Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780679781639

The Knife Thrower: and Other Stories (Vintage Contemporaries)

Millhauser, Steven

4.03 avg rating
( 788 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780679781639: The Knife Thrower: and Other Stories (Vintage Contemporaries)

Included in this short story collection is "The Sisterhood of the Night", now a major motion picture. From the bestselling author of Martin Dressler, this volume explores the magnificent obsessions of the unfettered imagination, as well as the darker, subterranean currents that fuel them.
 
With the panache of an old-fashioned magician, Steven Millhauser conducts his readers from the dark corners beneath the sunlit world to a balloonist's tour of the heavens. He transforms department stores and amusement parks into alternate universes of infinite plentitude and menace. He unveils the secrets of a maker of automatons and a coven of teenage girls. And on every page of The Knife Thrower and Other Stories, Millhauser confirms his stature as a narrative enchanter in the tradition of Nabokov, Calvino, and Borges.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

From the bestselling author of Martin Dressler comes a new collection of short stories that explore the magnificent obsessions of the unfettered imagination, as well as the darker, subterranean currents that fuel them.

With the panache of an old-fashioned magician, Steven Millhauser conducts his readers from the dark corners beneath the sunlit world to a balloonist's tour of the heavens. He transforms department stores and amusement parks into alternate universes of infinite plentitude and menace. He unveils the secrets of a maker of automatons and a coven of teenage girls. And on every page of The Knife Thrower and Other Stories, Millhauser confirms his stature as a narrative enchanter in the tradition of Nabokov, Calvino, and Borges.

Review:

The Knife Thrower introduces a series of distinctively Millhauserian worlds: tiny, fabulous, self-enclosed, like Fabergé eggs or like the short-story genre itself. Flying carpets; subterranean amusement parks; a band of teenage girls who meet secretly in the night in order to do "nothing at all"; a store with departments of Moorish courtyards, volcanoes, and Aztec temples: these are Millhauser's stock-in-trade as a storyteller, and he employs them to characteristically magical effect. As in Millhauser's other books, including Edwin Mullhouse and the Pulitzer Prize-winning Martin Dressler, his subject is nothing less than the faculty of imagination itself. Here, however, the flights of fancy are unencumbered by Martin Dressler's wealth of period detail, and the result is fun-house prose whose pleasures and terrors are equally gossamer. Millhauser possesses the unique ability to render the quotidian strange, so that, emerging from his stories, the reader often feels the world itself an unfamiliar place--as do the shoppers at his department store, that marketplace of skillful illusion: "As we hurry along the sidewalk, we have the absurd sensation that we have entered still another department, composed of ingeniously lifelike streets with artful shadows and reflections--that our destinations lie in a far corner of the same department--that we are condemned to hurry forever through these artificial halls, bright with late afternoon light, in search of the way out."

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 7.39

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Millhauser, Steven Author
Published by Vintage (1999)
ISBN 10: 0679781633 ISBN 13: 9780679781639
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
TR Enterprises
(Ballston Spa, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Unread book in excellent condition, may have slight shelf wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Choose expedited shipping for faster delivery. Bookseller Inventory # EW010214133

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Millhauser, Steven Author
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0679781633 ISBN 13: 9780679781639
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0679781633

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Millhauser, Steven Author
Published by Random House USA Inc, United States (1999)
ISBN 10: 0679781633 ISBN 13: 9780679781639
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House USA Inc, United States, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 202 x 130 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. From the bestselling author of Martin Dressler comes a new collection of short stories that explore the magnificent obsessions of the unfettered imagination, as well as the darker, subterranean currents that fuel them.With the panache of an old-fashioned magician, Steven Millhauser conducts his readers from the dark corners beneath the sunlit world to a balloonist s tour of the heavens. He transforms department stores and amusement parks into alternate universes of infinite plenitude and menace. He unveils the secrets of a maker of automatons and a coven of teenaged girls. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780679781639

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Millhauser, Steven Author
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0679781633 ISBN 13: 9780679781639
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0679781633 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI210886706

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Millhauser, Steven Author
Published by Vintage (1999)
ISBN 10: 0679781633 ISBN 13: 9780679781639
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0679781633

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Millhauser, Steven Author
ISBN 10: 0679781633 ISBN 13: 9780679781639
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97806797816391.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Millhauser, Steven Author
Published by Vintage (1999)
ISBN 10: 0679781633 ISBN 13: 9780679781639
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Richmond Hill, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 1999. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: A Pulitzer Prize-winning author presents a collection of tantalizing stories "as Gothic as Poe and as imaginative as "Fantasia" ("Entertainment Weekly"). Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0679781633

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Millhauser, Steven Author
Published by Random House Inc (1999)
ISBN 10: 0679781633 ISBN 13: 9780679781639
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Inc, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 256 pages. 8.00x5.25x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zr0679781633

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Millhauser, Steven Author
Published by Random House Inc (1999)
ISBN 10: 0679781633 ISBN 13: 9780679781639
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Media Mall
(Fyshwick, ACT, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Inc, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 13.34 x 20.32 cm. In his first book since his 1996 Pulitzer Prize-winning novel Martin Dressler, the author presents a collection of short stories ranging from a magical tale of night baseball to a meditation on adolescent alienation. Reprint. 25,000 . Our orders are sent from our warehouse locally or directly from our international distributors to allow us to offer you the best possible price and delivery time. Book. Bookseller Inventory # MM-20044148

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 13.90
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds