9780812972498

Rosewater and Soda Bread: A Novel

Mehran, Marsha

ISBN 10: 081297249X / 0-8129-7249-X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Publication Date: 2008
Binding: Softcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
“Mehran’s novel delights the senses on every page. The story pulses with life as three Iranian sisters struggle to make sense of matters of the heart and the spirit.”
–Elizabeth Cox, author of The Slow Moon

More than a year has passed since Marjan, Bahar, and Layla, the beautiful Iranian Aminpour sisters, sought refuge in the quaint Irish town of Ballinacroagh. Opening the beguiling Babylon Café, they charmed the locals with their warm hearts and delectable Persian cuisine, bringing a saffron-scented spice to the once-sleepy village.

But when a young woman with a dark secret literally washes up on Clew Bay Beach, the sisters’ world is once again turned upside down. With pale skin and webbed hands, the girl is otherworldly, but her wounds tell a more earthly (and graver) story–one that sends the strict Catholic town into an uproar. The Aminpours rally around the newcomer, but each sister must also contend with her own transformation–Marjan tests her feelings for love with a dashing writer, Bahar takes on a new spiritual commitment with the help of Father Mahoney, and Layla matures into a young woman when she and her boyfriend, Malachy, step up their hot and heavy relationship.

Filled with mouthwatering recipes and enchanting details of life in Ireland, Rosewater and Soda Bread is infused with a lyrical warmth that radiates from the Aminpour family and their big-hearted Italian landlady, Estelle, to the whole of Ballinacroagh–and the world beyond.


Praise for Marsha Mehran’s Pomegranate Soup

“A mouthwatering tale with flavors of Chocolat and Under the Tuscan Sun . . . sinfully sweet and satisfying.”
–Orlando Sentinel

“Glorious, daring, and delightful, filled with humor, hope, and possibility.”
–Adriana Trigiani, author of the Big Stone Gap novels

“An enchanting tale of love, family, and renewal.”
–Firoozeh Dumas, author of Laughing Without an Accent

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Rosewater and Soda Bread: A Novel: Search Results

1.
Rosewater and Soda Bread (ISBN: 081297249X / 0-8129-7249-X)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: INDOO (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 081297249X

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.20
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
2.
Rosewater and Soda Bread (ISBN: 9780812972498)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Random House Publishing Group, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # VR-9780812972498

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.72
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.
Rosewater and Soda Bread: A Novel (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780812972498)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Random House USA Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 203 x 132 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Mehran s novel delights the senses on every page. The story pulses with life as three Iranian sisters struggle to make sense of matters of the heart and the spirit. -Elizabeth Cox, author of The Slow Moon More than a year has passed since Marjan, Bahar, and Layla, the beautiful Iranian Aminpour sisters, sought refuge in the quaint Irish town of Ballinacroagh. Opening the beguiling Babylon Cafe, they charmed the locals with their warm hearts and delectable Persian cuisine, bringing a saffron-scented spice to the once-sleepy village. But when a young woman with a dark secret literally washes up on Clew Bay Beach, the sisters world is once again turned upside down. With pale skin and webbed hands, the girl is otherworldly, but her wounds tell a more earthly (and graver) story-one that sends the strict Catholic town into an uproar. The Aminpours rally around the newcomer, but each sister must also contend with her own transformation-Marjan tests her feelings for love with a dashing writer, Bahar takes on a new spiritual commitment with the help of Father Mahoney, and Layla matures into a young woman when she and her boyfriend, Malachy, step up their hot and heavy relationship. Filled with mouthwatering recipes and enchanting details of life in Ireland, Rosewater and Soda Bread is infused with a lyrical warmth that radiates from the Aminpour family and their big-hearted Italian landlady, Estelle, to the whole of Ballinacroagh-and the world beyond. Praise for Marsha Mehran s Pomegranate Soup A mouthwatering tale with flavors of Chocolat and Under the Tuscan Sun . . . sinfully sweet and satisfying. -Orlando Sentinel Glorious, daring, and delightful, filled with humor, hope, and possibility. -Adriana Trigiani, author of the Big Stone Gap novels An enchanting tale of love, family, and renewal. -Firoozeh Dumas, author of Laughing Without an Accent. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780812972498

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.07
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
4.
Rosewater and Soda Bread: A Novel (ISBN: 081297249X / 0-8129-7249-X)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: Nataraj Books, Inc. (Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Random House Trade Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 081297249X *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI210656529

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.19
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
5.
Rosewater and Soda Bread (ISBN: 9780812972498)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: BargainBookStores (Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 995458

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.38
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
6.
Rosewater and Soda Bread: A Novel (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780812972498)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Gloucester, UK, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Random House USA Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 202 x 130 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Mehran s novel delights the senses on every page. The story pulses with life as three Iranian sisters struggle to make sense of matters of the heart and the spirit. -Elizabeth Cox, author of The Slow Moon More than a year has passed since Marjan, Bahar, and Layla, the beautiful Iranian Aminpour sisters, sought refuge in the quaint Irish town of Ballinacroagh. Opening the beguiling Babylon Cafe, they charmed the locals with their warm hearts and delectable Persian cuisine, bringing a saffron-scented spice to the once-sleepy village. But when a young woman with a dark secret literally washes up on Clew Bay Beach, the sisters world is once again turned upside down. With pale skin and webbed hands, the girl is otherworldly, but her wounds tell a more earthly (and graver) story-one that sends the strict Catholic town into an uproar. The Aminpours rally around the newcomer, but each sister must also contend with her own transformation-Marjan tests her feelings for love with a dashing writer, Bahar takes on a new spiritual commitment with the help of Father Mahoney, and Layla matures into a young woman when she and her boyfriend, Malachy, step up their hot and heavy relationship. Filled with mouthwatering recipes and enchanting details of life in Ireland, Rosewater and Soda Bread is infused with a lyrical warmth that radiates from the Aminpour family and their big-hearted Italian landlady, Estelle, to the whole of Ballinacroagh-and the world beyond. Praise for Marsha Mehran s Pomegranate Soup A mouthwatering tale with flavors of Chocolat and Under the Tuscan Sun . . . sinfully sweet and satisfying. -Orlando Sentinel Glorious, daring, and delightful, filled with humor, hope, and possibility. -Adriana Trigiani, author of the Big Stone Gap novels An enchanting tale of love, family, and renewal. -Firoozeh Dumas, author of Laughing Without an Accent. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780812972498

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.79
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
7.
Rosewater and Soda Bread (Paperback) (ISBN: 081297249X / 0-8129-7249-X)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: Grand Eagle Retail (Romulus, MI, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. 131mm x 17mm x 202mm. Paperback. 'Pomegranate Soup', for fans of 'Chocolat' and 'Like Water for Chocolate'. This delightful novel from the international bestselling author of "Pomegranate Soup" follows the heart.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 292 pages. 0.313. Bookseller Inventory # 9780812972498

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 16.17
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
8.
Rosewater and Soda Bread: A Novel (ISBN: 081297249X / 0-8129-7249-X)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: Vital Products COM LLC (Churchville, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Random House Trade Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 081297249X Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # Z081297249XZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 16.64
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
9.
Rosewater and Soda Bread: A Novel (ISBN: 081297249X / 0-8129-7249-X)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: Booklot COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Random House Trade Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 081297249X Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # Z081297249XZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 16.64
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
10.
Rosewater and Soda Bread: A Novel (ISBN: 081297249X / 0-8129-7249-X)
Mehran, Marsha
ISBN 10: 081297249X
ISBN 13: 9780812972498
Bookseller: BookShop4U (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Random House Trade Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 081297249X Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # Z081297249XZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 16.64
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book