9781564784506

I'm Not Stiller

Frisch, Max

ISBN 10: 1564784509 / 1-56478-450-9
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Publication Date: 2006
Binding: Softcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:

"Readers cannot but feel the force of what remains one of the most important novels of the post-war years."—Times Literary Supplement

Arrested and imprisoned in a small Swiss town, a prisoner begins this book with an exclamation: "I'm not Stiller!" He claims that his name is Jim White, that he has been jailed under false charges and under the wrong identity. To prove he is who he claims to be, he confesses to three unsolved murders and recalls in great detail an adventuresome life in America and Mexico among cowboys and peasants, in back alleys and docks. He is consumed by "the morbid impulse to convince," but no one believes him.

This is a harrowing account—part Kafka, part Camus—of the power of self-deception and the freedom that ultimately lies in self-acceptance. Simultaneously haunting and humorous, I'm Not Stiller has come to be recognized as "one of the major post-war works of fiction" and a masterpiece of German literature.

Review:
Arrested and imprisoned in a small Swiss town, a prisoner begins this book with an exclamation: "I'm not Stiller!" He claims that his name is Jim White, that he has been jailed under false charges and under the wrong identity. To prove he is who he claims to be, he confesses to three unsolved murders and recalls in great detail an adventuresome life in America and Mexico among cowboys and peasants, in back alleys and docks. He is consumed by "the morbid impulse to convince," but no one believes him. This is a harrowing account--part Kafka, part Camus--of the power of self-deception and the freedom that ultimately lies in self-acceptance. Simultaneously haunting and humorous, I'm Not Stiller has come to be recognized as "one of the major post-war works of fiction" and a masterpiece of German literature.

Product Description

Review:
Text: English (translation)
Original Language: German

Language Notes

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

I'm Not Stiller: Search Results

1.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: Ebooksweb COM LLC (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Dalkey Archive Press 2006-11-01, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1564784509. Bookseller Inventory # Z1564784509ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 7.59
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
2.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: Daedalus Books (Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Dalkey Archive. 1 Paperback(s), 2012. soft. Book Condition: New. Arrested and imprisoned in a small Swiss town, a prisoner begins this book with an exclamation: "I'm not Stiller!" claiming that his name is Jim White, that he has been jailed under false charges and under the wrong identity, in this novel by Max Frisch, increasingly considered Switzerland's greatest 20th-century author. To prove he is who he claims to be, "Stiller" confesses to three unsolved murders and recalls in great detail an adventuresome life in America and Mexico among cowboys and peasants, in back alleys and docks—and yet no one can believe him. In the tradition of Kafka and Camus, this is a harrowing account of the power of self-deception and the freedom that ultimately lies in self-acceptance."Readers cannot but feel the force of what remains one of the most important novels of the post-war years."—Times Literary Supplement 377. Bookseller Inventory # 33988

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 4.98
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
3.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: Booklot COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Dalkey Archive Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1564784509. Bookseller Inventory # Z1564784509ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 12.54
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
4.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: ExtremelyReliable (Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Dalkey Archive Pr. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1564784509

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 9.73
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
5.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: BookShop4U (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: > 20

Book Description: Dalkey Archive Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1564784509. Bookseller Inventory # Z1564784509ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 14.27
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
6.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: Bookhouse COM LLC (Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 3-star rating
Quantity Available: 20

Book Description: Dalkey Archive Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1564784509. Bookseller Inventory # Z1564784509ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.22
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
7.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: Qwestbooks COM LLC (Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 2-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Dalkey Archive Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1564784509. Bookseller Inventory # Z1564784509ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 15.22
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
8.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: Vital Products COM LLC (Churchville, PA, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 3

Book Description: Dalkey Archive Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1564784509. Bookseller Inventory # Z1564784509ZN

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 25.67
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
9.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: FOURSEASONS4JOY, LLC (CHICAGO, IL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 1564784509BNA

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 24.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
10.

Frisch, Max
ISBN 10: 1564784509
ISBN 13: 9781564784506
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Amherst, NS, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New * All orders are processed and shipped from Las Vegas, NV USA *. Bookseller Inventory # 97815647845061.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 25.42
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
From Canada to U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book