9780671004644

Our America: Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman

ISBN 10: 0671004646 / 0-671-00464-6
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Publisher: Scribner
Publication Date: 1998
Binding: Softcover
Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis:
Through two award-winning National Public Radio documentaries, and now this powerful book, LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman have made it their mission to be loud voices from one of this country's darkest places, Chicago's Ida B. Wells housing project. Set against the stunning photographs of a talented young photographer from the projects, Our America evokes the unforgiving world of these two amazing young men, and their struggle to survive unrelenting tragedy. With a gift for clear-eyed journalism, they tell their own stories and others, including that of the death of Eric Morse, a five-year-old who was dropped to his death from the fourteenth floor of an Ida B. Wells apartment building by two other little boys.
Sometimes funny, often painful, but always charged with their dream of Our America, LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman reach out to grab your attention and break your heart.

Review:
This heartbreaking and inspiring book goes a long way toward fulfilling the wish one of its authors, LeAlan Jones, makes in his epigraph: "You must learn our America as we must learn your America, so that, maybe, someday, we can become one." Based on hours and hours of taped interviews that Jones and Lloyd Newman, two high school students, conducted for two National Public Radio documentaries they prepared in 1993 and 1995, Our America is a no-holds-barred look at the devastatingly poor Chicago neighborhood in which they live. It's a world where elementary school students learn about sex and drugs before they learn how to read, and where many boys do not expect to live to be 20. You finish the book marveling not that so many of those who people it are trapped, but wondering that anyone survives at all.

Review

Review:
Every once in a while, voices emerge from a part of the world that we have forgotten or chosen to ignore. Sometimes their words ignite our conscience and rekindle our sense of justice. Our America, the work of two young men living in one of the most notorious public housing projects in America, does just that.

LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman have made it their mission to be loud voices out of a dark place, through two nationally acclaimed radio documentaries and now through this book. Informed by stunning photographs taken by a talented young photographer from the projects, Our America opens up the world of these two amazing young men, and tells the tragic story of the death of another, Eric Morse, a five-year-old who was dropped to his death from the fourteenth floor of a building in their project by two other little boys.

The book is sometimes funny, often painful, but always full of the promise of Our America -- that one day, the talent, the gift, the vision, of our children who are being raised in circumstances that should make us all weep will be heard and praised and understood. Our America is a step toward that goal. In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and Zlata's Diary, Our America reaches out, to grab your attention and break your heart.

Author's Note

Our America was edited from more than a hundred hours of tape recorded by LeAlan and Lloyd. Some of the language, grammar, and slang in the interviews have been corrected to make for easier reading. number of names have also been changed to protect the identities of minors and others who do not wish to be identified. All references to gangs and gang members have been omitted for the safety of LeAlan, Lloyd, and their families.

LeAlan did most of the talking on the tapes from which this book | \\ was written (he is an extraordinarily gifted speaker), with Lloyd listening hard by his side, curious and admiring, every so often tossing in a wide-eyed question or comment. Except for the chapters on Lloyd's life, Our America is in LeAlan's voice.END

From the Publisher

 

Our America: Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago: Search Results

1.
Our America: Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago (ISBN: 0671004646 / 0-671-00464-6)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: bainebridge booksellers (new york, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: New York, New York, U.S.A.: Pocket Books, 1998. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. No Jacket. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-12679332859

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 5.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
2.
Our America (ISBN: 9780671004644)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Scribner, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # VS-9780671004644

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.76
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.
OUR AMERICA (ISBN: 0671004646 / 0-671-00464-6)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: INDOO (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Simon and Schuster. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0671004646

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.37
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
4.
Our America: Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago (ISBN: 0671004646 / 0-671-00464-6)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: Nataraj Books, Inc. (Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Scribner. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0671004646 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI210434058

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.24
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
5.
Our America (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780671004644)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Scribner Book Company, United States, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 236 x 156 mm. Brand New Book. Through two award-winning National Public Radio documentaries, and now this powerful book, LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman have made it their mission to be loud voices from one of this country s darkest places, Chicago s Ida B. Wells housing project. Set against the stunning photographs of a talented young photographer from the projects, Our America evokes the unforgiving world of these two amazing young men, and their struggle to survive unrelenting tragedy. With a gift for clear-eyed journalism, they tell their own stories and others, including that of the death of Eric Morse, a five-year-old who was dropped to his death from the fourteenth floor of an Ida B. Wells apartment building by two other little boys. Sometimes funny, often painful, but always charged with their dream of Our America , LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman reach out to grab your attention and break your heart. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780671004644

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.42
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
6.
Our America: Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago (ISBN: 0671004646 / 0-671-00464-6)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Scribner. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0671004646

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 11.11
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
7.
Our America (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780671004644)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Gloucester, UK, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Scribner Book Company, United States, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 236 x 156 mm. Brand New Book. Through two award-winning National Public Radio documentaries, and now this powerful book, LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman have made it their mission to be loud voices from one of this country s darkest places, Chicago s Ida B. Wells housing project. Set against the stunning photographs of a talented young photographer from the projects, Our America evokes the unforgiving world of these two amazing young men, and their struggle to survive unrelenting tragedy. With a gift for clear-eyed journalism, they tell their own stories and others, including that of the death of Eric Morse, a five-year-old who was dropped to his death from the fourteenth floor of an Ida B. Wells apartment building by two other little boys. Sometimes funny, often painful, but always charged with their dream of Our America , LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman reach out to grab your attention and break your heart. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780671004644

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 16.69
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
8.
Our America Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago (ISBN: 9780671004644)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Bedford, NS, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New * All orders are processed and shipped from Las Vegas, NV USA *. Bookseller Inventory # 97806710046441.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.12
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
9.
Our America : Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago (ISBN: 9780671004644)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: English-Book-Service - A Fine Choice (Waldshut-Tiengen, BW, Germany)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: 1998. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TB9780671004644

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.57
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.67
From Germany to U.S.A.
10.
Our America: Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago [Paperback] (ISBN: 0671004646 / 0-671-00464-6)
LeAlan Jones;Lloyd Newman
ISBN 10: 0671004646
ISBN 13: 9780671004644
Bookseller: FOURSEASONS4JOY, LLC (CHICAGO, IL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0671004646BNA

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.65
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book