9780374161149

Generosity: An Enhancement

ISBN 10: 0374161143 / 0-374-16114-3
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Publication Date: 2009
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis:

Intrigued by an Algerian woman whose blissful demeanor contrasts with the horrific environment of her home country, Chicago teacher Russell Stone brings her to the attention of others who become equally entranced. By the National Book Award-winning author of The Echo Maker. 75,000 first printing.


Review:

"Powers considers...the evolutionary needs of the mind, our reasons for being and odds of survival, and the role of fiction in a nonfiction world....[I]t's another tremendous accomplishment from a writer who sees his species with brilliant uncomfortable clarity." (starred review)

Keir Graff, Booklist Upfront, 07/01/2009

Review:

"Much of the tension behind Powers's idea-driven novels stems from the delicate balance between plot and concept, and he wisely adopts a voice that is--sometimes painfully--aware of the occasional strain....[He] strays from mere record to attempt an impossible task: to make the world right." (starred review)

Publishers Weekly, 07/06/2009

 

Generosity: An Enhancement: Search Results

1.
Generosity: An Enhancement (ISBN: 9780374161149)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: Wonder Book (Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 13

Book Description: Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Book Condition: New. New dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory # woxa4395

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 5.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
2.
Generosity: An Enhancement (ISBN: 0374161143 / 0-374-16114-3)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: Vital Products COM LLC (Churchville, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0374161143. Bookseller Inventory # Z0374161143ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.10
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
3.
Generosity: An Enhancement (ISBN: 0374161143 / 0-374-16114-3)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: Bookhouse (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 20

Book Description: Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0374161143. Bookseller Inventory # Z0374161143ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.10
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
4.
Generosity: An Enhancement (ISBN: 0374161143 / 0-374-16114-3)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: Urbookstore1 (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0374161143. Bookseller Inventory # Z0374161143ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.10
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
5.
Generosity: An Enhancement (ISBN: 0374161143 / 0-374-16114-3)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: BookShop4U (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0374161143. Bookseller Inventory # Z0374161143ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.10
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
6.
Generosity: An Enhancement (ISBN: 0374161143 / 0-374-16114-3)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: Qwestbooks (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0374161143. Bookseller Inventory # Z0374161143ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.10
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
7.
Generosity: An Enhancement (ISBN: 9780374161149)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: Daedalus Books (Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: FSG. 1 Cloth(s), 2009. hard. Book Condition: New. When Russell Stone winds up teaching creative nonfiction in a Chicago arts college, in this follow-up to Richard Powers' National Book Award winner The Echo Maker, he encounters a young Algerian woman with a disturbingly luminous presence. Thassadit Amzwar's blissful exuberance both entrances and puzzles Russell. Dubbed Miss Generosity by her classmates, her innately joyful personality comes to the attention of Thomas Kurton, the notorious geneticist and advocate for genomic enhancement. What will happen to life when science identifies the genetic basis of happiness? Who will own the patent? Powers asks us to consider the big questions facing humankind as we begin to rewrite our own existence."Sixteen years after Peter Kramer's Listening to Prozac, Richard Powers has heard the alarming implications of treatments that let us buy better moods and personalities. His cerebral new novel offers a chilling examination of the life we're reengineering with our chromosomes and brain chemistry. Although it's tempting to call Generosity a dystopia about the pharmaceutical future in the tradition of Huxley's Brave New World, Powers sticks so closely to the state of current medical science and popular culture that this isn't so much a warning as a diagnosis. And as with any frightening diagnosis, you'll be torn between denial and a desperate urge to talk about it. With Generosity, Powers has performed a dazzling cross-disciplinary feat, linking the slippery nature of 'creative nonfiction' to the moral conundrums of genetic engineering. Although you might expect a novel so weighted with medical and philosophical arguments to flatten its characters into brittle stereotypes, ultimately that's the most impressive aspect of this meditation on happiness and humanness. As Generosity drives toward its surprising conclusion, these characters grow more complex and poignant, increasingly baffled by the challenge and the opportunity of remaking ourselves to our heart's content."—Washington Post Book World 296. Bookseller Inventory # 11918

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 3.98
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
8.
Generosity: An Enhancement (ISBN: 9780374161149)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: The Book Odyssey (Bellerose Village, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Farrar, Straus and Giroux:2009, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand new and never been read. Pages are crisp with no markings on the cover. Bookseller Inventory # 236488

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 4.99
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
9.
Generosity: An Enhancement (ISBN: 0374161143 / 0-374-16114-3)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: BBBBooks (Bradenton, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2009. Hardcover, DJ. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition 1st Printing. Brand New! Gift Quality!.100% Satisfaction Guaranteed!.You Like It Or Your Money Back!.In Stock and Ready To Ship With Tracking From Florida Within 1 Business Day!.All Items Carefully Packaged With Cardboard/Bubble Wrap. Bookseller Inventory # SKU0007278

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 5.52
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
10.
Generosity An Enhancement (ISBN: 9780374161149)
Powers, Richard
ISBN 10: 0374161143
ISBN 13: 9780374161149
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Bedford, NS, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New * All orders are processed and shipped from Las Vegas, NV USA *. Bookseller Inventory # 97803741611491.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.06
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book