9780385501132

Willful Creatures: Stories

ISBN 10: 0385501137 / 0-385-50113-7
ISBN 13: 9780385501132
Publisher: Doubleday
Publication Date: 2005
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis:

With her singular mix of surrealism, musical prose, and keenly felt emotions, Aimee Bender has gained a passionate following among readers and critics. The San Francisco Chronicle greeted her first story collection with rapturous praise, declaring, “Once in a while a writer comes along who makes you grateful for the very existence of language.” Her debut novel was called “as light as a zephyr and unique as a snowflake” (The Washington Post),“a seductively smart read” (Glamour), and “surreal, edgy, and endearing all at once” (USA TODAY).

Bender is a brilliant stylist, using language with the nimble grace of a magician. She conjures surreal worlds in which authentic emotion blooms. A woman’s children may be potatoes, but the love she feels for them is heartbreakingly real. A boy with keys as fingers is seen not as a freak but as a hero. Bender infuses even inanimate objects with human warmth. Rendering grief, loneliness, hope, love, and happiness with exquisite subtlety and cleverness, Bender once again proves herself to be a masterful chronicler of the human condition.


Review:

"A fabulist in the tradition of Angela Carter, Bender creates contemporary fairy tales, cushioned by goofy humor and a deep tenderness for her characters, that aren't always as dark or as sinister as they initially appear."

Joy Press, New York Times Book Review, 08/21/2005

 

Willful Creatures: Stories: Search Results

1.
WILLFUL CREATURES: STORIES (ISBN: 9780385501132)
Bender, Aimee
ISBN 10: 0385501137
ISBN 13: 9780385501132
Bookseller: Steele's Books Company (Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. First Edition / First Printing. - Fast Shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 2MD6NZ00020S

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 19.97
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
2.
Willful Creatures Stories (ISBN: 9780385501132)
Bender, Aimee
ISBN 10: 0385501137
ISBN 13: 9780385501132
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Bedford, NS, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New * All orders are processed and shipped from Las Vegas, NV USA *. Bookseller Inventory # 97803855011321.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 19.08
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
3.
Willful Creatures: Stories (ISBN: 0385501137 / 0-385-50113-7)
Bender, Aimee
ISBN 10: 0385501137
ISBN 13: 9780385501132
Bookseller: Literary Bookpost (Salisbury, NC, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Doubleday, New York, New York, U.S.A., 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # 002059

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 20.02
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 7.00
Within U.S.A.
4.
Willful Creatures: Stories (ISBN: 0385501137 / 0-385-50113-7)
Bender, Aimee
ISBN 10: 0385501137
ISBN 13: 9780385501132
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Doubleday. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0385501137

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 27.23
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
5.
Willful Creatures: Stories (ISBN: 0385501137 / 0-385-50113-7)
Bender, Aimee
ISBN 10: 0385501137
ISBN 13: 9780385501132
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Doubleday. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110385501137

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 62.80
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book