Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780140306897

Carrie's War (Puffin books)

Bawden, Nina

Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
Image Not Available

"Carrie's War" by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story. 'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...' It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story "Carrie's War" has delighted readers for almost 40 years. "Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children". ("Daily Telegraph"). Perfect for fans of "Goodnight Mister Tom" by Michelle Magorian. Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - "Carrie's War" is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for "The Peppermint Pig".

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

From AudioFile:

Carrie's reluctance to tell the story of her childhood relocation to the Welsh countryside during World War II intrigues the listener. The superstitious folklore surrounding the rural wartime setting, as well as the events that take place during Carrie's visit and haunt her memory as an adult also capture the listener's attention. Equally impressive is Zelah Clark's portrayal of the charactersÐfrom Carrie's innocent sounding younger brother, to the grouchy voice of the children's reluctant guardian, Mr. Evans. Romantic and historical fiction fans will enjoy this well-performed program. M.P.T. (c)AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 33.71

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bawden, Nina Author
Published by Puffin (1975)
ISBN 10: 0140306897 ISBN 13: 9780140306897
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 1975. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0140306897

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bawden, Nina Author
Published by Puffin (1975)
ISBN 10: 0140306897 ISBN 13: 9780140306897
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 1975. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0140306897

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Bawden, Nina Author
ISBN 10: 0140306897 ISBN 13: 9780140306897
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97801403068971.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 110.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds