Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780061353239

Predictably Irrational: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions

Ariely, Dan Author

4.06 avg rating
( 40,389 ratings by GoodReads )
Image Not Available

Why do smart people make irrational decisions every day? The answers will surprise you. Predictably Irrational is an intriguing, witty and utterly original look at why we all make illogical decisions. Why can a 50p aspirin do what a 5p aspirin can't? If an item is "free" it must be a bargain, right? Why is everything relative, even when it shouldn't be? How do our expectations influence our actual opinions and decisions? In this astounding book, behavioural economist Dan Ariely cuts to the heart of our strange behaviour, demonstrating how irrationality often supplants rational thought and that the reason for this is embedded in the very structure of our minds. Predicatably Irrational brilliantly blends everyday experiences with a series of illuminating and often surprising experiments, that will change your understanding of human behaviour. And, by recognising these patterns, Ariely shows that we can make better decisions in business, in matters of collective welfare, and in our everyday lives from drinking coffee to losing weight, buying a car to choosing a romantic partner.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Why do our headaches persist after we take a one-cent aspirin but disappear when we take a fifty-cent aspirin?

Why do we splurge on a lavish meal but cut coupons to save twenty-five cents on a can of soup?

When it comes to making decisions in our lives, we think we're making smart, rational choices. But are we?

In this newly revised and expanded edition of the groundbreaking New York Times bestseller, Dan Ariely refutes the common assumption that we behave in fundamentally rational ways. From drinking coffee to losing weight, from buying a car to choosing a romantic partner, we consistently overpay, underestimate, and procrastinate. Yet these misguided behaviors are neither random nor senseless. They're systematic and predictable—making us predictably irrational.

About the Author:

Dan Ariely is the Alfred P. Sloan Professor of Behavioral Economics at MIT. His work has been featured in leading scholarly journals as well as a variety of popular media outlets, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, Business 2.0, Scientific American, and Science. He has also been featured on CNN and National Public Radio. Dan publishes widely in the leading scholarly journals in economics, psychology, and business. His work has been featured in a variety of media including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, Business 2.0, Scientific American, Science and CNN. He splits his time between Princeton, NJ, and Cambridge, MA.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ariely, Dan Author
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 006135323X ISBN 13: 9780061353239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
RF Ventures Booksellers
(Pleasant View, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006135323X Excellent Buy!!!. Bookseller Inventory # HBM-26741

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ariely, Dan Author
Published by HarperCollins (2008)
ISBN 10: 006135323X ISBN 13: 9780061353239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2008. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of "Freakonomics" and "Blink," a behavioral economist argues that human behavior is often anything but rational--that thoughts are not random, but instead are systematic and predictable. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_006135323X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ariely, Dan Author
ISBN 10: 006135323X ISBN 13: 9780061353239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
READERS PRIDE
(FRISCO, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # RP006135323XBN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ariely, Dan Author
ISBN 10: 006135323X ISBN 13: 9780061353239
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800613532391.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Ariely, Dan Author
ISBN 10: 006135323X ISBN 13: 9780061353239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
gehlbh
(Deltona, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. The item is Brand New! Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Fullfilled by Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed! Tracking number provided with every order. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 1AV7I0000AHA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ariely, Dan Author
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 006135323X ISBN 13: 9780061353239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX006135323X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ariely, Dan Author
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 006135323X ISBN 13: 9780061353239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11006135323X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 53.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Ariely, Dan Author
Published by U.S.A.: HarperCollins (2008)
ISBN 10: 006135323X ISBN 13: 9780061353239
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
CANADIAN READER BOOKSTORE
(OTTAWA, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description U.S.A.: HarperCollins, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. BRAND NEW. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-13635329398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 48.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Ariely, Dan Author
ISBN 10: 006135323X ISBN 13: 9780061353239
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36S98W000DJ5

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 300.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds