9780812973983

Zoli

ISBN 10: 0812973984 / 0-8129-7398-4
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Publisher: Random House Inc
Publication Date: 2008
Binding: Softcover
Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis:
As fascism spreads across 1930s Europe, Zoli Novotna, a young Gypsy poet, and her grandfather seek refuge with a clan of Romani harpists, where her fame as a poet leads to estrangement from her family, exploitation by the ruling Communists, and a flight to the West as she struggles to find where she truly belongs, in a novel loosely based on the life of Romani poet Papsuza. Reprint. 10,000 first printing.

Review:
"A very convincing and very powerful story about the strength of community and the burden of exile." (starred review)

Booklist, 11/15/2006

 

Zoli: Search Results

1.
Zoli: A Novel (ISBN: 0812973984 / 0-8129-7398-4)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: scafurobooks (N. Falmouth, MA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Random House Trade Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0812973984 NEW softcover. Tight & clean. Bookseller Inventory # 112613F

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.39
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
2.
Zoli (ISBN: 9780812973983)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: Paperbackshop-US (Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Random House Publishing Group, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US. Bookseller Inventory # VR-9780812973983

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.56
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
3.
Zoli (ISBN: 0812973984 / 0-8129-7398-4)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: INDOO (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0812973984

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 8.20
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
4.
Zoli (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780812973983)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: The Book Depository US (Gloucester, ., United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Random House USA Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 202 x 141 mm. Brand New Book. A unique love story, a tale of loss, a parable of Europe, this haunting novel is an examination of intimacy and betrayal in a community rarely captured so vibrantly in contemporary literature. Zoli Novotna, a young woman raised in the traveling Gypsy tradition, is a poet by accident as much as desire. As 1930s fascism spreads over Czechoslovakia, Zoli and her grandfather flee to join a clan of fellow Romani harpists. Sharpened by the world of books, which is often frowned upon in the Romani tradition, Zoli becomes the poster girl for a brave new world. As she shapes the ancient songs to her times, she finds her gift embraced by the Gypsy people and savored by a young English expatriate, Stephen Swann. But Zoli soon finds that when she falls she cannot fall halfway-neither in love nor in politics. While Zoli s fame and poetic skills deepen, the ruling Communists begin to use her for their own favor. Cast out from her family, Zoli abandons her past to journey to the West, in a novel that spans the 20th century and travels the breadth of Europe. Colum McCann, acclaimed author of Dancer and This Side of Brightness, has created a sensuous novel about exile, belonging and survival, based loosely on the true story of the Romani poet Papsuza. It spans the twentieth century and travels the breadth of Europe. In the tradition of Steinbeck, Coetzee, and Ondaatje, McCann finds the art inherent in social and political history, while vividly depicting how far one gifted woman must journey to find where she belongs. From the Hardcover edition. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780812973983

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 13.12
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
5.
Zoli (ISBN: 9780812973983)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Bedford, NS, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New * All orders are processed and shipped from Las Vegas, NV USA *. Bookseller Inventory # 97808129739831.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.58
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
6.
Zoli: A Novel (ISBN: 0812973984 / 0-8129-7398-4)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: Nataraj Books, Inc. (Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Random House Trade Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0812973984 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI210656010

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 10.36
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
7.
Zoli (Paperback) (ISBN: 9780812973983)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: The Book Depository (Gloucester, UK, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Random House USA Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 202 x 141 mm. Brand New Book. A unique love story, a tale of loss, a parable of Europe, this haunting novel is an examination of intimacy and betrayal in a community rarely captured so vibrantly in contemporary literature. Zoli Novotna, a young woman raised in the traveling Gypsy tradition, is a poet by accident as much as desire. As 1930s fascism spreads over Czechoslovakia, Zoli and her grandfather flee to join a clan of fellow Romani harpists. Sharpened by the world of books, which is often frowned upon in the Romani tradition, Zoli becomes the poster girl for a brave new world. As she shapes the ancient songs to her times, she finds her gift embraced by the Gypsy people and savored by a young English expatriate, Stephen Swann. But Zoli soon finds that when she falls she cannot fall halfway-neither in love nor in politics. While Zoli s fame and poetic skills deepen, the ruling Communists begin to use her for their own favor. Cast out from her family, Zoli abandons her past to journey to the West, in a novel that spans the 20th century and travels the breadth of Europe. Colum McCann, acclaimed author of Dancer and This Side of Brightness, has created a sensuous novel about exile, belonging and survival, based loosely on the true story of the Romani poet Papsuza. It spans the twentieth century and travels the breadth of Europe. In the tradition of Steinbeck, Coetzee, and Ondaatje, McCann finds the art inherent in social and political history, while vividly depicting how far one gifted woman must journey to find where she belongs. From the Hardcover edition. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780812973983

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.73
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
8.
Zoli: A Novel (ISBN: 0812973984 / 0-8129-7398-4)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Random House Trade Paperbacks. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0812973984

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.03
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
9.
Zoli: A Novel (ISBN: 9780812973983)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: BuySomeBooks (Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 14

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. A unique love story, a tale of loss, a parable of Europe, this haunting novel is an examination of intimacy and betrayal in a community rarely captured so vibrantly in contemporary literature. Zoli Novotna, a young woman raised in the traveling Gypsy tradition, is a poet by accident as much as desire. As 1930s fascism spreads over Czechoslovakia, Zoli and her grandfather flee to join a clan of fellow Romani harpists. Sharpened by the world of books, which is often frowned upon in the Romani tradition, Zoli becomes the poster girl for a brave new world. As she shapes the ancient songs to her times, she finds her gift embraced by the Gypsy people and savored by a young English expatriate, Stephen Swann. But Zoli soon finds that when she falls she cannot fall halfwayneither in love nor in politics. While Zolis fame and poetic skills deepen, the ruling Communists begin to use her for their own favor. Cast out from her family, Zoli abandons her past to journey to the West, in a novel that spans the 20th century and travels the breadth of Europe. Colum McCann, acclaimed author of Dancer and This Side of Brightness, has created a sensuous novel about exile, belonging and survival, based loosely on the true story of the Romani poet Papsuza. It spans the twentieth century and travels the breadth of Europe. In the tradition of Steinbeck, Coetzee, and Ondaatje, McCann finds the art inherent in social and political history, while vividly depicting how far one gifted woman must journey to find where she belongs. From the Hardcover edition. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN, Momence,IL, Commerce,GA. book. Bookseller Inventory # 9780812973983

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.96
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
10.
Zoli: A Novel (ISBN: 0812973984 / 0-8129-7398-4)
McCann, Colum
ISBN 10: 0812973984
ISBN 13: 9780812973983
Bookseller: Russell Books (Victoria, BC, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 6

Book Description: Random House Trade Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0812973984 Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9780812973983

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book