The Scent of Secrets

Thynne, Jane

Published by Doubleday Canada
ISBN 10: 0385682913 / ISBN 13: 9780385682916
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Book has appearance of light use with no easily noticeable wear. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.72 avg rating
(466 ratings)

Synopsis: Set in Europe, in 1938, during the tense run-up to war, and perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, this gripping historical novel features the half-British, half-German actress (and wholly covert spy) Clara Vine, who finds herself enmeshed in a dangerous game of subterfuge.
 
The colorful, lively streets of Paris come as a welcome relief to Clara Vine after the dour countenance of Berlin, where bunkers and bomb shelters are being dug, soldiers march the streets in their high boots, and Jewish residents rush to make it home before curfew. Though Clara is in Paris to make a film, her true work is never far from her mind. Approached by a British intelligence officer, Clara is initially confounded by his request: Get close to Eva Braun and glean as much as she can about the Führer?s plans and intentions. Clara has already established friendships with several high-ranking Nazi wives, but Eva Braun is another matter altogether. Hitler keeps his ?secret? girlfriend obsessively hidden, fiercely guarding their relationship as well as Eva?s delicate psychological state. From the gilded halls of the decadent City of Light to the cobbled, quaint streets of Munich, and even to the chilling, rarefied air of the Berghof, Hitler?s private mountaintop retreat, Clara flirts with discovery at every turn?and a dangerous, devious plot unfolds.
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader?s Circle for author chats and more.

Product Description: Rich with political intrigue and authentic period details, this historical crime novel--the first of three--is perfect for fans of Roberta Rich, Charles Todd and Robert Harris. In Berlin, 1933, British actress Clara Vine finds herself dangerously involved with the British intelligence service.
     Clara Vine, a half-Jewish Anglo-German, uses her unique access to the upper echelons of pre-war Nazi society to spy for her native Britain. The novel richly fuses fact and fiction with a cast of real Nazis and their British admirers, such as the Mitford sisters and the Duke and Duchess of Windsor. Clara Vine, through her friendship with Eva Braun, finds herself enmeshed in a plot to assassinate Hitler. The setting of pre-war Germany is a treasure trove, and the irresistably fresh perspective of Nazi wives puts a new spin on an ever-fascinating era, fraught with glamour, political tension, tragedy and romance.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Scent of Secrets
Publisher: Doubleday Canada

Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: Very Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Thynne, Jane
Published by Doubleday Canada (2015)
ISBN 10: 0385682913 ISBN 13: 9780385682916
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Canada, 2015. Book Condition: Good. N/A. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP88295277

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jane Thynne
Published by Doubleday Canada
ISBN 10: 0385682913 ISBN 13: 9780385682916
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Canada. Paperback. Book Condition: GOOD. Good: Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Bookseller Inventory # 2563497183

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Thynne, Jane
Published by Doubleday Canada
ISBN 10: 0385682913 ISBN 13: 9780385682916
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Motor City Books
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Canada. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Minimal damage to cover and binding. Pages show light use. Bookseller Inventory # G0385682913I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Thynne, Jane
Published by Doubleday Canada 2015-09-15 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0385682913 ISBN 13: 9780385682916
Used Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Canada 2015-09-15, 2015. Paperback. Multiple copies available. Good to VG condition with small mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780385682916B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jane Thynne
Published by DOUBLEDAY CANADA LTD
ISBN 10: 0385682913 ISBN 13: 9780385682916
Used Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description DOUBLEDAY CANADA LTD. Trade Paperback. Book Condition: Fine. TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. May have small mark or shelf wear General. Book: REMAINDERS, Fine. Bookseller Inventory # 07978038568291600. Bookseller Inventory # 07978038568291600

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Published by .
ISBN 10: 0385682913 ISBN 13: 9780385682916
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description . Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR007725515

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Thynne, Jane
Published by Doubleday Canada (2015)
ISBN 10: 0385682913 ISBN 13: 9780385682916
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Doubleday Canada, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0385682913

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds