9780226141794

A Naked Singularity: A Novel

De La Pava, Sergio

ISBN 10: 0226141799 / 0-226-14179-9
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Publisher: University Of Chicago Press
Publication Date: 2012
Binding: Softcover
About this title:
Synopsis:
A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It’s a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis’s A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.

About the Author:

Sergio De La Pava is a writer who does not live in Brooklyn.


"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.
 

A Naked Singularity: A Novel: Search Results

1.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Univ of Chicago Pr, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # TX-9780226141794

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 10.10
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
2.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: Movie Mars (Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 8

Book Description: University Of Chicago Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0226141799 A Naked Singularity. Bookseller Inventory # 15894899

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.09
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: BargainBookStores (Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 3746042

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.10
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
4.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: INDOO (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: University of Chicago press. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0226141799

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.61
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
5.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: University Of Chicago Press. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0226141799

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 16.01
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
6.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: University Of Chicago Press, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Best Debut Novel of 2012. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0226141799

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 18.78
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
7.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: Grand Eagle Retail (Romulus, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. 152mm x 229mm x 38mm. Paperback. The University of Chicago Press doesn't generally publish new American fiction. But last winter we started hearing from people we trusted about a stunning debut novel that no trade house h.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 696 pages. 0.907. Bookseller Inventory # 9780226141794

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 18.80
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
8.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: C. Clayton Thompson - Bookseller (BOONE, NC, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Univ of Chicago. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Bookshop in business since 1992!. Bookseller Inventory # 1429708

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 19.94
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
9.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Slough, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: The University of Chicago Press, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 228 x 152 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. The University of Chicago Press doesn t generally publish new American fiction. But last winter we started hearing from people we trusted about a stunning debut novel that no trade house had been willing to take a chance on-to the point that the author had given up and self-published it. We got a copy, and we were blown away. It s not hard to see why publishers would be scared off by this book: it s a 700-page first novel by a nobody with no connections. But what s a university press for if not to publish books we believe in that don t necessarily fit into the hit machine? And we believe in this book: it s an epoch-defining kind of novel, and the announcement of a once-in-a-generation kind of talent. A Naked Singularity is about Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender - one who, tellingly, has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack - and how his world then slowly devolves. It s a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it s told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew its trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis A Frolic of His Own , a character sneers, Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law. A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780226141794

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 20.27
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
10.

De La Pava, Sergio
ISBN 10: 0226141799
ISBN 13: 9780226141794
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Slough, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: The University of Chicago Press, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 228 x 152 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. The University of Chicago Press doesn t generally publish new American fiction. But last winter we started hearing from people we trusted about a stunning debut novel that no trade house had been willing to take a chance on-to the point that the author had given up and self-published it. We got a copy, and we were blown away. It s not hard to see why publishers would be scared off by this book: it s a 700-page first novel by a nobody with no connections. But what s a university press for if not to publish books we believe in that don t necessarily fit into the hit machine? And we believe in this book: it s an epoch-defining kind of novel, and the announcement of a once-in-a-generation kind of talent. A Naked Singularity is about Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender - one who, tellingly, has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack - and how his world then slowly devolves. It s a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it s told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew its trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis A Frolic of His Own , a character sneers, Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law. A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780226141794

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 20.93
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book