9781594486043

The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories

Gonzales, Manuel

ISBN 10: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Publisher: Riverhead Hardcover
Publication Date: 2013
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
In the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, an exuberantly imagined debut that chronicles an ordinary world marked by unusual phenomena.

The eighteen stories of Manuel Gonzales’s exhilarating first book render the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary, in prose that thrums with energy and shimmers with beauty. In “The Artist’s Voice” we meet one of the world’s foremost composers, a man who speaks through his ears. A hijacked plane circles a city for twenty years in “Pilot, Copilot, Writer.” Sound can kill in “The Sounds of Early Morning.” And, in the title story, a man is at war with the wife he accidentally shrank. For these characters, the phenomenal isn’t necessarily special—but it’s often dangerous.

In slightly fantastical settings, Gonzales illustrates very real guilt over small and large marital missteps, the intense desire for the reinvention of self, and the powerful urges we feel to defend and provide for the people we love. With wit and insight, these stories subvert our expectations and challenge us to look at our surroundings with fresh eyes. Brilliantly conceived, strikingly original, and told with the narrative instinct of a born storyteller, The Miniature Wife is an unforgettable debut.

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories: Search Results

1.
The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories (ISBN: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: GIANTBOOKSALE (BAYSHORE, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 15

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042 SHIPS WITHIN 24 HOURS!! (SAME BUSINESS DAY) GREAT BOOK!!. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 2.47
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
2.
The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories (ISBN: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Vital Products COM LLC (Churchville, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.61
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
3.
The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories (ISBN: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Bookhouse COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 3-star rating
Quantity Available: 20

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.61
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
4.
The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories (ISBN: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: BookShop4U (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.61
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
5.
The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories (ISBN: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Booklot COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.61
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
6.
The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories (ISBN: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Bellwetherbooks (McKeesport, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover 2013-01-10, 2013. Book Condition: New. 1594486042 NEW!!! Publisher overstock. Tracking is not available for orders shipped outside of the United States. If you would like to track your domestic order please be sure to select the Priority/Expedited Shipping option. **Heavier books will require additional postage for International** PA Sales Tax is included in purchase price. Bookseller Inventory # HC-N-1594486042

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 6.74
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
7.
The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories (ISBN: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Sandiact (Las Cruces, NM, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042 Brand New Condition. Ships the Next Day. No Sales Tax. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.99
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
8.
The Miniature Wife: And Other Stories (ISBN: 9781594486043)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Riverhead Books, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9781594486043

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.70
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
9.
The Miniature Wife Format: B-Hardcover (ISBN: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: INDOO (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Penguin Putnam. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1594486042

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.67
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
10.
The Miniature Wife: And Other Stories (Hardback) (ISBN: 9781594486043)
Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Riverhead Books, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New ed. 208 x 150 mm. Brand New Book. In the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, an exuberantly imagined debut that chronicles an ordinary world marked by unusual phenomena. The eighteen stories of Manuel Gonzales s exhilarating first book render the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary, in prose that thrums with energy and shimmers with beauty. In The Artist s Voice we meet one of the world s foremost composers, a man who speaks through his ears. A hijacked plane circles a city for twenty years in Pilot, Copilot, Writer. Sound can kill in The Sounds of Early Morning. And, in the title story, a man is at war with the wife he accidentally shrank. For these characters, the phenomenal isn t necessarily special--but it s often dangerous. In slightly fantastical settings, Gonzales illustrates very real guilt over small and large marital missteps, the intense desire for the reinvention of self, and the powerful urges we feel to defend and provide for the people we love. With wit and insight, these stories subvert our expectations and challenge us to look at our surroundings with fresh eyes. Brilliantly conceived, strikingly original, and told with the narrative instinct of a born storyteller, The Miniature Wife is an unforgettable debut. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9781594486043

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 22.24
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book