9780140267679

Life Among the Savages

Jackson, Shirley

ISBN 10: 0140267670 / 0-14-026767-0
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: 1997
Binding: Softcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family's life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don't Eat the Daisies, Cheaper by the Dozen, and anything Erma Bombeck ever wrote will find much to recognize in Shirley Jackson's home and neighborhood: children who won't behave, cars that won't start, furnaces that break down, a pugnacious corner bully, household help that never stays, and a patient, capable husband who remains lovingly oblivious to the many thousands of things mothers and wives accomplish every single day.

"Our house," writes Jackson, "is old, noisy, and full. When we moved into it we had two children and about five thousand books; I expect that when we finally overflow and move out again we will have perhaps twenty children and easily half a million books." Jackson's literary talents are in evidence everywhere, as is her trenchant, unsentimental wit. Yet there is no mistaking the happiness and love in these pages, which are crowded with the raucous voices of an extraordinary family living a wonderfully ordinary life.

Continuously in print since 1948, Jackson's Haunting of Hill House has been bought by Dreamworks.


Review:
Can this be the author of such chilling tales as The Lottery and The Haunting of Hill House? An ordinary housewife stuck in a big, shabby house with three marvelous, demanding children and a charming husband who takes detached interest in the chaos they generate? Yes, it's Shirley Jackson all right: the precision of her observations and prose is familiar, even if her humor is something of a surprise. Not until Anne Lamott's Operating Instructions in 1993 would another woman write with such honesty about the maddening multitude of trivial, essential chores that constitute a mother's life. But Jackson nailed it first, 40 years earlier, in her hilarious chronicle of life in a small Vermont town, where getting the kids to school on time requires the combined gifts of a drill sergeant and a lady's maid. The saga of her son's bumpy adjustment to kindergarten, frequently anthologized as Charles, is justly famous, but Jackson's account of the Department Store Trip from Hell (two kids, two toy guns, one doll carriage and doll, mayhem in revolving doors and escalators) is even funnier. Although her memoirs are as merciless as her ghost stories, you may not notice because you're laughing so hard. --Wendy Smith

Review

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Life Among the Savages: Search Results

1.
Life among the Savages (ISBN: 9780140267679)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: PENGUIN GROUP, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780140267679

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.56
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
2.
Life among the Savages Format: B-Trade Pbk (ISBN: 0140267670 / 0-14-026767-0)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: INDOO (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Penguin Putnam. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0140267670

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.72
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
3.
Life among the Savages (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780140267679)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Penguin Books Australia, Australia, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 193 x 127 mm. Brand New Book. Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family s life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don t Eat the Daisies, Cheaper by the Dozen, and anything Erma Bombeck ever wrote will find much to recognize in Shirley Jackson s home and neighborhood: children who won t behave, cars that won t start, furnaces that break down, a pugnacious corner bully, household help that never stays, and a patient, capable husband who remains lovingly oblivious to the many thousands of things mothers and wives accomplish every single day. Our house, writes Jackson, is old, noisy, and full. When we moved into it we had two children and about five thousand books; I expect that when we finally overflow and move out again we will have perhaps twenty children and easily half a million books. Jackson s literary talents are in evidence everywhere, as is her trenchant, unsentimental wit. Yet there is no mistaking the happiness and love in these pages, which are crowded with the raucous voices of an extraordinary family living a wonderfully ordinary life. Continuously in print since 1948, Jackson s Haunting of Hill House has been bought by Dreamworks. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780140267679

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.35
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
4.
Life among the Savages (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780140267679)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Gloucester, UK, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Penguin Books Australia, Australia, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 193 x 127 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family s life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don t Eat the Daisies, Cheaper by the Dozen, and anything Erma Bombeck ever wrote will find much to recognize in Shirley Jackson s home and neighborhood: children who won t behave, cars that won t start, furnaces that break down, a pugnacious corner bully, household help that never stays, and a patient, capable husband who remains lovingly oblivious to the many thousands of things mothers and wives accomplish every single day. Our house, writes Jackson, is old, noisy, and full. When we moved into it we had two children and about five thousand books; I expect that when we finally overflow and move out again we will have perhaps twenty children and easily half a million books. Jackson s literary talents are in evidence everywhere, as is her trenchant, unsentimental wit. Yet there is no mistaking the happiness and love in these pages, which are crowded with the raucous voices of an extraordinary family living a wonderfully ordinary life. Continuously in print since 1948, Jackson s Haunting of Hill House has been bought by Dreamworks. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780140267679

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.14
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
5.
Life Among the Savages (ISBN: 0140267670 / 0-14-026767-0)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Penguin Books. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0140267670

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 11.56
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
6.
Life Among the Savages (Paperback) (ISBN: 0140267670 / 0-14-026767-0)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: Grand Eagle Retail (Romulus, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. 130mm x 18mm x 196mm. Paperback. Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hi.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 256 pages. 0.204. Bookseller Inventory # 9780140267679

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.89
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
7.
Life among the Savages (ISBN: 9780140267679)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: English-Book-Service - A Fine Choice (Waldshut-Tiengen, BW, Germany)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Penguin Books Australia, 1997. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TB9780140267679

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.10
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.48
From Germany to U.S.A.
8.
Life among the Savages (ISBN: 9780140267679)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: Eighth Day Books, LLC (Wichita, KS, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Penguin (Non-Classics) 1997-10-01, 1997. Paper Back. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 20070607104690

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
9.
Life Among the Savages (ISBN: 9780140267679)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: BuySomeBooks (Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Penguin (Non-Classics). Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 256 pages. Dimensions: 7.7in. x 5.0in. x 0.6in.One of Americas most celebrated writers takes you home to a family and a small town so funny and unpredictable, youd wish it were your own. As warm as it is hilarious and believable . . . Never has the state of domestic chaos been so perfectly illuminated. --The New York Times Book Review. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN, Momence,IL, Commerce,GA. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780140267679

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.96
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
10.
Life Among the Savages (ISBN: 0140267670 / 0-14-026767-0)
Jackson, Shirley
ISBN 10: 0140267670
ISBN 13: 9780140267679
Bookseller: Russell Books (Victoria, BC, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0140267670 Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9780140267679

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book