Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780393010466

Fire

Junger, Sebastian

3.54 avg rating
( 1,127 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780393010466: Fire

Forest fires, terrorism, war: explorations of danger by the author of The Perfect Storm.

For readers and viewers of The Perfect Storm, opening this long-awaited new work by Sebastian Junger will be like stepping off the deck of the Andrea Gail and into the inferno of a fire burning out of control in the steep canyons of Idaho. Here is the same meticulous prose brought to bear on the inner workings of a terrifying elemental force; here is a cast of characters risking everything in an effort to bring that force under control.

Few writers have been to so many desperate corners of the globe as has Sebastian Junger; fewer still have provided such starkly memorable evocations of characters and events. From the murderous mechanics of the diamond trade in Sierra Leone to the logic of guerrilla warfare in Afghanistan and the forensics of genocide in Kosovo, this new collection of Junger's nonfiction will take you places you wouldn't dream of going to on your own.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The events explored in Fire focus on "people confronting situations that could easily destroy them," and as he demonstrated in The Perfect Storm, Sebastian Junger is skilled at breaking such situations down to their core elements. In this exciting book, he reports on raging forest fires in the Western U.S, war zones in Kosovo and Afghanistan, the deadly diamond trade in Sierra Leone, the plight of travelers kidnapped by guerrillas in Kashmir, the last living whale harpooner on the Caribbean island of Bequia, and the Greek-Turkish conflict on Cyprus. There is also a fascinating chapter on John Colter (explorer, fur trader, and member of the Corps of Discovery led by Lewis and Clark) in which he comments on the need for some to seek adventure as a means of escape from our relatively safe modern world: "Life in modern society is designed to eliminate as many unforeseen events as possible, and as inviting as that seems, it leaves us hopelessly underutilized.... Threats to our safety and comfort have been so completely wiped out that we have to go out of our way to create them." Junger has a keen grasp on this mentality (in fact, he exhibits it himself), and in Fire he clearly explains the fears and difficulties involved in reporting on dangerous events from foreign countries: "You have two weeks to understand a completely alien culture, find a story that no one has heard of, and run it into the ground. It never feels even remotely possible. But it is." And he has done it well in this thrilling book. --Shawn Carkonen

About the Author:

Sebastian Junger is the author of A Death in Belmont and Fire. He has been awarded a National Magazine Award and an SAIS Novartis Prize for journalism. Most recently, he has been reporting on the war in Afghanistan for Vanity Fair. He lives in New York City.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 1.00

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.59
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Junger, Sebastian Author
Published by W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Brats Bargain Books
(Waresboro, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0393010465 Never Read-may have light shelf or handling wear- Good Copy- I ship FAST!. Bookseller Inventory # SKU000002042

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.59
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Junger, Sebastian Author
Published by W W Norton & Co Inc, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A. (2001)
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pleasant Nights Bookshop
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W W Norton & Co Inc, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A., 2001. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. Sticker on spine of dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory # 004723

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Junger, Sebastian Author
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2001)
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2001. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: For readers of "The Perfect Storm", opening this long-awaited new work by Junger will be like stepping off the deck of the "Andrea Gail" and into the inferno of a fire burning out of control in the steep canyons of Idaho. From the murderous mechanics of the diamond trade in Sierra Leone to the logic of guerrilla warfare in Afghanistan and the forensics of genocide in Kosovo, this new collection of Junger's nonfiction will take readers places they wouldn't dream of going to on their own. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0393010465

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Junger, Sebastian Author
Published by W W Norton & Co, New York, NY (2001)
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Scholar & Poet Books
(Wauwatosa, WI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W W Norton & Co, New York, NY, 2001. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. 8vo - over 7?" - 9?" tall. Clean and tight - unused copy - BRAND NEW!!. Bookseller Inventory # 007004

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Junger, Sebastian Author
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0393010465BNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Junger, Sebastian Author
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grandisbooks
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New and unused. Light shelfwear from storage with other items. Stickers or sticker residue on the cover. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 3148LU000U4C

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Junger, Sebastian Author
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97803930104661.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Junger, Sebastian Author
Published by W. W. Norton & Company 2001-09-24 (2001)
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Richard J. Park, Bookseller
(Leawood, KS, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company 2001-09-24, 2001. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. lst ed. 0393010465 In Protective Shrinkwrap! BRAND NEW & PERFECT! Hardback w/Jacket. Clean, shiny, tight & crisp. GIVE AS A GIFT - They don't come any NICER! Not a Remainder - No marks, writing or stickers inside or out! From a Smoke Free/Pet Free Warehouse. Order with Expedited Shipping for 2 or 3 Business Day delivery! SEE OUR FEEDBACK & BUY WITH CONFIDENCE! APO, FPO & INTERNATIONAL Orders Always Welcome! WE SHIP FAST! And. Thanks!. Bookseller Inventory # BO3-043

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Junger, Sebastian Author
Published by W. W. Norton & Company (2001)
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W. W. Norton & Company, 2001. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. lst ed. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0393010465

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Junger, Sebastian Author
Published by W W Norton & Co Inc, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A. (2001)
ISBN 10: 0393010465 ISBN 13: 9780393010466
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Crowfly Books
(South Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W W Norton & Co Inc, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A., 2001. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition (1st printing), 16mo - over 5¾" - 6¾" tall. This is a New and Unread coy of the first edition (1st printing)l. Bookseller Inventory # 034861

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book