Bibliography:

Desert Places

Robyn Davidson

ISBN:

9780140267976

Publisher:

Penguin Group USA

Publication Date:

1997

Binding:

Softcover

Synopsis:
ı Robyn Davidsonıs previous book, Tracks, won the Thomas Cook Travel Book Award In 1992 Robyn Davidson traveled through a yearıs migratory cycle with the Rabari, pastoral nomads of northwest India, whose grazing lands and trading and pilgrimage routes are quickly being destroyed by new political boundaries, atomic test sites, and irrigation. Sleeping among five thousand sheep and surviving on goatıs milk, flatbread, and parasite-infested water in a landscape of misery and haunting loveliness, she endured exhaustion, malnutrition and disease. But she gained an understanding and the trust of a fiercely courageous people with a disappearing way of life. Displaying a writerıs acute eye for detail and a travelerıs keen appreciation for the beauty to be found in the earthıs most desolate landscapes, Robyn Davidson explores with ruthless honesty her own desert places even as she immortalizes these ıkeepers of the wayı and a culture about to die. Fans of Bruce Chatwin, Peter Mathiessen, and Mary Morris will find themselves enthralled by the passion and beauty of this account by a woman traveler who ımay be one of the great adventurers of our timeı (The Boston Globe).

More About this Book | View All Listings | View Collectible Listings

Other editions: Softcover - 1997, Hardcover - 1996, 1995, Softcover - 1995, Hardcover - 1995, 1994, Softcover - 1993, Softcover - 1991, Hardcover - 1991, 1989


More Robyn Davidson Books: