth and panorama of the Victorian tale.? ?The Washington Post

?Forget Jack the Ripper?it?s the curiously pale aristocratic types you need to beware of in this supernatural Gothic nightmare. . . . Owen?s stylishly sinister world of betrayal and Lovecraftian monsters will have you sleeping with the lights on.? ?O: The Oprah Magazine
 
?A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . At first, The Quick seems like a really terrific, plain old tale of yesteryear?à la John Banville or Peter Carey or Eleanor Catton. . . . [But then] things begin to really rollick. . . . [Owen] weaves what?s here with what?s beyond as easily as J.K. Rowling does, and as with Rowling, she seems to feel particularly at home with the beyond.? ?Slate

?The first quarter of this debut novel is a lovely, poetic tale. . . . The last half is entirely bonkers and totally unexpected. Read it with the lights on.?? The New Republic
 
?[A] creepy debut . . . a thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day.? ?Minneapolis Star Tribune

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Description: NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATE

For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London

 
1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling ?Doctor Knife.? But the answer to her brother?s disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England.
 
In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction?s most dazzling talents.
 
Praise for The Quick

?A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist.? ?Kate Atkinson

?A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction.? ?Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches and The Book of Life
 
?A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun.? ?The New York Times Book Review (Editor?s Choice)
 
? The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing.? ?The Dallas Morning News
 
?The book?s energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the ?unputdownable? novel.? ?The Economist
 
?A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination.? ?Tana French, author of In the Woods
 
?A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day.? ?Minneapolis Star Tribune
 
?Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on.? ?O: The Oprah Magazine
 
?A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre.? ?Hilary Mantel, author of Wolf Hall
 
?A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what?s here with what?s beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does.? ?Slate
 
?[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens?s London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own.? ?Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

From the Hardcover edition.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: Thrift Books
Address: Auburn, WA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: March 24, 2009
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described
on the Abebooks website. If you're dissatisfied with your
purchase or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30
days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your
mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the "Ask
bookseller a question" link to contact us and we'll respond
as soon as possible.



Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.