The Rose

Jennifer Potter

Published by Atlantic Books, 2013
ISBN 10: 1848871775 / ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
From BuySomeBooks (Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Hardcover. 544 pages. Dimensions: 9.3in. x 7.2in. x 1.9in.Now available in a small gift formata vividly written and lavishly illustrated history of the Queen of Flowers, for fans of Anna Pavords The Tulip and Andrea Wulfs The Brothers GardenerEver since Sappho planted roses at the shrine of Aphrodite, no flower has captured theimagination in quite the same way. Here, the acclaimed horticultural historian Jennifer Potter sets out on a quest to uncover the life of a flower that has been viewed so heterogeneously by different cultures in different countries across the centuries. Beginning her story in the Greek and Roman empires, she travels across Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and the Americas to unravel its evolution from a simple briar of the northern hemisphere to the height of cultivated perfection found in rose gardens today. Whether laying bare the flowers long association with sexuality and secret societies, questioning the Crusaders role in bringing roses back from the Holy Land, or hunting for its elusive blooms in the gardens of the Empress Josephine at Malmaison, Jennifer Potter reveals why this flower, above all others, has provoked such fascination. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Bookseller Inventory # 9781848871779

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Rose
Publisher: Atlantic Books
Publication Date: 2013
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: New

Book Type: Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Potter, Jennifer
Published by Atlantic Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Superlative Selections
(franklin, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000194387

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Potter, Jennifer
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR006290116

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Potter, Jennifer
Published by Atlantic Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revival Books Ltd
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0005514515

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.63
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Potter, Jennifer
Published by Atlantic Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2013. Book Condition: Used. This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_usedgood_1848871775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 13.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Good4Books UK
(Kent, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover Oct 01, 2012. Book Condition: Used: Like New. *** NEW & UNREAD!!! *** minor bump/shelfwear to outer. Bookseller Inventory # The Rose x 6 1115 - SP1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 11.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.06
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Good4Books UK
(Kent, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover Oct 01, 2012. Book Condition: New. **BRAND NEW - MINT CONDITION**. Same day despatch on all orders received by 3pm. Bookseller Inventory # K2294 WORKS 0715

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.06
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Good4Books UK
(Kent, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover Oct 01, 2012. Book Condition: New. *** BRAND NEW COPIES in PRISTINE condition! *** - same day posting & secure packaging. Bookseller Inventory # The Rose x 10 - S1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.06
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Potter, Jennifer
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 17842388-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Potter, Jennifer
Published by Atlantic Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2013. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_1848871775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Potter, Jennifer
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1848871775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 15 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book