9780061430732

The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic

ISBN 10: 0061430730 / 0-06-143073-0
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Publisher: HarperOne
Publication Date: 2010
Binding: Softcover
Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis:

Meet Paul Again . . . for the First Time

Continuing in the tradition of The Last Week and The First Christmas, world-renowned New Testament scholars Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan use the best of biblical and historical scholarship to expose the church's conspiracy to silence Jesus's most faithful disciple, the apostle Paul.


Review:

Bestselling authors of The Last Week and The First Christmas, Marcus J. Borg and John Dominic Crossan join once again to present a new understanding of early Christianity—this time to reveal a radical Paul who has been suppressed by the church.

Paul is second only to Jesus as the most important person in the birth of Christianity, and yet he continues to be controversial, even among Christians. How could the letters of Paul be used both to inspire radical grace and to endorse systems of oppression—condoning slavery, subordinating women, condemning homosexual behavior? Borg and Crossan use the best of biblical and historical scholarship to explain the reasons for Paul's mixed reputation and reveal to us what scholars have known for decades: that the later letters of Paul were created by the early church to dilute Paul's egalitarian message and transform him into something more "acceptable." They argue there are actually "Three Pauls" in the New Testament: "The Radical Paul" (of the seven genuine letters), "The Conservative Paul" (of the three disputed epistles), and "The Reactionary Paul" (of the three inauthentic letters). By closely examining this progression of Paul's letters—from the authentic to the inauthentic—the authors show how the apostle was slowly but steadily "deradicalized" to fit Roman social norms in regards to slavery, patriarchy, and patronage. In truth, Paul was an appealing apostle of Jesus whose vision of life "in Christ"—one of his favored phrases—is remarkably faithful to the message of Jesus himself.

From the Back Cover

Review:
Mel Foster presents Borg and Crossan's well-researched account of the Apostle Paul and his writings. With assurance, Foster portrays the authors' vision of Paul as one of the most contentious figures in Christian history, but also one of the most misunderstood. With compelling clarity, Foster perfectly renders Paul's statements condoning slavery and the subordination of women and condemning homosexuality. Foster clearly details the differences the authors find between Paul's early letters and his later "disputed epistles." In a persuasive tone, Foster offers the authors' observations that Paul's writings move between the radical, the conservative, and the reactionary. The reason for this, they contend, is that the early church edited some of Paul's writings to "de-radicalize" his views with respect to Roman social norms. Overall, Foster presents the authors' views on Paul's letters--the authentic and the inauthentic--with eloquent warmth. G.D.W. © AudioFile 2009, Portland, Maine

From AudioFile

 

The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon: Search Results

1.
The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon (ISBN: 0061430730 / 0-06-143073-0)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: BookMarket (Blaine, WA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: HarperOne 3/2/2010, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0061430730 brand new book. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061430730ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 5.63
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
2.
The First Paul (ISBN: 9780061430732)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: HarperCollins, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061430732

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.21
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.
The First Paul Format: Trade PB (ISBN: 0061430730 / 0-06-143073-0)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: INDOO (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061430730

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.72
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
4.
The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon (ISBN: 9780061430732)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: BargainBookStores (Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 74580

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.29
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
5.
The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church s Conservative Icon (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780061430732)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Gloucester, UK, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 203 x 135 mm. Brand New Book. Meet Paul Again . . . for the First TimeContinuing in the tradition of The Last Week and The First Christmas, world-renowned New Testament scholars Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan use the best of biblical and historical scholarship to expose the church s conspiracy to silence Jesus s most faithful disciple, the apostle Paul. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061430732

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.89
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
6.
The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon (ISBN: 0061430730 / 0-06-143073-0)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 11

Book Description: HarperOne. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061430730

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.60
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
7.
The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon (ISBN: 0061430730 / 0-06-143073-0)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Booklot COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061430730 Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061430730ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.36
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
8.
The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon (ISBN: 0061430730 / 0-06-143073-0)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: BookShop4U (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061430730 Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061430730ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.36
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
9.
The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon (Paperback) (ISBN: 0061430730 / 0-06-143073-0)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Bobs Books (JRM) (Romulus, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. 135mm x 15mm x 203mm. Paperback. Meet Paul Again . . . for the First TimeContinuing in the tradition of "The Last Week" and "The First Christmas," world-renowned New Testament scholars Marcus Borg and .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 230 pages. 0.181. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061430732

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.71
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
10.
The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church' Conservative Icon [Paperback] (ISBN: 0061430730 / 0-06-143073-0)
Borg, Marcus J.;Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: FOURSEASONS4JOY, LLC (CHICAGO, IL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0061430730BNA

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 11.99
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book