AbeBooks' Reading Copy

AbeBooks book blog

Advanced Search Browse Books Rare Books Textbooks
Advanced Search

Bookbinding tour dedicated to Kyffin Williams


UK fans of bookbinding might be interested in a touring exhibition dedicated to Welsh artist Sir Kyffin Williams, who died a couple of years ago.

Members of the Designer Bookbinders organisation have created a commemorative book of essays and memoirs celebrating the artist’s work – Kyffin: A Celebration. Published by Gwasg Gregynog, there is a foreword from the Prince of Wales and the book is illustrated with a selection of the artist’s linocuts printed directly from the original blocks, including some unpublished works. Founded more than 50 years ago, the Designer Bookbinders group is dedicated to fine bookbinding. The exhibition tours from June to November.

Gwasg Gregynog, Tregynon, Newtown, Powys Tel 01686 650625
Sat 7 June 2.30pm until Sun 8 June 4pm

National Library of Wales, Penglais, Aberystwyth, Tel 01970 632800
Sat 14 June 2.30pm until Sat 2 August 5pm

Contemporary Applied Arts, 2 Percy St, London, W1. Tel 020 7436 2344
Wed 13 August 6pm (Private View) until Sat 30 August 4pm

Stour Gallery, 10 High St., Shipston-on-Stour Tel 01608 664411
Fri 19 September 6pm (Private View) until Sun 5 October 4.30pm

John Rylands Library, 150 Deansgate, Manchester 0161 275 8746
Sat 11 October 2.30pm until Thurs 13 November 5pm

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email
Richard Davies

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!