Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780312119973

On Gold Mountain: The 100-Year Odyssey of a Chinese-American Family

See, Lisa

3.91 avg rating
( 6,108 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
Image Not Available

Documenting the history of her own Chinese-American family, a journalist shares the results of five years of research, including interviews with nearly one hundred Chinese and Caucasian relatives, in a story of acceptance and discrimination. 85,000 first printing. $85,000 ad/promo. Tour.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Lisa See, daughter of novelist Carolyn See, brings a novelist's skill to this sprawling ancestral history. Books tracing the roots of overseas Chinese writers are not uncommon these days, but See uncovered in her family tree a capsule history of the Sino-American diaspora: her great-grandfather, Fong See, founded a California business, married a Caucasian woman and fathered many offspring, and returned periodically to China to redistribute some of his wealth and launch another family. See, a Publishers Weekly writer, has conducted extensive interviews and drawn on family lore for an enthralling saga of ambition, prejudice, love, loyalty, and sorrow--social history at its best.

From the Publisher:

"Astonishing....A comprehensive and exhaustively researched account of a Chinese-American family...that juggles such explosive elements as race, class, tradition, prejudice, poverty, and great wealth in new and relatively unexpected combinations."--The Los Angeles Times

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 18.39

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

See, Lisa Author
Published by St Martins Pr (1995)
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr, 1995. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of Alex Haley's Roots, Lisa See, a columnist for Publishers Weekly, provides a multi-generational saga of power, ambition, romance, and race, as she recounts the true story of her family's immigrant experience in America. Fascinating . . . an entertaining family history.--Amy Tan. 24 pages of photos. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0312119976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

See, Lisa Author
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. - Fast Shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 36S9FP0000JW

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

See, Lisa Author
Published by St Martins Pr (1995)
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1st. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0312119976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

See, Lisa Author
Published by St Martins Press, New York, NY (1995)
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rose's Books IOBA
(Harwich Port, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Press, New York, NY, 1995. Quarter Cloth. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. Reprint. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. New York, NY, St Martin's Press, 1995. Reprint. 8vo. Black quarter cloth over black boards with gilt lettering embossed on spine, 394 pp. New, protected by a mylar cover. Bookseller Inventory # EM-B1260-07

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

See, Lisa Author
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97803121199731.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

See, Lisa Author
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
READERS PRIDE
(FRISCO, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # RP0312119976BN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

See, Lisa Author
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Golden Bridge Books
(Ottawa, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. St. Martin's Press Quality Books. Because We Care - Shipped from Canada. Usually ships within 1-2 business days. If you buy this book from us, we will donate a book to a local school. We donate 10,000+ books to local schools every year. Bookseller Inventory # R06539S

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 19.95
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

See, Lisa Author
Published by St Martins Pr (1995)
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110312119976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 79.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds