Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780312558468

The Poacher's Son (Mike Bowditch Mysteries)

Doiron, Paul Author

3.66 avg rating
( 1,755 ratings by GoodReads )
Image Not Available

Set in the wilds of Maine, this is an explosive tale of an estranged son thrust into the hunt for a murderous fugitive---his own father.

Game warden Mike Bowditch returns home one evening to find an alarming voice from the past on his answering machine: his father, Jack, a hard-drinking womanizer who makes his living poaching illegal game. An even more frightening call comes the next morning from the police: They are searching for the man who killed a beloved local cop the night before---and his father is their prime suspect. Jack has escaped from police custody, and only Mike believes that his tormented father might not be guilty.

Now, alienated from the woman he loves, shunned by colleagues who have no sympathy for the suspected cop killer, Mike must come to terms with his haunted past. He knows firsthand Jack’s brutality, but is the man capable of murder? Desperate and alone, Mike strikes up an uneasy alliance with a retired warden pilot, and together the two men journey deep into the Maine wilderness in search of a runaway fugitive. There they meet a beautiful woman who claims to be Jack’s mistress but who seems to be guarding a more dangerous secret. The only way for Mike to save his father now is to find the real killer---which could mean putting everyone he loves in the line of fire.

The Poacher’s Son is a sterling debut of literary suspense. Taut and engrossing, it represents the first in a series featuring Mike Bowditch.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Edgar- and Anthony-nominated author Paul Doiron is the editor-in-chief of Down East: The Magazine of Maine. A native of Maine, he attended Yale University, where he graduated with a degree in English, and he holds an MFA in creative writing from Emerson College.  Paul is a Registered Maine Guide and lives on a trout stream in coastal Maine with his wife, Kristen Lindquist.

From AudioFile:

Doiron's debut novel is part travelogue of the Maine north woods and part a look into the life of a game warden. The opening chapters poke along, working hard to breathe life into a fractured but somehow interesting story. Just about every law enforcement officer in Maine is searching for Jack Bowditch, who is accused of double murder; at the same time, Bowditch's son, Mike, the game warden, risks his career to help clear his dad. Narrator John Bedford Lloyd's workmanlike delivery saves the day. His vocal characterizations of various woodsy folks are engaging and authentic. Lloyd's presentation intensifies as the plot picks up steam and chugs toward a surprising conclusion. T.J.M. © AudioFile 2010, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Doiron, Paul Author
Published by Minotaur Books (2010)
ISBN 10: 0312558465 ISBN 13: 9780312558468
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books, 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "With precise and evocative prose, Paul Doiron weaves a riveting tale set deep in the wilderness that can be the tenuous bond between father and son. This is a compelling, moving, and utterly impressive debut!"---Andre Dubus III, author ofHouse of Sand and Fog"A gripping, original, and literate tale of love and loyalty, betrayal and redemption. You won't want to put it down."---John Lescroart, author ofA Plague of Secrets"The Poacher's Sonis one of the best-written debut novels I've read in years. This story has it all---a great plot, a wonderful Maine woods setting, and a truly remarkable and believable cast of characters."---Nelson DeMille, author ofThe Gate House"A fast-paced outdoor adventure filled with murder, betrayal, and a terrific sense of place. Welcome aboard, Mr. Doiron."---C. J. Box, Edgar Award--winning author ofBlue Heaven"The Poacher's Sonis a haunting tale, and Paul Doiron is a powerful and evocative writer."---Tess Gerritsen, author ofThe Keepsake"Paul Doiron is a spellbinding new storyteller whose literate, intelligent novel will have readers begging for more."---Julia Spencer-Fleming, Edgar finalist and author ofI Shall Not Want "Down Easteditor-in-chief Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine's changing landscape in his outstanding debut. . . . Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes. Equally a story of relationships and an outdoor adventure, this evocative thriller is sure to put Doiron on several 2010 must-read lists."Publishers Weekly(starred review) "A Maine Game Warden [Mike Bowditch] fights to clear his no-account father of murder charges in this deeply felt actioner. . . . His decision leads to a series of disastrously self-destructive actions that Doiron makes perfectly credible, all interspersed with a series of flashbacks to Mike's childhood that are both tender and chilling. C.J. Box goes East. Like Box, Doiron will have his hands full trying to top his accomplished debut."Kirkus Reviews(starred review) "A richly imagined portrait of the vanishing wilderness in New England's farthest reaches, Doiron's well-written debut is also a taut thriller and thoughtful examination of the complicated relationship between father and son. Of a piece with Castle Freeman Jr.'sAll That I Haveabout a Vermont sheriff, this will also appeal to fans of CJ Box's Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett."Library Journal. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0312558465

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Doiron, Paul Author
ISBN 10: 0312558465 ISBN 13: 9780312558468
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
READERS PRIDE
(FRISCO, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # RP0312558465BN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Doiron, Paul Author
Published by Minotaur Books
ISBN 10: 0312558465 ISBN 13: 9780312558468
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0312558465

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Doiron, Paul Author
Published by Minotaur Books
ISBN 10: 0312558465 ISBN 13: 9780312558468
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Minotaur Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110312558465

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 60.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds