Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780440111207

Catch-22

Heller, Joseph

Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
Image Not Available

Catch-22 is like no other novel. It is one of the funniest books ever written, a keystone work in American literature, and even added a new term to the dictionary.

At the heart of Catch-22 resides the incomparable, malingering bombardier, Yossarian, a hero endlessly inventive in his schemes to save his skin from the horrible chances of war. His efforts are perfectly understandable because as he furiously scrambles, thousands of people he hasn't even met are trying to kill him. His problem is Colonel Cathcart, who keeps raising the number of missions the men must fly to complete their service. Yet if Yossarian makes any attempts to excuse himself from the perilous missions that he is committed to flying, he is trapped by the Great Loyalty Oath Crusade, the hilariously sinister bureaucratic rule from which the book takes its title: a man is considered insane if he willingly continues to fly dangerous combat missions, but if he makes the necessary formal request to be relieved of such missions, the very act of making the request proves that he is sane and therefore ineligible to be relieved.

Catch-22 is a microcosm of the twentieth-century world as it might look to some one dangerously sane -- a masterpiece of our time.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Catch-22 is like no other novel we have ever read. It has its own style, its own rationale, its own extraordinary character. It moves back and forth from hilarity to horror. It is outrageously funny and strangely affecting. It is totally original.

It is set in the closing months of World War II, in an American bomber squadron on a small island off Italy. Its hero is a bombardier named Yossarian, who is frantic and furious because thousands of people he hasn't even met keep trying to kill him. (He has decided to live forever even if he has to die in the attempt.)

Catch-22 is a microcosm of the twentieth-century world as it might look to someone dangerously sane. It is a novel that lives and moves and grows with astonishing power and vitality. It is, we believe, one of the strongest creations of the mid-century.

Performed by Jay O. Sanders

Product Description:

A burlesque epic in the tradition of The Good Soldier Schweik, Catch-22 exposes the absurdity of war by applying its own demented logic to America's involvement in Korea. The 'catch' is that soldiers have to claim to be mad in order to get out of fighting - but being capable of making such a claim automatically proves them sane. With a cast of magnificently larger-than-life characters who are rushed along at a breathless pace, for once this really is a novel it's hard to put down. Catch-22 was made into a film.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Heller, Joseph Author
ISBN 10: 044011120X ISBN 13: 9780440111207
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 044011120XBNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Heller, Joseph Author
ISBN 10: 044011120X ISBN 13: 9780440111207
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97804401112071.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Heller, Joseph Author
Published by Dell
ISBN 10: 044011120X ISBN 13: 9780440111207
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Elderberrybooks
(Elizabeth, CO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dell. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1st Edition. 044011120X 1979 First Dell Edition! Brand New! Never Been Read! 52112. Bookseller Inventory # U5-WZAH-5J31

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 30.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Heller, Joseph Author
Published by Dell (1980)
ISBN 10: 044011120X ISBN 13: 9780440111207
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dell, 1980. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: For use in schools and libraries only. Set during World War II, this grotesque, comic novel recounts the amazing adventures of a bomber squadron. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_044011120X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 42.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Heller, Joseph Author
Published by Dell (1980)
ISBN 10: 044011120X ISBN 13: 9780440111207
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dell, 1980. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX044011120X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 38.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Heller, Joseph Author
Published by Dell (1980)
ISBN 10: 044011120X ISBN 13: 9780440111207
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dell, 1980. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11044011120X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 101.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds