9781416572473

The Way the World Works: Essays

Baker, Nicholson

ISBN 10: 1416572473 / 1-4165-7247-3
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2012
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
Nicholson Baker, who “writes like no one else in America” ( Newsweek), here assembles his best short pieces from the last fifteen years.

The Way the World Works, Baker’s second nonfiction collection, ranges over the map of life to examine what troubles us, what eases our pain, and what brings us joy. Baker moves from political controversy to the intimacy of his own life, from forgotten heroes of pacifism to airplane wings, telephones, paper mills, David Remnick, Joseph Pulitzer, the OED, and the manufacture of the Venetian gondola. He writes about kite string and about the moment he met his wife, and he surveys our fascination with video games while attempting to beat his teenage son at Modern Warfare 2. In a celebrated essay on Wikipedia, Baker describes his efforts to stem the tide of encyclopedic deletionism; in another, he charts the rise of e-readers; in a third he chronicles his Freedom of Information lawsuit against the San Francisco Public Library.

Through all these pieces, many written for The New Yorker, Harper’s, and The American Scholar, Baker shines the light of an inexpugnable curiosity. The Way the World Works is a keen-minded, generous-spirited compendium by a modern American master.

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

The Way the World Works: Essays: Search Results

1.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: Vital Products COM LLC (Churchville, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1416572473. Bookseller Inventory # Z1416572473ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 3.78
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
2.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: Ebooksweb COM LLC (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster 2012-08-07, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1416572473. Bookseller Inventory # Z1416572473ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 3.78
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
3.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: Bookhouse COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 3-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1416572473. Bookseller Inventory # Z1416572473ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 3.80
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
4.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: Sandiact (Las Cruces, NM, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1416572473 Brand New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # Z1416572473ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 1.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
5.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: Qwestbooks COM LLC (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 2-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1416572473. Bookseller Inventory # Z1416572473ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 4.59
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
6.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: BookShop4U (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1416572473. Bookseller Inventory # Z1416572473ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 4.59
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
7.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: Big River Books (Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Hardcover. Book Condition: New. We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY86F0003J3

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 1.32
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
8.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: GIANTBOOKSALE (BAYSHORE, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1416572473 SHIPS WITHIN 24 HOURS!! (SAME BUSINESS DAY) GREAT BOOK!!. Bookseller Inventory # Z1416572473ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 1.49
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
9.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: book enterprises (fall river, MA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: New. New-Ships within 1 business day and customer satisfaction is our number one priority. Bookseller Inventory # 2TR000000Z53

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 3.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
10.

Baker, Nicholson
ISBN 10: 1416572473
ISBN 13: 9781416572473
Bookseller: Daedalus Books (Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. 1 Cloth(s), 2012. hard. Book Condition: New. In this collection of essays spanning 15 years, the author of Human Smoke and the National Book Critics Circle Award winner Double Fold ranges from international political controversy to details of his own life, from forgotten heroes of pacifism to airplane wings, telephones, paper mills, David Remnick, Joseph Pulitzer, the OED, and the manufacture of the Venetian gondola. Nicholson Baker writes about kite string and about the moment he met his wife, and surveys our fascination with video games while attempting to beat his teenage son at Modern Warfare 2. In a celebrated essay on Wikipedia, Baker describes his efforts to stem the tide of encyclopedic deletionism, while in another he chronicles his Freedom of Information lawsuit against the San Francisco Public Library. Through all these pieces, many written for The New Yorker, Harper's, and The American Scholar, Baker reveals his keen mind, generous spirit, and far-flung curiosity."Baker is one of the most beautiful, original and ingenious prose stylists to have come along in decades . and takes a kind of mad scientist's delight in the way things work and how the world is put together."—NYTimes Magazine"Nicholson Baker is such a swell, smart writer that he rarely—maybe never—tips his hand. In Baker's view the mundane, closely enough observed, may be the skate key to the sublime."—Washington Post"A fundamentally radical author . you can never be sure quite where Baker is going to take you. [He] is an essayist in the tradition of G.K. Chesterton and Max Beerbohm, writing winning fantasies upon whatever chance thoughts may come into his head."—Financial Times (London) 317. Bookseller Inventory # 43689

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 4.98
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book