9780786295777

Zoli

McCann, Colum

ISBN 10: 0786295775 / 0-7862-9577-5
ISBN 13: 9780786295777
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Publication Date: 2007
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
A unique love story, a tale of loss, a parable of Europe, this haunting novel is an examination of intimacy and betrayal in a community rarely captured so vibrantly in contemporary literature.

Zoli Novotna, a young woman raised in the traveling Gypsy tradition, is a poet by accident as much as desire. As 1930s fascism spreads over Czechoslovakia, Zoli and her grandfather flee to join a clan of fellow Romani harpists. Sharpened by the world of books, which is often frowned upon in the Romani tradition, Zoli becomes the poster girl for a brave new world. As she shapes the ancient songs to her times, she finds her gift embraced by the Gypsy people and savored by a young English expatriate, Stephen Swann.

But Zoli soon finds that when she falls she cannot fall halfway–neither in love nor in politics. While Zoli’s fame and poetic skills deepen, the ruling Communists begin to use her for their own favor. Cast out from her family, Zoli abandons her past to journey to the West, in a novel that spans the 20th century and travels the breadth of Europe.

Colum McCann, acclaimed author of Dancer and This Side of Brightness, has created a sensuous novel about exile, belonging and survival, based loosely on the true story of the Romani poet Papsuza. It spans the twentieth century and travels the breadth of Europe. In the tradition of Steinbeck, Coetzee, and Ondaatje, McCann finds the art inherent in social and political history, while vividly depicting how far one gifted woman must journey to find where she belongs.

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Zoli: Search Results

1.

McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0786295775
ISBN 13: 9780786295777
Bookseller: Brickyard Books (N Yarmouth, ME, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Thorndike Press, Farmington Hills, Michigan, U.S.A., 2007. Library Binding. Book Condition: New. Large Print/Large Type. Careful packing, quick posting, delivery confirmation. Other Large Print titles in stock too. Bookseller Inventory # 016565

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.50
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
2.

McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0786295775
ISBN 13: 9780786295777
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Thorndike Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Buy with confidence. Excellent Customer Service & Return policy. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0786295775

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.34
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.

McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0786295775
ISBN 13: 9780786295777
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Thorndike Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110786295775

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 57.21
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book