Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780230743380

Thin Blue Smoke

Worgul, Doug

4.12 avg rating
( 164 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780230743380: Thin Blue Smoke

A story of love and loss, hope and despair, God and whiskey, barbecue and the blues, this book marks the emergence of a vital new voice in American fiction

LaVerne Williams is a reformed felon, ex-ballplayer, and owner of Kansas City's best barbecue joint. Ferguson Glen is an Episcopal priest, faded literary star, and a lover of God, women, and liquor—but not necessarily in that order. Their lives intersect at LaVerne's diner—"Smoke Meat," as the regulars call it. There they are joined by a cast of remarkable characters, including LaVerne's devoted right-hand man, A.B. Clayton; blues legend "Mother" Mary Weaver; and Sammy Merzeti, a young man with a bloody past—and a bloodier future. An epic redemption tale and the story of two men coming to terms with their pasts, this is also a funny and soulful novel about faith, race, storytelling, bourbon, the language of rabbits, and the finer points of barbecue technique.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Doug Worgul is a former newspaper journalist and magazine editor and a nationally recognized authority on the history and cultural significance of American barbecue traditions. He lives in Kansas City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 3.39

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Worgul, Doug
Published by .
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
History Bookshop
(Bourton on the Water, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description . Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. Unread, very minor shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # HBS-00100374-B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Worgul, Doug
Published by Pan Macmillan (2010)
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
PBShop
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780230743380

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Worgul, Doug
Published by Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. LaVerne Williams is a reformed felon, ex-ballplayer, and owner of Kansas City s best barbecue joint. Ferguson Glen is an Episcopal priest and faded literary star, lover of God, women and liquor (but not necessarily in that order). Their lives intersect at LaVerne s diner -- Smoke Meat , as the regulars call it. There they are joined by a cast of remarkable characters, including LaVerne s devoted right-hand man, A.B. Clayton; blues legend Mother Mary Weaver; and Sammy Merzeti, a young man with a bloody past -- and a bloodier future. Thin Blue Smoke is an epic redemption tale, the story of two men coming to terms with their pasts. It is also a novel about faith, race, storytelling, bourbon, the language of rabbits, and the finer points of barbecue technique. Heartrending and bitterly funny, it marks the arrival of a vital new voice in American fiction. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780230743380

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Worgul, Doug
Published by Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan MacMillan, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. LaVerne Williams is a reformed felon, ex-ballplayer, and owner of Kansas City s best barbecue joint. Ferguson Glen is an Episcopal priest and faded literary star, lover of God, women and liquor (but not necessarily in that order). Their lives intersect at LaVerne s diner -- Smoke Meat , as the regulars call it. There they are joined by a cast of remarkable characters, including LaVerne s devoted right-hand man, A.B. Clayton; blues legend Mother Mary Weaver; and Sammy Merzeti, a young man with a bloody past -- and a bloodier future. Thin Blue Smoke is an epic redemption tale, the story of two men coming to terms with their pasts. It is also a novel about faith, race, storytelling, bourbon, the language of rabbits, and the finer points of barbecue technique. Heartrending and bitterly funny, it marks the arrival of a vital new voice in American fiction. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780230743380

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Worgul, Doug
Published by Pan Macmillan (2011)
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0230743382

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Worgul, Doug
Published by Pan Macmillan (2011)
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # INGM9780230743380

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Worgul, Doug
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. 132mm x 197mm x 42mm. Paperback. marks the arrival of a vital new voice in American fiction. A remarkable new voice in the tradition of Richard Russo and John IrvingShipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 304 pages. 0.339. Bookseller Inventory # 9780230743380

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Worgul, Doug
Published by Pan Macmillan
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Thin Blue Smoke, Doug Worgul, LaVerne Williams is a reformed felon, ex-ballplayer, and owner of Kansas City's best barbecue joint. Ferguson Glen is an Episcopal priest and faded literary star, lover of God, women and liquor (but not necessarily in that order). Their lives intersect at LaVerne's diner -- 'Smoke Meat', as the regulars call it. There they are joined by a cast of remarkable characters, including LaVerne's devoted right-hand man, A.B. Clayton; blues legend 'Mother' Mary Weaver; and Sammy Merzeti, a young man with a bloody past -- and a bloodier future. Thin Blue Smoke is an epic redemption tale, the story of two men coming to terms with their pasts. It is also a novel about faith, race, storytelling, bourbon, the language of rabbits, and the finer points of barbecue technique. Heartrending and bitterly funny, it marks the arrival of a vital new voice in American fiction. Bookseller Inventory # B9780230743380

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.81
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Worgul, Doug
Published by Pan Macmillan
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 304 pages. Astory of love and loss, hope and despair, God and whiskey, barbecue and the blues, this book marks the emergence of a vital new voice in American fictionLaVerne Williams is a reformed felon, ex-ballplayer, and owner of Kansas Citys best barbecue joint. Ferguson Glen is an Episcopal priest, faded literary star, and a lover of God, women, and liquorbut not necessarily in that order. Their lives intersect at LaVernes dinerSmoke Meat, as the regulars call it. There they are joined by a cast of remarkable characters, including LaVernes devoted right-hand man, A. B. Clayton; blues legend Mother Mary Weaver; and Sammy Merzeti, a young man with a bloody pastand a bloodier future. Anepic redemption tale and the story of two men coming to terms with their pasts, this is also a funny and soulfulnovel about faith, race, storytelling, bourbon, the language of rabbits, and the finer points of barbecue technique. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780230743380

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Worgul, Doug
Published by Pan Macmillan (2011)
ISBN 10: 0230743382 ISBN 13: 9780230743380
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Pan Macmillan, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0230743382

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book