9780385503853

Oryx and Crake: A Novel (Atwood, Margaret Eleanor)

Atwood, Margaret

ISBN 10: 0385503857 / 0-385-50385-7
ISBN 13: 9780385503853
Publisher: Nan A. Talese
Publication Date: 2003
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize

Margaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.

Review:
In Oryx and Crake, a science fiction novel that is more Swift than Heinlein, more cautionary tale than "fictional science" (no flying cars here), Margaret Atwood depicts a near-future world that turns from the merely horrible to the horrific, from a fool's paradise to a bio-wasteland. Snowman (a man once known as Jimmy) sleeps in a tree and just might be the only human left on our devastated planet. He is not entirely alone, however, as he considers himself the shepherd of a group of experimental, human-like creatures called the Children of Crake. As he scavenges and tends to his insect bites, Snowman recalls in flashbacks how the world fell apart.

While the story begins with a rather ponderous set-up of what has become a clichéd landscape of the human endgame, littered with smashed computers and abandoned buildings, it takes on life when Snowman recalls his boyhood meeting with his best friend Crake: "Crake had a thing about him even then.... He generated awe ... in his dark laconic clothing." A dangerous genius, Crake is the book's most intriguing character. Crake and Jimmy live with all the other smart, rich people in the Compounds--gated company towns owned by biotech corporations. (Ordinary folks are kept outside the gates in the chaotic "pleeblands.") Meanwhile, beautiful Oryx, raised as a child prostitute in Southeast Asia, finds her way to the West and meets Crake and Jimmy, setting up an inevitable love triangle. Eventually Crake's experiments in bioengineering cause humanity's shockingly quick demise (with uncanny echoes of SARS, ebola, and mad cow disease), leaving Snowman to try to pick up the pieces. There are a few speed bumps along the way, including some clunky dialogue and heavy-handed symbols such as Snowman's broken watch, but once the bleak narrative gets moving, as Snowman sets out in search of the laboratory that seeded the world's destruction, it clips along at a good pace, with a healthy dose of wry humor. --Mark Frutkin, Amazon.ca

Review

Review:
A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize

Margaret Atwood?s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.

From the Inside Flap

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Oryx and Crake: A Novel (Atwood, Margaret Eleanor): Search Results

1.
Oryx and Crake: A Novel (Atwood, Margaret Eleanor) (ISBN: 0385503857 / 0-385-50385-7)
Atwood, Margaret
ISBN 10: 0385503857
ISBN 13: 9780385503853
Bookseller: Your Online Bookstore (Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Nan A. Talese. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0385503857. Bookseller Inventory # GHT7439TMCCMB071714H0315A

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 29.47
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.45
Within U.S.A.
2.
Oryx and Crake (ISBN: 0385503857 / 0-385-50385-7)
Atwood, Margaret
ISBN 10: 0385503857
ISBN 13: 9780385503853
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Nan A. Talese. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0385503857

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 44.33
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.
Oryx and Crake Bk 1 (ISBN: 9780385503853)
Atwood, Margaret
ISBN 10: 0385503857
ISBN 13: 9780385503853
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Bedford, NS, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New * All orders are processed and shipped from Las Vegas, NV USA *. Bookseller Inventory # 97803855038531.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 48.34
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
4.
Oryx and Crake: A Novel (Atwood, Margaret Eleanor) (ISBN: 0385503857 / 0-385-50385-7)
Atwood, Margaret
ISBN 10: 0385503857
ISBN 13: 9780385503853
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Nan A. Talese. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110385503857

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 78.09
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
5.
Oryx and Crake: A Novel (Atwood, Margaret Eleanor) (ISBN: 0385503857 / 0-385-50385-7)
Atwood, Margaret
ISBN 10: 0385503857
ISBN 13: 9780385503853
Bookseller: BennettBooksLtd (Naperville, IL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Nan A. Talese. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0385503857 New. Looks like an interesting title!. Bookseller Inventory # B-0385503857

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 79.27
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
6.
Oryx and Crake (The MaddAddam Trilogy, Book 1) **SIGNED 1st Edition /1st Printing + Photo** (ISBN: 9780385503853)
Atwood, Margaret
ISBN 10: 0385503857
ISBN 13: 9780385503853
Bookseller: JLJ Books (San Francisco, CA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: New York, New York, U.S.A.: Nan A. Talese /Doubleday, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. 1st Edition. Signed in person by Margaret Atwood directly on the title page. NOT signed to anyone. A photo of Margaret Atwood at her book signing event will be included with the signed book. 1st U.S. Edition/1st Printing with full number line: 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1. Hardcover. Book is NEW and UNREAD, opended only for signing. No marks, no inscription. Not a book club edition, not an ex-library. Dust jacket is fine, not price clipped, in a removable protective clear cover. This is a beautiful autographed first edition for collectors. Makes a great gift. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 000895

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 98.95
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book