9780140306897

Carrie's War (Puffin books)

Bawden, Nina

ISBN 10: 0140306897 / 0-14-030689-7
ISBN 13: 9780140306897
Publisher: Puffin
Publication Date: 1975
Binding: Softcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
"Carrie's War" by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story. 'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...' It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story "Carrie's War" has delighted readers for almost 40 years. "Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children". ("Daily Telegraph"). Perfect for fans of "Goodnight Mister Tom" by Michelle Magorian. Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - "Carrie's War" is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for "The Peppermint Pig".

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Carrie's War (Puffin books): Search Results

1.

Bawden, Nina
ISBN 10: 0140306897
ISBN 13: 9780140306897
Bookseller: Revaluation Books (Exeter, DEV, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Puffin, 1974. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 208 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0140306897

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.28
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 9.47
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
2.

Bawden, Nina
ISBN 10: 0140306897
ISBN 13: 9780140306897
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Puffin. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0140306897

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 26.90
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.

Bawden, Nina
ISBN 10: 0140306897
ISBN 13: 9780140306897
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Puffin. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110140306897

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 58.94
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book