When you send a file of sold books to AbeBooks, our system matches the book numbers against the ones that already exist in your online account. It is imperative that you send a file of sold books to AbeBooks on a regular basis.
For example, when AbeBooks reads the status of book #24 as "Sold", it removes the book from our Web site so it no longer listed among the "For Sale" books. If you were to delete the book from your inventory rather than change the status to "Sold", the next time you upload your book records, book # 24 would remain online because AbeBooks received nothing to indicate the book was sold. Even though the book is not there, our system believes that nothing has changed and leaves the book online.
To learn how to indicate a sold book in HomeBase 2.3, please read about Sold Books in HomeBase.
Books marked as "On Hold" are still listed on AbeBooks. Please use the status of "Sold" to remove books from the AbeBooks lists.
To indicate a sold book in your book inventory management software, use the term you agreed upon with AbeBooks.