Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780062090096

The All of It: A Novel

Haien, Jeannette

3.63 avg rating
( 1,482 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
Image Not Available

JeannetteHaien’s award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien’s intimate novel of conversations anddilemmas—perfect for readers of Paul Harding’s Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead, and Flannery O’Connor’sWise Blood—is “an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way” (NewYork Times Book Review).Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition withan introduction by Ann Patchett.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Soaked by a miserable rain, Father Declan de Lowry swats midges and unsuccessfully casts for salmon while mulling the deathbed confession of a parishioner from the tiny Irish village of Roonatellin. The good priest is frantic to know why Kevin Dennehy refused to the end to marry Enda, who lived as his wife for decades with none suspecting their sin. When pressed, Kevin would only say, "there's some explanations that get you nowhere." That leaves it to Enda, an Irish Scheherazade, to breathlessly tell Father "the all of it," a wild, eyebrow-raising tale that meanders like sheep on the narrow roads. Her enthusiasm and Jeannette Haien's musical, evocative phrasing sweep this winning, humorous novel along.

From the Back Cover:

While fishing in an Irish salmonstream one rainy morning,Father Declan de Loughryponders the recent deathbed confessionof his parishioner Kevin Dennehy.It seems Dennehy and his wife, Enda,had been quietly living a lie for fiftyyears. Yet the gravity of their deceptiondoesn’t become clear to the good fatheruntil Enda shares the full tale of her suffering,finally confiding “the all of it.”

Jeannette Haien’s exquisite, awardwinningfirst novel is a deceptively simplestory that resonates with the powerof a modern-day myth—an unforgettablenarrative of transgression, empathy,and, ultimately, absolution.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Haien, Jeannette Author
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 135 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. A sleeper hit when first published in 1986, Jeannette Haien s exquisite, beloved first novel is a deceptively simple story that has the power and resonance of myth. The story begins on a rainy morning as Father Declan de Loughry stands fishing in an Irish salmon stream, pondering the recent deathbed confession of one of his parishioners. Kevin Dennehy and his wife, Enda, have been sweetly living a lie for some 50 years, a lie the full extent of which Father Declan learns only when Enda finally confides the all of it. Her tale of suffering mesmerizes the priest, who recognizes that it is also a tale of sin and scandal, a transgression he cannot ignore. The resolution of his dilemma is a triumph of strength and empathy that, as Benedict Kiely has said, makes The All of It a book to remember. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780062090096

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Haien, Jeannette Author
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062090097

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Haien, Jeannette Author
Published by Harpercollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KS-9780062090096

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Haien, Jeannette Author
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 7
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062090097 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 12781643

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Haien, Jeannette Author
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Print on Demand
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Item doesn't include CD/DVD. Bookseller Inventory # 2090888

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Haien, Jeannette Author
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 203 x 135 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. A sleeper hit when first published in 1986, Jeannette Haien s exquisite, beloved first novel is a deceptively simple story that has the power and resonance of myth. The story begins on a rainy morning as Father Declan de Loughry stands fishing in an Irish salmon stream, pondering the recent deathbed confession of one of his parishioners. Kevin Dennehy and his wife, Enda, have been sweetly living a lie for some 50 years, a lie the full extent of which Father Declan learns only when Enda finally confides the all of it. Her tale of suffering mesmerizes the priest, who recognizes that it is also a tale of sin and scandal, a transgression he cannot ignore. The resolution of his dilemma is a triumph of strength and empathy that, as Benedict Kiely has said, makes The All of It a book to remember. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780062090096

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Haien, Jeannette Author
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: JeannetteHaien's award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien's intimate novel of conversations anddilemmasperfect for readers of Paul Harding's Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson's Gilead, and Flannery O'Connor'sWise Bloodis "an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way" (NewYork Times Book Review).Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition withan introduction by Ann Patchett. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0062090097

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Haien, Jeannette Author
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062090097

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Haien, Jeannette Author
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. 135mm x 10mm x 201mm. Paperback. A sleeper hit when first published in 1986, Jeannette Haien's exquisite, beloved first novel is a deceptively simple story that has the power and resonance of myth. The story begins o.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 145 pages. 0.136. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062090096

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Haien, Jeannette Author
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062090097 ISBN 13: 9780062090096
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0062090097

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book