9781400138098

The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain

Lakoff, George

ISBN 10: 1400138094 / 1-4001-3809-4
ISBN 13: 9781400138098
Publisher: Tantor
Publication Date: 2008

Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
In What's the Matter with Kansas? Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.

As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain—and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another—or building a whole new narrative altogether—can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn't like changing your body—it's the same thing.

But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.

This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain: Search Results

1.
The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain (ISBN: 1400138094 / 1-4001-3809-4)
Lakoff, George
ISBN 10: 1400138094
ISBN 13: 9781400138098
Bookseller: Revaluation Books (Exeter, DEV, United Kingdom)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Tantor Media, 2008. Audio CD. Book Condition: Brand New. unabridged,library - unabridged cd edition. 6.75x6.75x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 1400138094

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 124.76
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 9.86
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book