AbeBooks' Reading Copy

AbeBooks book blog

Advanced Search Browse Books Rare Books Textbooks
Advanced Search

One Second After by William R. Forstchen – What’s All the Buzz About?


one-second-after-forstchenWilliam R. Forstchen‘s latest book, One Second After could take a prominent position in our recent Post-Apocalyptic Fiction feature.  The story of the after-effects of an electromagnetic-pulse (EMP) attack on the United States, One Second After has been said to follow the tradition of other fear-inspiring novels such as Nevil Shute’s On the Beach and Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank.

The book, released last week, has garnered quite a bit of interest as opinions fly about the vulnerability of the United States to such an attack and that Forstchen is proffering reality in a fictional manner rather than simply presenting a work of science fiction. The book description even claims that the US Congress suggested that One Second After is a book that should be read by all Americans . . .

Book Description

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real…a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages…A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).  A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication,One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future…and our end.

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

68 Responses to “One Second After by William R. Forstchen – What’s All the Buzz About?”

  1. First – this is a novel, not a prediction and as such there are some assumptions made. What’s not really stressed by Mr Forstchen (and please do a sequel to 1941) is the degree to which equipment is “hardened”. For starters almost all military electronics are hardened against EMP. Anything that runs on diesel won’t generally be affected – and unless it is actually switched on, most equipment won’t be.

    The Internet’s key points are certainly protected – fibre optics of course aren’t affected. Even the internal network at the college where I was responsible for IT would not be desperately affected – and it was set up with the ability to absorb problems caused by lightning – not an EMP.

    Power stations – especially older ones – are actually less likely to be impacted as there is shielding designed in. Any building where mobile phone reception is poor will probably be OK – the reason reception is poor is often because of the reinforcing acting as a Faraday cage.

    Yes – an EMP attack would be a problem but less so than an attack by “normal” WMDs – and would be responded to in the same way. All US Missile bases and military comms are highly unlikely to be damaged and retaliation would be pretty quick.

    So enjoy the book – but use your brains and think about the reality, not the paranoia. Sure, keep a reasonable stock of food and survival essentials etc – incidents like Katrina teach us it’s sensible to do so but don’t go dwelling on something that’s unlikely.

  2. Just finished “One Second After”…what an amazing read, I could barely put the book down. As a story, it was fascinating…I’m an avid reader since age 8…and am 41 now. This book will reside proudly on my bookshelf, I will tell friends about it…and I know it will remain in my thoughts for a long time to come.

    I’ve always been interested in self-sufficiency. My parents are my biggest heroes…my Dad who tells me stories of hanging butter & milk in a pail down the hand-dug well to keep them cool during summer months. Sometimes they had nothing more to eat then bread and molasses and potatoes…and fed people who had less. They borrowed money for a postage stamp because the family didn’t have enough money to buy one. The urine in the chamber pots froze over in the winter time. Kerosene lanterns were lit after dark so there’d be light to read by…this one generation removed from mine. They were poor, they worked hard…but they knew what to do. They didn’t hire people to do various tasks, as we do today, because there was no money. They did it themselves or did without. Maybe it’s growing up with stories like that…growing up following in my Dad’s footsteps back in the woods as he showed me how to set rabbit snares…learning to cook at age 12 or 13 on the old woodstove…I’ve always had an appreciation for a simpler way of life…and love reading books that explain how to go about it.

    But I don’t kid myself…we lost power for 4 days in December 2010 as a result of a freak windstorm. It really brought it home how dependent society is now on a functioning power system…and transportation. That rush to find a gas station that had power…and hadn’t sold out of gas yet…gas to power chainsaws as well…to clear trees that were blocking roads. Gas for the generator to save the food in the fridge. And as a nurse, memories of the H1N1 flu panic fresh in my mind…I have given extensive thought to what would have happened had it been worse. I wish I had the money to purchase more acres of land…to have a few more animals…a bigger garden…but I make do with my measly one acre…I have my chickens…my how-to books…my sweetheart with his mechanical know-how…his guns and ability to hunt.

    I’m not an alarmist or one of those doomsday folks…but I do believe we should be responsible for sustaining ourselves to some degree…I wish more people thought that way…maybe farmland would be preserved instead of giving way to development…maybe instead of big factory farms, we’d have small, family run farms still flourishing…maybe people would still know how to make bread and bake it in a woodstove instead of popping it into a bread-machine or buying it at the grocery store. Maybe we’d know our neighbors and have a sense of community, instead of isolating ourselves with our TV’s and video games.

    Anyway, I just wanted to thank you, William R. Forstchen, for providing such a thought-provoking read…it was more than just entertainment…it makes one look at the future more closely. For me, personally, it wasn’t necessarily a question of an EMP causing such chaos…I think one could substitute a number of causes…but it’s how we, as a society, deal with the aftermath of a disruption in power, communications, transportation. I really like how you looked at the issue from so many different angles…things I would not have even considered. I don’t believe it is fear-mongering, it is a realistic portrayal.

    Thank you.

  3. Get ready folks, I am a technical stock analyst and I can tell you that this scenario is very much likely to happen soon, very soon, now that US is just about bankrupt.
    Two years to go is probably max. today is 2nd of July 2011.
    Think also about HAARP technology.

  4. A very good read, indeed. As one who lives in a high-rise residential building in a large metropolitan area, this book really hit close to home on how dependent society is on electricity and efficient food distribution networks..I even conjured up a disaster plan with my family if something like this were too occur- meeting spot, where to go etc.

