Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780312420512

Strong Motion: A Novel

Franzen, Jonathan

3.51 avg rating
( 3,302 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780312420512: Strong Motion: A Novel

Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his independence, but falls in love with a Harvard seismologist whose discoveries about the earthquakes' cause complicate everything.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jonathan Franzen is the author of four novels ( Freedom, The Corrections, Strong Motion, and The Twenty-Seventh City), two collections of essays ( Farther Away, How to Be Alone), a personal history ( The Discomfort Zone), and a translation of Frank Wedekind's Spring Awakening, all published by FSG. He lives in New York City and Santa Cruz, California.

About the Author:

Jonathan Franzen is the author of three novels: The Corrections, The Twenty-Seventh City and Strong Motion. He has been named one of the Granta 20 Best Novelists under 40 and is a frequent contributor to The New Yorker and Harper's.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 12.90

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
Published by Picador (2001)
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador, 2001. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "Bold, layered . . . Mr. Franzen lavishes vigorous, expansive prose not only on the big moments of sexual and emotional upheaval, but also on various sideshows and subthemes . . . An affirmation of Franzen's fierce imagination and distinctive seriocomic voice . . . his will be a career to watch."Josh Rubins, The New York Times Book Review "Ingenious . . . Strong Motion is more than a novel with a compelling plot and a genuine romance (complete with hghly charged love scenes); Franzen also writes a fluid prose that registers the observations of his wickedly sharp eye."Douglas Seibold, The Chicago Tribune "Complicated and absorbing with a fair mix of intrigue, social commentary and humor laced with a tinge of malice."Anne Gowen, The Washington Times "Strong Motion is a roller coaster thriller . . . Franzen captures with unnerving exactness what it feels like to be young, disaffected and outside mainstream America. There is an uncannily perceptive emotional truth to this book, and it strikes with the flinty anger of an early-sixties protest song."Will Dana, Mirabella "Franzen is one of the most extraordinary writers around . . . Strong Motion shows all the brilliance of The Twenty-Seventh City."Laura Shapiro, Newsweek "Lyrical, dramatic and, above all, fearless . . . Reading Strong Motion, one is not in the hands of a writer as a fine jeweler or a simple storyteller. Rather, we're in the presence of a great American moralist in the tradition of Dreiser, Twain or Sinclair Lewis."Ephraim Paul, Philadelphia Inquirer "With this work, Franzen confidently assumes a position as one of the brightest lights of American letters . . . Part thriller, part comedy of manners, Strong Motion is full of suspense."Alicia Metcalf Miller, Cleveland Plain Dealer "Wry, meticulously realistic, and good."Entertainment Weekly "Franzen's dark vision of an ailing society has the same power as Don DeLillo's, but less of the numbing pessimism."Details "Base and startling as a right to the jaw . . . [Franzen] is a writer of almost frightening talent and promise."Margaria Fichtner, Miami Herald. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_031242051X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
Published by St Martins Pr (2001)
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martins Pr, 2001. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KB-9780312420512

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
Published by MacMillan Publishers
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description MacMillan Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 031242051X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242051X Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 4184798

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
Published by St Martin s Press, United States (2001)
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martin s Press, United States, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 208 x 137 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his independence, but falls in love with a Harvard seismologist whose discoveries about the earthquakes cause complicate everything. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780312420512

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
Published by St Martin s Press, United States (2001)
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martin s Press, United States, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 208 x 137 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his independence, but falls in love with a Harvard seismologist whose discoveries about the earthquakes cause complicate everything. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780312420512

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. 141mm x 23mm x 207mm. Paperback. Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 528 pages. 0.417. Bookseller Inventory # 9780312420512

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
Published by Picador (2001)
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador, 2001. Paperback. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX031242051X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
Published by Picador (2001)
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
English-Book-Service - A Fine Choice
(Waldshut-Tiengen, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador, 2001. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TB9780312420512

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.82
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Franzen, Jonathan Author
Published by Picador
ISBN 10: 031242051X ISBN 13: 9780312420512
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Picador. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 031242051X Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9780312420512

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book