9780670020638

Closing Time: A Memoir

Queenan, Joe

ISBN 10: 067002063X / 0-670-02063-X
ISBN 13: 9780670020638
Publisher: Viking Adult
Publication Date: 2009
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
An affecting memoir from one of America's most provocative humorists

Over the past two decades, Joe Queenan has established himself as a scourge of everything that is half-baked, half-witted, and halfhearted in American culture. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and a more personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic, alcoholic father, and his long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood into the greater, wide world. A story about salvation and escape, Closing Time has at its heart the makings of a classic American autobiography.




Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Closing Time: A Memoir: Search Results

1.

Queenan, Joe
ISBN 10: 067002063X
ISBN 13: 9780670020638
Bookseller: Helvic55 (Toronto, ON, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 4

Book Description: Viking Adult, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New book with some light shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # 233507

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 4.98
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
2.

Queenan, Joe
ISBN 10: 067002063X
ISBN 13: 9780670020638
Bookseller: Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 3-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Adult, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: A deeply funny and affecting memoir about a great escape from a childhood of poverty Joe Queenan's acerbic riffs on movies, sports, books, politics, and many of the least forgivable phenomena of pop culture have made him one of the most popular humorists and commentators of our time. In Closing Time Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic father, a violent yet oddly charming emotional terrorist whose alcoholism fuels a limitless torrent of self-pity, railing, destruction, and late-night chats with the Lord Himself. With the help of a series of mentors and surrogate fathers, and armed with his own furious love of books and music, Joe begins the long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood--with a brief misbegotten stop at a seminary--and into the wider world. Queenan's unforgettable account of the damage done to children by parents without futures and of the grace children find to move beyond these experiences will appeal to fans of Augusten Burroughs and Mary Karr, and will take its place as an autobiography in the classic American tradition. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_067002063X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.87
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
3.

Queenan, Joe
ISBN 10: 067002063X
ISBN 13: 9780670020638
Bookseller: zeebooks (Foley, AL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 067002063X New, Unused, Hard-cover book with minor cover damage and/or page damage (cut, tear or bend typically). May have remainder mark. Does NOT affect content! Used items may or may not include CDs, InfoTrac, etc. Items ship within 24 hours with FREE tracking. Bookseller Inventory # 63842

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.94
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
4.

Queenan, Joe
ISBN 10: 067002063X
ISBN 13: 9780670020638
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Amherst, NS, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New * All orders are processed and shipped from Las Vegas, NV USA *. Bookseller Inventory # 97806700206381.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.14
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
5.

Queenan, Joe
ISBN 10: 067002063X
ISBN 13: 9780670020638
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Complete Numbers Starting with 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX067002063X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.44
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
6.

Queenan, Joe
ISBN 10: 067002063X
ISBN 13: 9780670020638
Bookseller: Literary Bookpost (Salisbury, NC, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 1-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Viking Pr, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First printing. Bookseller Inventory # 008897

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 27.71
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 7.00
Within U.S.A.
7.

Queenan, Joe
ISBN 10: 067002063X
ISBN 13: 9780670020638
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11067002063X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 56.20
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book