    Robert- How does the U.S. being bankrupt have anything to do with EMPs? I don’t see the massive defense budget going anywhere soon….even with budget cuts. As I’ve looked into readers’ responses to this book, I’ve encountered so much paranoia about EMP attacks and the inclusion of things totally unrelated, i.e. budget fights, Obama’s a terrorist. Very ridiculous considering this book plays up the theme “We are all Americans” no matter what our politics, race, gender, etc.

  5. August 18, 2011 Just watched program on C-Span with a panel of James Carafano, Peter Pry, Drew Miller, Frank Gaffney and Congressman Roscoe Bartlett…all Supporting passing the “Shield Act” in an effort to harden grids etc. including all equipment of our Military (Anthony Sept 2010 is wrong ) Our Military is NOT hardened against the EMP Threat. Contact your Representatives and demand they pass the Shield Act.

  6. The book is good, the characters are well defined, it is inteersting, worth the time on the money.
    But also there is too much “we are Americans”. Come on …

  7. アップ情報は私です、私もこのウェブサイトのウェブページを訪問しています毎日、このサイト 快適な潔癖と人は純粋共有Webページは} {実際にあります楽しい思考。
    メール便送料無料 メンズ レディース http://www.mayanrajendran.com

  8. It’s Maria right here. I seriously need to declare that the topic of the article is very interesting. I’m truly take pleasure in it! Good-job!

  9. 鋼のや金のバージョンがとても類似しているので、私は彼らが両方ともである性質のいくつかを議論するのを許します。第1のケースのサイズは、古典的なオメガスピードマスタームーンウォッチスタイルの場合には適度の39.7mmワイドである。オメガ・ブラウンのストラップで彼らとペアを選びましたが、この場合において、白のコントラスト縫い目による美しいマットアリゲーターストラップ。ちょうど下の40 mmのワイドで、この服装腕時計のようにたくさん着、フォーマルな服装と長いそでのために良いことだが、その古典的な観察を絶え間なくオメガスピードマスターがまだあります。 http://www.wtobrand.com/hec1.html

  10. 一部の人々は、単にダイヤルが好きでありませんでした。それはそうと、社内の7日の自動運動によるiwcのポルトガルうまくバランスの古典的な観察にいくつかの要素を加えます。しかし、年間カレンダーiwcのポルトガルに追加されたことの一部は幸せの象徴です。単にダイヤルを逆さにし、あなたがにこにこした顔の1つの地獄を得ます、目と口として、幸せな一年のカレンダーの窓としての下位ダイヤルを備えています。今となっては見ますか?あなたが悪い日を持っているならば、あなたはちょうどさかさまにこの時計を着用することができます。 http://www.gginza.com/News/index.html

  11. スーパーコピーブランド格安販売店はこちらへ!品々の激安価格に持ったスーパーコピーブランド 代引きの新作はお客様に提供されます。安心、迅速、確実、お客様の手元にお届け致します。★弊社は9年の豊富な経験と実績を持っております。★一流の素材を選択し、精巧な作り方でまるで本物のようなな製品を造ります。★品質を重視、納期も厳守、お客様第一主義を貫きは当社の方針です。★驚きの低価格で商品をお客様に提供致します!★早速に購入へようこそ! http://www.bagkakaku.com/vuitton_wallet/wallet/146.html

  12. 同様にこれらの魅力的な機微のすべての商標、クラブでより明らかにしようと、ダイヤルブローバ時計マンチェスターユナイテッド・クラブの冠の上で見られることができます。 ブランド時計コピー激安通販 有名な頂上、1971年以降は、シャツの上の中心部分を飾る時のサブダイヤル、と悪魔(愛情”として知られるフレッド・ファンによって赤」)、竜頭の上で見られることができます。 http://www.okakaku.com/brand-1-copy-4-cheap-0-max0-attr0.html

  13. スイス昨年各種経済指標が比較的に理想的で、全国的には喜んで?。しかし、スイス連邦政府の経済最近事務秘書署は、スイス経済最近に遭遇した30年以来の珍しい困難を予測し、国民経済は今年、縮んで2 . 2%、2010年に失業率が5%の上昇があり。 http://www.bestevance.com/rolex/explorer/index.htm

  14. ものhalios腕時計でのハードと高速走行しているが、最近いじめのデザインは2013年にリリースされる3つの今後のモデルのための。新しいモデルの小さな部分と呼ばれるダイバースパンのブロンズ製の箱入りの兄弟と、デルフィンというより大きくてより深刻なダイバー。 http://www.eevance.com/tokei/chanel/index.html

  15. グランド跡地に壊れた1年後に、ウブロ2ブランドの自身の個人的なビッグバンへの構造的な証拠です。ウブロ1は2009年に開かれるだけでした、しかし、ブランドによって速く大きくなって、その最初の2007年にブティックを開いたというだけでは、まだ現在のような世界に誇って73店舗。coreta nyon建築事務所が設計し、新しいサイトウブロは次の5年にわたって100の新しいワークステーションを設置するのを許します、そして、400人をその地元の労働力を発達させます。 http://www.ooobag.com/wallet/louisvuitton/index_14.html

  16. 好易通の「流体力学」を提供し、新モードの観覧好易通の頭蓋骨–2015と今後2バージョン。もしあなたは少し戸惑いをどのようにブランドの最新の腕時計、そんなに心配しないので、私が。あなたが知っているのは、好易通頭骨ダイヤル表示の時間、秒、そして電源準備指標。これは正しいが、好易通の頭蓋骨必要のない分。 スーパーコピーローレックス 何、あなたは急いでは何ですか?あなたの腕にある未来の頭骨! http://www.fujisanbrand.com/watch/bvlgari/index_3.html

  17. Servants of women in royalty that dressed the women could do so more easily with the buttons on the opposite side of men’s clothes

  18. Why viewers still make use of to read news papers when in this technological
    globe everything is available on net?