Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780143113454

Chaos: Making a New Science

Gleick, James

3.97 avg rating
( 21,504 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780143113454: Chaos: Making a New Science

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory
National bestseller

More than a million copies sold


A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Few writers distinguish themselves by their ability to write about complicated, even obscure topics clearly and engagingly. James Gleick, a former science writer for the New York Times, resides in this exclusive category. In Chaos, he takes on the job of depicting the first years of the study of chaos--the seemingly random patterns that characterize many natural phenomena.

This is not a purely technical book. Instead, it focuses as much on the scientists studying chaos as on the chaos itself. In the pages of Gleick's book, the reader meets dozens of extraordinary and eccentric people. For instance, Mitchell Feigenbaum, who constructed and regulated his life by a 26-hour clock and watched his waking hours come in and out of phase with those of his coworkers at Los Alamos National Laboratory.

As for chaos itself, Gleick does an outstanding job of explaining the thought processes and investigative techniques that researchers bring to bear on chaos problems. Rather than attempt to explain Julia sets, Lorenz attractors, and the Mandelbrot Set with gigantically complicated equations, Chaos relies on sketches, photographs, and Gleick's wonderful descriptive prose.

From the Publisher:

Read by Michael Jackson (the radio host).

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gleick, James
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 97801431134540000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gleick, James
Published by Penguin Group USA (2008)
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Group USA, 2008. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780143113454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gleick, James
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143113453

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gleick, James
Published by U.S.A.: Penguin Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
VAS BOOKS INC
(Jamaica, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description U.S.A.: Penguin Books, 2008. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-18878146925

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Gleick, James
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143113453 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2122049163

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gleick, James
Published by Penguin Audiobooks (2008)
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New Quantity Available: 9
Seller
PBShop
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Audiobooks, 2008. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780143113454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Gleick, James
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143113453. Bookseller Inventory # Z0143113453ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Gleick, James
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143113453. Bookseller Inventory # Z0143113453ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Gleick, James
Published by Penguin Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2008. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: " Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt." -- The New York Times " Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes." -- The New York Times Book Review " Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws." -- Chicago Tribune " An awe-inspiring book. Reading it gave me that sensation othat someone had just found the light switch." --Douglas Adams, author of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy " Chaos is a feast." -- The Washington Post Book World. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0143113453

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gleick, James
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0143113453 ISBN 13: 9780143113454
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 20th. 226 x 152 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory National bestsellerMore than a million copies sold A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780143113454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book