On Gold Mountain: The 100-Year Odyssey of a Chinese-American Family

3.92 avg rating
( 7,073 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780312119973: On Gold Mountain: The 100-Year Odyssey of a Chinese-American Family

Documenting the history of her own Chinese-American family, a journalist shares the results of five years of research, including interviews with nearly one hundred Chinese and Caucasian relatives, in a story of acceptance and discrimination. 85,000 first printing. $85,000 ad/promo. Tour.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Lisa See, daughter of novelist Carolyn See, brings a novelist's skill to this sprawling ancestral history. Books tracing the roots of overseas Chinese writers are not uncommon these days, but See uncovered in her family tree a capsule history of the Sino-American diaspora: her great-grandfather, Fong See, founded a California business, married a Caucasian woman and fathered many offspring, and returned periodically to China to redistribute some of his wealth and launch another family. See, a Publishers Weekly writer, has conducted extensive interviews and drawn on family lore for an enthralling saga of ambition, prejudice, love, loyalty, and sorrow--social history at its best.

From the Publisher:

"Astonishing....A comprehensive and exhaustively researched account of a Chinese-American family...that juggles such explosive elements as race, class, tradition, prejudice, poverty, and great wealth in new and relatively unexpected combinations."--The Los Angeles Times

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

See, Lisa
Published by St Martins Pr (1995)
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr, 1995. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of Alex Haley's Roots, Lisa See, a columnist for Publishers Weekly, provides a multi-generational saga of power, ambition, romance, and race, as she recounts the true story of her family's immigrant experience in America. Fascinating . . . an entertaining family history.--Amy Tan. 24 pages of photos. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0312119976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

See, Lisa
Published by St Martins Pr (1995)
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1st. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0312119976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

See, Lisa
Published by St Martins Pr (1995)
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0312119976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

See, Lisa
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. - Fast Shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 36S9FP0000JW

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

See, Lisa
Published by St Martins Press, New York, NY (1995)
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rose's Books IOBA
(Harwich Port, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Press, New York, NY, 1995. Quarter Cloth. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. Reprint. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. New York, NY, St Martin's Press, 1995. Reprint. 8vo. Black quarter cloth over black boards with gilt lettering embossed on spine, 394 pp. New, protected by a mylar cover. Bookseller Inventory # EM-B1260-07

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

See, Lisa
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Golden Bridge Books
(Ottawa, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. St. Martin's Press Quality Books. Because We Care - Shipped from Canada. Usually ships within 1-2 business days. If you buy this book from us, we will donate a book to a local school. We donate 10,000+ books to local schools every year. Bookseller Inventory # R06539S

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 19.95
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

See, Lisa
Published by St Martins Pr (1995)
ISBN 10: 0312119976 ISBN 13: 9780312119973
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr, 1995. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110312119976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 52.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds