Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780553378504

Circling the Sacred Mountain: A Spiritual Adventure Through the Himalayas

Thurman, Robert; Wise, Tad

3.83 avg rating
( 104 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780553378504: Circling the Sacred Mountain: A Spiritual Adventure Through the Himalayas

In the tradition of The Snow Leopard, Circling the Sacred Mountain is a remarkable account of spiritual adventure through the magical and forbidding landscape of remote western Tibet. A promise of spiritual transformation inspired Robert Thurman-renowned Buddhist scholar, teacher, and close friend of the Dalai Lama-to take a group of trekkers to Mount Kailash, the holiest of Himalayan mountains, and teach them an accelerated path of Tibetan Buddhism. Among the group was a former student and longtime friend, Tad Wise, who struggles with Thurman's teachings as much as with the rigors of high altitude. Together, they take us through an ominous border crossing to sites few Westerners have seen: sacred graveyards, majestic monasteries, and the meditation caves of ancient masters. Chronicling the inner as well as the outer journey, confrontations both physical and metaphysical, Circling the Sacred Mountain is an exciting account of a challenging journey towards enlightenment.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In the harsh, forsaken landscape of Western Tibet, a holy mountain rises up, the legendary center of the world. Sacred to Hindus and Buddhists alike, Mount Kailash had been in professor and popular writer Robert Thurman's mind for some time when he finally decided to organize a group and go--across the Chinese border, where he has always been persona non grata. Writer Tad Wise decides to tag along and put the adventures on paper. While recording Thurman's dharma lectures, Wise comes face to face with the magic of the mountain, its myths and its people, and haltingly transforms from cynical skeptic to tear-streaked pilgrim. Wise's writing leans toward the quirky, pushing ordinary sentences to their lapidary limits, and Thurman, as usual, tosses off tantalizing Buddhisms like "mind-body bubble" and "supreme orgasm of bliss-void-indivisible." For a book that's effectively about walking 32 miles over rubble around a remote peak, Circling the Sacred Mountain succeeds in drawing you into a mandala of swirling ideas and experiences, nudging you toward your own realizations. --Brian Bruya

From the Back Cover:

"In Circling The Sacred Mountain, Thurman and Wise take turns recounting their trip to Mount Kailash...Wise sculps a memorable word-frieze of the peoples and landscapes of Tibet and of his journey through them [and] Thurman's verbal virtuosity shines on these pages, as does his immense talent as a teacher, his ability to relate Buddhist ideas to everyday life and to inspire students to go further ."
--Tricycle

"A fine adventure and a brilliant direct pipeline to the ancient teachings of Tibet."
--Jack Kornfield, author of After the Ecstasy, The Laundry

"Combines the intimacy of a memoir with the true grit of an adventure story-an into thin air for the spiritual set."
-- Harper's Bazaar

"A lively circumambulation of Asia's holy mountain in Tibet, illuminated by Tenzin Thurman's passionate teachings."
--Peter Matthiessen, bestselling author of The Snow Leopard

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 40.62

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Canada to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Thurman, Robert; Wise, Tad Author
Published by Bantam (2000)
ISBN 10: 0553378503 ISBN 13: 9780553378504
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Richmond Hill, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2000. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "InCircling The Sacred Mountain, Thurman and Wise take turns recounting their trip to Mount Kailash.Wise sculps a memorable word-frieze of the peoples and landscapes of Tibet and of his journey through them [and] Thurman's verbal virtuosity shines on these pages, as does his immense talent as a teacher, his ability to relate Buddhist ideas to everyday life and to inspire students to go further ." --Tricycle "A fine adventure and a brilliant direct pipeline to the ancient teachings of Tibet." --Jack Kornfield, author ofAfter the Ecstasy, The Laundry "Combines the intimacy of a memoir with the true grit of an adventure story-an into thin air for the spiritual set." --Harper's Bazaar "A lively circumambulation of Asia's holy mountain in Tibet, illuminated by Tenzin Thurman's passionate teachings." --Peter Matthiessen, bestselling author ofThe Snow Leopard. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0553378503

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Thurman, Robert; Wise, Tad Author
Published by Bantam (2000)
ISBN 10: 0553378503 ISBN 13: 9780553378504
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0553378503

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Thurman, Robert; Wise, Tad Author
Published by Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553378503 ISBN 13: 9780553378504
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BennettBooksLtd
(Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0553378503 New. Has the slightest of shelf wear (like you might see in a major bookstore chain). Looks like an interesting title! We provide domestic tracking upon request, provide personalized customer service and want you to have a great experience purchasing from us. 100% satisfaction guaranteed and thank you for your consideration. Bookseller Inventory # E-0553378503

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 94.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Thurman, Robert; Wise, Tad Author
Published by Bantam (2000)
ISBN 10: 0553378503 ISBN 13: 9780553378504
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bantam, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110553378503

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 106.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Thurman, Robert; Wise, Tad Author
ISBN 10: 0553378503 ISBN 13: 9780553378504
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97805533785041.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 108.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds