9781594486043

The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories

Gonzales, Manuel

ISBN 10: 1594486042 / 1-59448-604-2
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Publisher: Riverhead Hardcover
Publication Date: 2013
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
In the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, an exuberantly imagined debut that chronicles an ordinary world marked by unusual phenomena.

The eighteen stories of Manuel Gonzales’s exhilarating first book render the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary, in prose that thrums with energy and shimmers with beauty. In “The Artist’s Voice” we meet one of the world’s foremost composers, a man who speaks through his ears. A hijacked plane circles a city for twenty years in “Pilot, Copilot, Writer.” Sound can kill in “The Sounds of Early Morning.” And, in the title story, a man is at war with the wife he accidentally shrank. For these characters, the phenomenal isn’t necessarily special—but it’s often dangerous.

In slightly fantastical settings, Gonzales illustrates very real guilt over small and large marital missteps, the intense desire for the reinvention of self, and the powerful urges we feel to defend and provide for the people we love. With wit and insight, these stories subvert our expectations and challenge us to look at our surroundings with fresh eyes. Brilliantly conceived, strikingly original, and told with the narrative instinct of a born storyteller, The Miniature Wife is an unforgettable debut.

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

The Miniature Wife: and Other Stories: Search Results

1.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: GIANTBOOKSALE (BAYSHORE, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 14

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042 SHIPS WITHIN 24 HOURS!! (SAME BUSINESS DAY) GREAT BOOK!!. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 1.99
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
2.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Your Online Bookstore (Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # HGT8757CRJC120314H0674C

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 2.11
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.45
Within U.S.A.
3.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 3-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover, 2013. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "These stories are wrought with forceful clarity, Borgesian inventiveness and enchanting, devious wit-an unforgettable debut from a uniquely gifted writer." Wells Tower, author of Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned "This book has everything you could ask for in a collection, and even things you hadn't thought to ask for, but secretly wanted: unicorns, mobsters, swamp monsters and werewolves. Manuel Gonzales weaves the supernatural into the lives of everyday citizens, from anthropologists to airline passengers, and the result is pure magic mixed with humor and deep humanity." Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief "You know that feeling you get when you pick up a book and realize you are hearing a voice you have never heard before but will be hearing for a long time? I had that feeling on page 5. Please pick up this book - you will have that feeling. Dark, smart and strange in a way that initially had me grasping for comparison but that ultimately revealed itself to be something new." -Charles Yu, author of How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe "Manuel Gonzales's The Miniature Wife is a marvel-a beautiful, hilarious and moving reinvention of the gothic, a testimony to the sublime powers of the imagination and language. This a book of extraordinary joy, compassion, horror and grace all rolled into one." -Dinaw Mengestu, author of How to Read the Air and The Beautiful Things that Heaven Bears. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_1594486042

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 11.48
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
4.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Bellwetherbooks (McKeesport, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover 2013-01-10, 2013. Book Condition: New. 1594486042 NEW!!! Publisher overstock. Tracking is not available for orders shipped outside of the United States. If you would like to track your domestic order please be sure to select the Priority/Expedited Shipping option. **Heavier books will require additional postage for International** PA Sales Tax is included in purchase price. Bookseller Inventory # HC-N-1594486042

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.55
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
5.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Qwestbooks COM LLC (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.13
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
6.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: BookShop4U (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.13
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
7.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Bookhouse COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 3-star rating
Quantity Available: 20

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.13
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
8.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Vital Products COM LLC (Churchville, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 6

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.13
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
9.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Booklot COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1594486042. Bookseller Inventory # Z1594486042ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.13
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
10.

Gonzales, Manuel
ISBN 10: 1594486042
ISBN 13: 9781594486043
Bookseller: Tankerous Media (ACWORTH, GA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Riverhead Hardcover 2013-01-10, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 1594486042 This book is brand new. Please note that US Standard shipping can take 4 - 14 business days for delivery. Please contact us with any questions - we are happy to help you!. Bookseller Inventory # TM-1594486042

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.58
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book