AbeBooks' Reading Copy

« | »

The American Guide Series

The American Guide Series is a collection of books, magazines and pamphlets published between 1937 and 1941. Meant to educate and attract, the series was put together by The Federal Writers’ Project (FWP) which provided government funding towards writing and publishing initiatives during the Great Depression. Each publication in the American Guide Series included background history, information, attractions, and photographs. They were published by the individual states – no Hawaii or Alaska, as neither was officially a state until 1959 – and were also created for several cities, states, territories and regions, as well. Nowadays they are highly collectible as memorabilia of the era and pieces of history, and for their often-striking covers.

Posted by on May 14, 2012.

Categories: Americana, books, collecting, history, travel

No Responses Yet

Leave a Reply

« | »

Recent Posts


Switch to our desktop site