9780312420512

Strong Motion: A Novel

Franzen, Jonathan

ISBN 10: 031242051X / 0-312-42051-X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Publisher: Picador
Publication Date: 2001
Binding: Softcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his independence, but falls in love with a Harvard seismologist whose discoveries about the earthquakes' cause complicate everything.

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Strong Motion: A Novel: Search Results

1.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 3-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Picador, 2001. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "Bold, layered . . . Mr. Franzen lavishes vigorous, expansive prose not only on the big moments of sexual and emotional upheaval, but also on various sideshows and subthemes . . . An affirmation of Franzen's fierce imagination and distinctive seriocomic voice . . . his will be a career to watch."Josh Rubins, The New York Times Book Review "Ingenious . . . Strong Motion is more than a novel with a compelling plot and a genuine romance (complete with hghly charged love scenes); Franzen also writes a fluid prose that registers the observations of his wickedly sharp eye."Douglas Seibold, The Chicago Tribune "Complicated and absorbing with a fair mix of intrigue, social commentary and humor laced with a tinge of malice."Anne Gowen, The Washington Times "Strong Motion is a roller coaster thriller . . . Franzen captures with unnerving exactness what it feels like to be young, disaffected and outside mainstream America. There is an uncannily perceptive emotional truth to this book, and it strikes with the flinty anger of an early-sixties protest song."Will Dana, Mirabella "Franzen is one of the most extraordinary writers around . . . Strong Motion shows all the brilliance of The Twenty-Seventh City."Laura Shapiro, Newsweek "Lyrical, dramatic and, above all, fearless . . . Reading Strong Motion, one is not in the hands of a writer as a fine jeweler or a simple storyteller. Rather, we're in the presence of a great American moralist in the tradition of Dreiser, Twain or Sinclair Lewis."Ephraim Paul, Philadelphia Inquirer "With this work, Franzen confidently assumes a position as one of the brightest lights of American letters . . . Part thriller, part comedy of manners, Strong Motion is full of suspense."Alicia Metcalf Miller, Cleveland Plain Dealer "Wry, meticulously realistic, and good."Entertainment Weekly "Franzen's dark vision of an ailing society has the same power as Don DeLillo's, but less of the numbing pessimism."Details "Base and startling as a right to the jaw . . . [Franzen] is a writer of almost frightening talent and promise."Margaria Fichtner, Miami Herald. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_031242051X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.42
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
2.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Macmillan USA, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # VV-9780312420512

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.45
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: Movie Mars (Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 4

Book Description: Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242051X Louis Holland falls in love with a seismologist who discovers that recent Boston earthquakes had human causes, in a novel that deals with such issues as environmental pollution, religious fundamentalism, abortion, and the threat of the apocalypse. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # 4184798

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 10.90
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
4.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: BargainBookStores (Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 824609

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 10.91
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
5.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: St Martin s Press, United States, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 208 x 137 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his independence, but falls in love with a Harvard seismologist whose discoveries about the earthquakes cause complicate everything. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780312420512

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.64
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
6.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: Grand Eagle Retail (Romulus, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. 141mm x 23mm x 207mm. Paperback. Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 528 pages. 0.417. Bookseller Inventory # 9780312420512

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 17.70
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
7.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Picador. Paperback. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX031242051X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.18
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
8.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Slough, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: St Martin s Press, United States, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 208 x 137 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his independence, but falls in love with a Harvard seismologist whose discoveries about the earthquakes cause complicate everything. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780312420512

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 18.60
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
9.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 5

Book Description: Picador. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 031242051X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.18
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
10.

Franzen, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 031242051X
ISBN 13: 9780312420512
Bookseller: Qwestbooks COM LLC (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242051X. Bookseller Inventory # Z031242051XZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 19.71
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book