Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780671004644

Our America: Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman

Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780671004644: Our America: Life and Death on the South Side of Chicago

Through two award-winning National Public Radio documentaries, and now this powerful book, LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman have made it their mission to be loud voices from one of this country's darkest places, Chicago's Ida B. Wells housing project. Set against the stunning photographs of a talented young photographer from the projects, Our America evokes the unforgiving world of these two amazing young men, and their struggle to survive unrelenting tragedy. With a gift for clear-eyed journalism, they tell their own stories and others, including that of the death of Eric Morse, a five-year-old who was dropped to his death from the fourteenth floor of an Ida B. Wells apartment building by two other little boys.
Sometimes funny, often painful, but always charged with their dream of Our America, LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman reach out to grab your attention and break your heart.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

This heartbreaking and inspiring book goes a long way toward fulfilling the wish one of its authors, LeAlan Jones, makes in his epigraph: "You must learn our America as we must learn your America, so that, maybe, someday, we can become one." Based on hours and hours of taped interviews that Jones and Lloyd Newman, two high school students, conducted for two National Public Radio documentaries they prepared in 1993 and 1995, Our America is a no-holds-barred look at the devastatingly poor Chicago neighborhood in which they live. It's a world where elementary school students learn about sex and drugs before they learn how to read, and where many boys do not expect to live to be 20. You finish the book marveling not that so many of those who people it are trapped, but wondering that anyone survives at all.

From the Publisher:

Every once in a while, voices emerge from a part of the world that we have forgotten or chosen to ignore. Sometimes their words ignite our conscience and rekindle our sense of justice. Our America, the work of two young men living in one of the most notorious public housing projects in America, does just that.

LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman have made it their mission to be loud voices out of a dark place, through two nationally acclaimed radio documentaries and now through this book. Informed by stunning photographs taken by a talented young photographer from the projects, Our America opens up the world of these two amazing young men, and tells the tragic story of the death of another, Eric Morse, a five-year-old who was dropped to his death from the fourteenth floor of a building in their project by two other little boys.

The book is sometimes funny, often painful, but always full of the promise of Our America -- that one day, the talent, the gift, the vision, of our children who are being raised in circumstances that should make us all weep will be heard and praised and understood. Our America is a step toward that goal. In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and Zlata's Diary, Our America reaches out, to grab your attention and break your heart.

Author's Note

Our America was edited from more than a hundred hours of tape recorded by LeAlan and Lloyd. Some of the language, grammar, and slang in the interviews have been corrected to make for easier reading. number of names have also been changed to protect the identities of minors and others who do not wish to be identified. All references to gangs and gang members have been omitted for the safety of LeAlan, Lloyd, and their families.

LeAlan did most of the talking on the tapes from which this book | \\ was written (he is an extraordinarily gifted speaker), with Lloyd listening hard by his side, curious and admiring, every so often tossing in a wide-eyed question or comment. Except for the chapters on Lloyd's life, Our America is in LeAlan's voice.END

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 8.37

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0671004646

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
Published by Simon and Schuster (1998)
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster, 1998. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KB-9780671004644

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
Published by WASHINGTON SQUARE (1998)
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New Quantity Available: 18
Seller
PBShop.co.uk Ltd
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WASHINGTON SQUARE, 1998. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780671004644

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
Published by Scribner Book Company, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner Book Company, United States, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 231 x 155 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Through two award-winning National Public Radio documentaries, and now this powerful book, LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman have made it their mission to be loud voices from one of this country s darkest places, Chicago s Ida B. Wells housing project. Set against the stunning photographs of a talented young photographer from the projects, Our America evokes the unforgiving world of these two amazing young men, and their struggle to survive unrelenting tragedy. With a gift for clear-eyed journalism, they tell their own stories and others, including that of the death of Eric Morse, a five-year-old who was dropped to his death from the fourteenth floor of an Ida B. Wells apartment building by two other little boys. Sometimes funny, often painful, but always charged with their dream of Our America , LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman reach out to grab your attention and break your heart. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780671004644

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0671004646 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 4327908

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0671004646 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI393542

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
Published by Scribner Book Company, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner Book Company, United States, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 231 x 155 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Through two award-winning National Public Radio documentaries, and now this powerful book, LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman have made it their mission to be loud voices from one of this country s darkest places, Chicago s Ida B. Wells housing project. Set against the stunning photographs of a talented young photographer from the projects, Our America evokes the unforgiving world of these two amazing young men, and their struggle to survive unrelenting tragedy. With a gift for clear-eyed journalism, they tell their own stories and others, including that of the death of Eric Morse, a five-year-old who was dropped to his death from the fourteenth floor of an Ida B. Wells apartment building by two other little boys. Sometimes funny, often painful, but always charged with their dream of Our America , LeAlan Jones and Lloyd Newman reach out to grab your attention and break your heart. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780671004644

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Poverty Hill Books
(La Grange, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW, Perfect Shape, No Black Remainder Mark,Fast Shipping With Online Tracking, International Orders shipped Global Priority Air Mail, All orders handled with care and shipped promptly in secure packaging, we ship Mon-Sat and send shipment confirmation emails. Our customer service is friendly, we answer emails fast, accept returns and work hard to deliver 100% Customer Satisfaction!. Bookseller Inventory # 9032650

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New Paperback Quantity Available: 14
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 849999

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

LeAlan Jones; Lloyd Newman Author
Published by Scribner (1998)
ISBN 10: 0671004646 ISBN 13: 9780671004644
New Paperback Quantity Available: 18
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0671004646

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book