9781439150009

The Christmas List: A Novel

Evans, Richard Paul

ISBN 10: 1439150001 / 1-4391-5000-1
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2009
Binding: Hardcover
About this title:
Synopsis:
Dear Reader,

When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Johnson, gave our class the intriguing (if somewhat macabre) assignment of writing our own obituaries. Oddly, I don't remember much of what I wrote about my life, but I do remember how I died: in first place on the final lap of the Daytona 500. At the time, I hadn't considered writing as an occupation, a field with a remarkably low on-the-job casualty rate.

What intrigues me most about Mrs. Johnson's assignment is the opportunity she gave us to confront our own legacy. How do we want to be remembered? That question has motivated our species since the beginning of time: from building pyramids to putting our names on skyscrapers.

As I began to write this book, I had two objectives: First, I wanted to explore what could happen if someone read their obituary before they died and saw, firsthand, what the world really thought of them. Their legacy.

Second, I wanted to write a Christmas story of true redemption. One of my family's holiday traditions is to see a local production of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. I don't know how many times I've seen it (perhaps a dozen), but it still thrills me to see the change that comes over Ebenezer Scrooge as he transforms from a dull, tight-fisted miser into a penitent, "giddy-as-aschoolboy" man with love in his heart. I always leave the show with a smile on my face and a resolve to be a better person. That's what I wanted to share with you, my dear readers, this Christmas -- a holiday tale to warm your season, your homes, and your hearts.

Merry Christmas --Richard Paul Evans


About the Author:
 Richard Paul Evans is the #1 bestselling author of The Christmas Box. Each of his more than twenty novels has been a New York Times bestseller. There are more than 17 million copies of his books in print worldwide, translated into more than twenty-four languages. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the American Mothers Book Award, the Romantic Times Best Women’s Novel of the Year Award, the German Audience Gold Award for Romance, three Religion Communicators Council Wilbur Awards, the Washington Times Humanitarian of the Century Award, and the Volunteers of America National Empathy Award. He lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, with his wife, Keri, and their five children. You can learn more about Richard on Facebook.com/RPEFans, or visit his website RichardPaulEvans.com.

About the Author:
Richard Paul Evans is the #1 bestselling author of The Christmas Box. Each of his more than twenty novels has appeared on the New York Times bestseller list, and there are more than seventeen million copies of his books in print. His books have been translated into more than twenty-four languages and several have been international bestsellers. He is the winner of the American Mothers Book Award, two first place Storytelling World Awards for his children’s books, and the Romantic Times Best Women’s Novel of the Year Award. Evans received the Washington Times Humanitarian of the Century Award and the Volunteers of America National Empathy Award for his work helping abused children. Evans lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, with his wife, Keri, and their five children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.
 

The Christmas List: A Novel: Search Results

1.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: Bookhouse COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1439150001. Bookseller Inventory # Z1439150001ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 2.74
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
2.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: BookShop4U (PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1439150001. Bookseller Inventory # Z1439150001ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 2.83
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
3.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: Vital Products COM LLC (Churchville, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1439150001. Bookseller Inventory # Z1439150001ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 2.83
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
4.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: Ebooksweb COM LLC (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster 2009-10-06, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 1439150001. Bookseller Inventory # Z1439150001ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 2.92
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
5.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: Booklot COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 10

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1439150001. Bookseller Inventory # Z1439150001ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 2.92
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
6.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: Qwestbooks COM LLC (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1439150001. Bookseller Inventory # Z1439150001ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 2.92
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
7.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: Your Online Bookstore (Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1439150001. Bookseller Inventory # GHT5090RVAC021615H0485B

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 1.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
8.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: Orion Tech (Oak Ridge, TN, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1439150001 . Bookseller Inventory # GRW8230ESEV021915H0171P

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 1.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
9.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Simon & Schuster, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift , and Finding Noel . The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption. Dear Reader, When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Johnson, gave our class the intriguing (if somewhat macabre) assignment of writing our own obituaries. Oddly, I don't remember much of what I wrote about my life, but I do remember how I died: in first place on the final lap of the Daytona 500. At the time, I hadn't considered writing as an occupation, a field with a remarkably low on-the-job casualty rate. What intrigues me most about Mrs. Johnson's assignment is the opportunity she gave us to confront our own legacy. How do we want to be remembered? That question has motivated our species since the beginning of time: from building pyramids to putting our names on skyscrapers. As I began to write this book, I had two objectives: First, I wanted to explore what could happen if someone read their obituary before they died and saw, firsthand, what the world really thought of them. Their legacy. Second, I wanted to write a Christmas story of true redemption. One of my family's holiday traditions is to see a local production of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol . I don't know how many times I've seen it (perhaps a dozen), but it still thrills me to see the change that comes over Ebenezer Scrooge as he transforms from a dull, tight-fisted miser into a penitent, "giddy-as-aschoolboy" man with love in his heart. I always leave the show with a smile on my face and a resolve to be a better person. That's what I wanted to share with you, my dear readers, this Christmas -- a holiday tale to warm your season, your homes, and your hearts. Merry Christmas. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_1439150001

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 4.47
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
10.

Evans, Richard Paul
ISBN 10: 1439150001
ISBN 13: 9781439150009
Bookseller: Big River Books (Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY87T003GPB

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 1.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.49
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book