9780061430732

The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic

ISBN 10: 0061430730 / 0-06-143073-0
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Publisher: HarperOne
Publication Date: 2010
Binding: Softcover
About this title:
Synopsis:

Meet Paul Again . . . for the First Time

Continuing in the tradition of The Last Week and The First Christmas, world-renowned New Testament scholars Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan use the best of biblical and historical scholarship to expose the church's conspiracy to silence Jesus's most faithful disciple, the apostle Paul.


From the Back Cover:

Bestselling authors of The Last Week and The First Christmas, Marcus J. Borg and John Dominic Crossan join once again to present a new understanding of early Christianity—this time to reveal a radical Paul who has been suppressed by the church.

Paul is second only to Jesus as the most important person in the birth of Christianity, and yet he continues to be controversial, even among Christians. How could the letters of Paul be used both to inspire radical grace and to endorse systems of oppression—condoning slavery, subordinating women, condemning homosexual behavior? Borg and Crossan use the best of biblical and historical scholarship to explain the reasons for Paul's mixed reputation and reveal to us what scholars have known for decades: that the later letters of Paul were created by the early church to dilute Paul's egalitarian message and transform him into something more "acceptable." They argue there are actually "Three Pauls" in the New Testament: "The Radical Paul" (of the seven genuine letters), "The Conservative Paul" (of the three disputed epistles), and "The Reactionary Paul" (of the three inauthentic letters). By closely examining this progression of Paul's letters—from the authentic to the inauthentic—the authors show how the apostle was slowly but steadily "deradicalized" to fit Roman social norms in regards to slavery, patriarchy, and patronage. In truth, Paul was an appealing apostle of Jesus whose vision of life "in Christ"—one of his favored phrases—is remarkably faithful to the message of Jesus himself.


About the Author:

Marcus J. Borg is canon theologian at Trinity Episcopal Cathedral in Portland, Oregon, and was Hundere Distinguished Professor of Religion and Culture at Oregon State University. Described by the New York Times as "a leading figure in his generation of Jesus scholars," he has appeared on NBC's The Today Show and Dateline, ABC's World News, and NPR's Fresh Air. He is the author of the bestselling books Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time, The Heart of Christianity, Reading the Bible Again for the First Time, The God We Never Knew, Jesus, Speaking Christian, and The Evolution of the Word. His blog appears on the Progressive Christian Channel of Patheos.com.



John Dominic Crossan,professor emeritus at DePaul University, iswidely regarded as the foremost historicalJesus scholar of our time. He currentlyserves as the president of the Society of BiblicalLiterature. He is the author of severalbestselling books, including The HistoricalJesus; Jesus: A Revolutionary Biography; and,most recently, The Greatest Prayer. Crossanlives in Minneola, Florida.


"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.
 

The First Paul: Reclaiming the Radical Visionary Behind the Church's Conservative Icon: Search Results

1.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Big River Books (Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY85D004G0B

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 6.41
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
2.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Bellwetherbooks (McKeesport, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: HarperOne 2010-03-02, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0061430730 NEW/UNREAD!!! Publisher overstock. --Be Sure to Compare Seller Feedback and Ratings before Purchasing-- Tracking is not available for orders shipped outside of the United States. If you would like to track your domestic order please be sure to select the Priority/Expedited Shipping option. **Heavier books will require additional postage for International** PA Sales Tax is included in purchase price. Bookseller Inventory # HCP-PB-N-0061430730

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 6.23
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
3.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: HARPER SAN FRANCISCO, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061430732

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.36
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
4.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 211 x 140 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Meet Paul Again . . . for the First TimeContinuing in the tradition of The Last Week and The First Christmas, world-renowned New Testament scholars Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan use the best of biblical and historical scholarship to expose the church s conspiracy to silence Jesus s most faithful disciple, the apostle Paul. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061430732

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 11.68
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
5.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: INDOO (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061430730

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.72
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
6.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Movie Mars (Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 7

Book Description: HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061430730 The First Paul. Bookseller Inventory # 6325873

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.71
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
7.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: BargainBookStores (Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 74580

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.27
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
8.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Slough, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 211 x 140 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Meet Paul Again . . . for the First TimeContinuing in the tradition of The Last Week and The First Christmas, world-renowned New Testament scholars Marcus Borg and John Dominic Crossan use the best of biblical and historical scholarship to expose the church s conspiracy to silence Jesus s most faithful disciple, the apostle Paul. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780061430732

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.80
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
9.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 12

Book Description: HarperOne. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061430730

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 11.31
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
10.

Borg, Marcus J.; Crossan, John Dominic
ISBN 10: 0061430730
ISBN 13: 9780061430732
Bookseller: Grand Eagle Retail (Romulus, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. 135mm x 15mm x 203mm. Paperback. Meet Paul Again . . . for the First TimeContinuing in the tradition of "The Last Week" and "The First Christmas," world-renowned New Testament scholars Marcus Borg and .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 230 pages. 0.181. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061430732

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.71
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book