9780465006847

Reading the Rocks: The Autobiography of the Earth

Bjornerud, Marcia

ISBN 10: 0465006841 / 0-465-00684-1
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication Date: 2006
Binding: Softcover
About this title:
Synopsis:
To many of us, the Earth’s crust is a relic of ancient, unknowable history. But to a geologist, stones are richly illustrated narratives, telling gothic tales of cataclysm and reincarnation. For more than four billion years, in beach sand, granite, and garnet schists, the planet has kept a rich and idiosyncratic journal of its past. Fulbright Scholar Marcia Bjornerud takes the reader along on an eye-opening tour of Deep Time, explaining in elegant prose what we see and feel beneath our feet. Both scientist and storyteller, Bjornerud uses anecdotes and metaphors to remind us that our home is a living thing with lessons to teach. Containing a glossary and detailed timescale, as well as vivid descriptions and historic accounts, Reading the Rocks is literally a history of the world, for all friends of the Earth.

About the Author:
Marcia Bjornerud is a Professor and Chair of Geology at Lawrence University. She is a Fellow of the Geographical Society of America, and was a 2000-2001 Fulbright Scholar. She lives in Appleton, Wisconsin.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Reading the Rocks: The Autobiography of the Earth: Search Results

1.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: Bellwetherbooks (McKeesport, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Basic Books 2006-10-31, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0465006841 NEW/UNREAD!!! Tracking is not available for orders shipped outside of the United States. If you would like to track your domestic order please be sure to select the Priority/Expedited Shipping option. **Heavier books will require additional postage for International** PA Sales Tax is included in purchase price. Bookseller Inventory # PR-PB-N-0465006841

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 5.14
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
2.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Basic Books, 2006. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: To many of us, the Earth's crust is a relic of ancient, unknowable history. But to a geologist, stones are richly illustrated narratives, telling gothic tales of cataclysm and reincarnation. For more than four billion years, in sand, granite and garnet schists, the planet has kept a rich and idiosyncratic journal of its past. Fulbright Scholar Marcia Bjornerud takes the reader along on an eye-opening tour of Deep Time, explaining in elegant prose what we see and feel beneath our feet. Both scientist and storyteller, Bjornerud uses anecdotes and metaphors to remind us that our home is a living thing with lessons to teach. She shows us how our planet has long maintained a delicate balance, and how the global give-and-take has sustained life on Earth through numerous upheavals. But with the rapidly escalating effects of human beings on their home planet, that cosmic balance is being threatened - and the consequences may be catastrophic. Containing a glossary and detailed timescale, as well as vivid description and historic accounts, Reading the Rocks is literally a history of the world, for all friends of the Earth. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0465006841

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.89
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
3.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: INDOO (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0465006841

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.41
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
4.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: The Perseus Books Group, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # V7-9780465006847

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.06
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
5.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Slough, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: The Perseus Books Group, United States, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 203 x 140 mm. Language: English Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. To many of us, the Earth s crust is a relic of ancient, unknowable history. But to a geologist, stones are richly illustrated narratives, telling gothic tales of cataclysm and reincarnation. For more than four billion years, in beach sand, granite, and garnet schists, the planet has kept a rich and idiosyncratic journal of its past. Fulbright Scholar Marcia Bjornerud takes the reader along on an eye-opening tour of Deep Time, explaining in elegant prose what we see and feel beneath our feet. Both scientist and storyteller, Bjornerud uses anecdotes and metaphors to remind us that our home is a living thing with lessons to teach. Containing a glossary and detailed timescale, as well as vivid descriptions and historic accounts, Reading the Rocks is literally a history of the world, for all friends of the Earth. Bookseller Inventory # AAV9780465006847

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.07
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
6.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Slough, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: The Perseus Books Group, United States, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 203 x 140 mm. Language: English Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.To many of us, the Earth s crust is a relic of ancient, unknowable history. But to a geologist, stones are richly illustrated narratives, telling gothic tales of cataclysm and reincarnation. For more than four billion years, in beach sand, granite, and garnet schists, the planet has kept a rich and idiosyncratic journal of its past. Fulbright Scholar Marcia Bjornerud takes the reader along on an eye-opening tour of Deep Time, explaining in elegant prose what we see and feel beneath our feet. Both scientist and storyteller, Bjornerud uses anecdotes and metaphors to remind us that our home is a living thing with lessons to teach. Containing a glossary and detailed timescale, as well as vivid descriptions and historic accounts, Reading the Rocks is literally a history of the world, for all friends of the Earth. Bookseller Inventory # AAV9780465006847

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.37
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
7.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Basic Books 01/01/2015, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # IH-9780465006847

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.93
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
8.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: BargainBookStores (Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 176001

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 11.33
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
9.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97804650068471.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.31
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
10.

Bjornerud, Marcia
ISBN 10: 0465006841
ISBN 13: 9780465006847
Bookseller: THE SAINT BOOKSTORE (Southport, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 5

Book Description: The Perseus Books Group. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW PRINT ON DEMAND., Reading the Rocks: The Autobiography of the Earth (New edition), Marcia Bjornerud, For readers of John McPhee and Stephen Jay Gould, this engaging armchair read to the making of the geologic record shows how to understand messages written in stone. To many of us, the Earth's crust is a relic of ancient, unknowable history. But to a geologist, stones are richly illustrated narratives, telling gothic tales of cataclysm and reincarnation. For more than four billion years, in sand, granite and garnet schists, the planet has kept a rich and idiosyncratic journal of its past. Fulbright Scholar Marcia Bjornerud takes the reader along on an eye-opening tour of Deep Time, explaining in elegant prose what we see and feel beneath our feet. Both scientist and storyteller, Bjornerud uses anecdotes and metaphors to remind us that our home is a living thing with lessons to teach. She shows us how our planet has long maintained a delicate balance, and how the global give-and-take has sustained life on Earth through numerous upheavals. But with the rapidly escalating effects of human beings on their home planet, that cosmic balance is being threatened - and the consequences may be catastrophic. Containing a glossary and detailed timescale, as well as vivid description and historic accounts, "Reading the Rocks" is literally a history of the world, for all friends of the Earth. Bookseller Inventory # B9780465006847

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.95
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 8.83
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book