Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780385503853

Oryx and Crake: A Novel (Atwood, Margaret Eleanor)

Atwood, Margaret

3.98 avg rating
( 125,128 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780385503853: Oryx and Crake: A Novel (Atwood, Margaret Eleanor)

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize

Margaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In Oryx and Crake, a science fiction novel that is more Swift than Heinlein, more cautionary tale than "fictional science" (no flying cars here), Margaret Atwood depicts a near-future world that turns from the merely horrible to the horrific, from a fool's paradise to a bio-wasteland. Snowman (a man once known as Jimmy) sleeps in a tree and just might be the only human left on our devastated planet. He is not entirely alone, however, as he considers himself the shepherd of a group of experimental, human-like creatures called the Children of Crake. As he scavenges and tends to his insect bites, Snowman recalls in flashbacks how the world fell apart.

While the story begins with a rather ponderous set-up of what has become a clichéd landscape of the human endgame, littered with smashed computers and abandoned buildings, it takes on life when Snowman recalls his boyhood meeting with his best friend Crake: "Crake had a thing about him even then.... He generated awe ... in his dark laconic clothing." A dangerous genius, Crake is the book's most intriguing character. Crake and Jimmy live with all the other smart, rich people in the Compounds--gated company towns owned by biotech corporations. (Ordinary folks are kept outside the gates in the chaotic "pleeblands.") Meanwhile, beautiful Oryx, raised as a child prostitute in Southeast Asia, finds her way to the West and meets Crake and Jimmy, setting up an inevitable love triangle. Eventually Crake's experiments in bioengineering cause humanity's shockingly quick demise (with uncanny echoes of SARS, ebola, and mad cow disease), leaving Snowman to try to pick up the pieces. There are a few speed bumps along the way, including some clunky dialogue and heavy-handed symbols such as Snowman's broken watch, but once the bleak narrative gets moving, as Snowman sets out in search of the laboratory that seeded the world's destruction, it clips along at a good pace, with a healthy dose of wry humor. --Mark Frutkin, Amazon.ca

From the Back Cover:

Praise for The Blind Assassin:

"The first great novel of the new millennium."
Newsday

"Absorbing . . . expertly rendered . . . Virtuosic storytelling [is] on display."
New York Times

"Brilliant . . . Opulent . . . Atwood is a poet . . . as well as a contriver of fiction, and scarcely a sentence of her quick, dry yet avid prose fails to do useful work, adding to a picture that becomes enormous."
John Updike, The New Yorker

"Chilling . . . Lyrical . . . [Atwood's] most ambitious work to date."
Boston Globe

"Hauntingly powerful . . . A novel of luminous prose, scalpel-precise insights and fierce characters . . . Atwood's new work is so assured, so elegant and so incandescently intelligent, she casts her contemporaries in the shade."
The Atlanta Journal Constitution

"Grand storytelling on a grand scale... Sheerly enjoyable."
Washington Post Book World

"Bewitching . . . A killer novel . . . Atwood's crisp wit and steely realism are reminiscent of Edith Wharton . . . A wonderfully complex narrative."
Christian Science Monitor

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 12.94

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Atwood, Margaret Author
Published by Nan A. Talese
ISBN 10: 0385503857 ISBN 13: 9780385503853
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
beneton
(Millsboro, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Nan A. Talese. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0385503857. Bookseller Inventory # SKU046860

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Atwood, Margaret Author
Published by Nan A. Talese (2003)
ISBN 10: 0385503857 ISBN 13: 9780385503853
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Nan A. Talese, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0385503857

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Atwood, Margaret Author
ISBN 10: 0385503857 ISBN 13: 9780385503853
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97803855038531.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Atwood, Margaret Author
Published by Nan A. Talese (2003)
ISBN 10: 0385503857 ISBN 13: 9780385503853
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Richmond Hill, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Nan A. Talese, 2003. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Praise forThe Blind Assassin"The first great novel of the new millennium."Newsday"Absorbing . . . expertly rendered . . . Virtuosic storytelling [is] on display."New York Times"Brilliant . . . Opulent . . . Atwood is a poet . . . as well as a contriver of fiction, and scarcely a sentence of her quick, dry yet avid prose fails to do useful work, adding to a picture that becomes enormous."John Updike,The New Yorker"Chilling . . . Lyrical . . . [Atwood's] most ambitious work to date."Boston Globe"Hauntingly powerful . . . A novel of luminous prose, scalpel-precise insights and fierce characters . . . Atwood's new work is so assured, so elegant and so incandescently intelligent, she casts her contemporaries in the shade."The Atlanta Journal--Constitution"Grand storytelling on a grand scale. Sheerly enjoyable."Washington Post Book World"Bewitching . . . A killer novel . . . Atwood's crisp wit and steely realism are reminiscent of Edith Wharton . . . A wonderfully complex narrative."Christian Science Monitor. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0385503857

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Atwood, Margaret Author
Published by Nan A. Talese 2003-05-06 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0385503857 ISBN 13: 9780385503853
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Tankerous Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Nan A. Talese 2003-05-06, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 0385503857 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Thank you for supporting our small, family-owned business!. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0385503857

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Atwood, Margaret Author
Published by Nan A. Talese (2003)
ISBN 10: 0385503857 ISBN 13: 9780385503853
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Nan A. Talese, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110385503857

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 87.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds