Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780805088618

The Day of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy, 1943-1944 (The Liberation Trilogy)

Atkinson, Rick Author

Image Not Available

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"Majestic... Atkinson’s achievement is to marry prodigious research with a superbly organized narrative and then to overlay the whole with writing as powerful and elegant as any great narrative of war.” —The Wall Street Journal

In An Army at Dawn—winner of the Pulitzer Prize—Rick Atkinson provided an authoritative history of the Allied triumph in North Africa during World War II. Now, in The Day of Battle, he follows the strengthening American and British armies as they invade Sicily in July 1943 and then, mile by bloody mile, fight their way north toward Rome.

The decision to invade the so-called soft underbelly of Europe was controversial, but once under way, the commitment to liberate Italy from the Nazis never wavered. The battles at Salerno, Anzio, the Rapido River, and Monte Cassino were particularly lethal, yet as the months passed, the Allied forces continued to drive the Germans up the Italian peninsula. And with the liberation of Rome in June 1944, ultimate victory at last began to seem inevitable.

Drawing on a wide array of primary source material, written with great drama and flair, The Day of Battle is a masterly account of one of history’s most compelling military campaigns.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amazon Best of the Month, November 2007: Topping a Pulitzer Prize-winning effort is tough; finding originality in a World War II narrative is even tougher. Yet Rick Atkinson accomplishes both with The Day of Battle: The War in Sicily and Italy, 1943-1944. His previous work, An Army at Dawn, won the 2003 Pulitzer in history, but Atkinson has managed to set the bar even higher with his second installment in "The Liberation Trilogy." He descends upon each battlefield with rich historical perspective, tactical analysis, and chilling frontline observations. Cocksure Hollywood bravado is sparse, as Atkinson depicts soldiers fighting for honor, not glory. "We did it because we could not bear the shame of being less than the man beside us," explains one soldier's diary. "We fought because he fought; we died because he died." The result is an incredible portrayal of the courage, sorrow, and determination that came to define our greatest generation. --Dave Callanan

About the Author:

Rick Atkinson, recipient of the 2010 Pritzker Military Library Literature Award for Lifetime Achievement in Military Writing, is the bestselling author of An Army at Dawn, The Long Gray Line, and In the Company of Soldiers. He was a staff writer and senior editor at The Washington Post for twenty years, and his many awards include Pulitzer Prizes for journalism and history. He lives in Washington, D.C.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Atkinson, Rick Author
Published by Henry Holt (2008)
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt, 2008. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Praise for The Day of Battle : "The majestic sequel to his Pulitzer Prize-winning An Army at Dawn . Atkinson's achievement is to marry prodigious research with a superbly organized narrative and then to overlay the whole with writing as powerful and elegant as any great narrative of war." - The Wall Street Journal "Monumental . With this book, Rick Atkinson cements his place among America's great popular historians, in the tradition of Bruce Catton and Stephen Ambrose." - The Washington Post. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_080508861X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Atkinson, Rick Author
Published by HENRY HOLT (2008)
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HENRY HOLT, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VV-9780805088618

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Atkinson, Rick Author
Published by Henry Holt
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 080508861X The second volume in a trilogy chronicling the liberation of Europe during World War II focuses on the Allied campaigns in Sicily and Italy, detailing the bloody battles at Salerno, Anzio, Monte Cassino, and more under the command of controversial Lt. General Mark Clark, as well as the June 1944 liberation of Rome. By the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of An Army at Dawn. Reprint. 150,000 first printing. Bookseller Inventory # 4251500

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Atkinson, Rick Author
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 292991

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Atkinson, Rick Author
Published by St Martin s Press, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(Slough, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description St Martin s Press, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 208 x 140 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Majestic. Atkinson s achievement is to marry prodigious research with a superbly organized narrative and then to overlay the whole with writing as powerful and elegant as any great narrative of war. -- The Wall Street Journal In An Army at Dawn --winner of the Pulitzer Prize--Rick Atkinson provided an authoritative history of the Allied triumph in North Africa during World War II. Now, in The Day of Battle, he follows the strengthening American and British armies as they invade Sicily in July 1943 and then, mile by bloody mile, fight their way north toward Rome. The decision to invade the so-called soft underbelly of Europe was controversial, but once under way, the commitment to liberate Italy from the Nazis never wavered. The battles at Salerno, Anzio, the Rapido River, and Monte Cassino were particularly lethal, yet as the months passed, the Allied forces continued to drive the Germans up the Italian peninsula. And with the liberation of Rome in June 1944, ultimate victory at last began to seem inevitable.Drawing on a wide array of primary source material, written with great drama and flair, The Day of Battle is a masterly account of one of history s most compelling military campaigns. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9780805088618

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Atkinson, Rick Author
Published by Henry Holt
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 080508861X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Atkinson, Rick Author
Published by Henry Holt
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 080508861X. Bookseller Inventory # Z080508861XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Atkinson, Rick Author
Published by Henry Holt
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 080508861X. Bookseller Inventory # Z080508861XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Atkinson, Rick Author
Published by Henry Holt
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 080508861X. Bookseller Inventory # Z080508861XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Atkinson, Rick Author
ISBN 10: 080508861X ISBN 13: 9780805088618
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
English-Book-Service - A Fine Choice
(Waldshut-Tiengen, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Publisher/Verlag: Macmillan US | The War in Sicily and Italy, 1943-1944 | The second volume in a trilogy chronicling the liberation of Europe during World War II focuses on the Allied campaigns in Sicily and Italy, detailing the bloody battles at Salerno, Anzio, Monte Cassino, and more under the command of controversial Lt. General Mark Clark, as well as the June 1944 liberation of Rome. | Format: Paperback | Language/Sprache: english | 653 gr | 210x140x39 mm | 791 pp. Bookseller Inventory # K9780805088618

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.80
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 28 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book