Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9781564784506

I'm Not Stiller

Frisch, Max

Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
Image Not Available

"Readers cannot but feel the force of what remains one of the most important novels of the post-war years."—Times Literary Supplement

Arrested and imprisoned in a small Swiss town, a prisoner begins this book with an exclamation: "I'm not Stiller!" He claims that his name is Jim White, that he has been jailed under false charges and under the wrong identity. To prove he is who he claims to be, he confesses to three unsolved murders and recalls in great detail an adventuresome life in America and Mexico among cowboys and peasants, in back alleys and docks. He is consumed by "the morbid impulse to convince," but no one believes him.

This is a harrowing account—part Kafka, part Camus—of the power of self-deception and the freedom that ultimately lies in self-acceptance. Simultaneously haunting and humorous, I'm Not Stiller has come to be recognized as "one of the major post-war works of fiction" and a masterpiece of German literature.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Arrested and imprisoned in a small Swiss town, a prisoner begins this book with an exclamation: "I'm not Stiller!" He claims that his name is Jim White, that he has been jailed under false charges and under the wrong identity. To prove he is who he claims to be, he confesses to three unsolved murders and recalls in great detail an adventuresome life in America and Mexico among cowboys and peasants, in back alleys and docks. He is consumed by "the morbid impulse to convince," but no one believes him. This is a harrowing account--part Kafka, part Camus--of the power of self-deception and the freedom that ultimately lies in self-acceptance. Simultaneously haunting and humorous, I'm Not Stiller has come to be recognized as "one of the major post-war works of fiction" and a masterpiece of German literature.

About the Author:

Max Frisch was born in Zurich, Switzerland before the First World War and was a soldier in the Second. In the interwar years, he traveled throughout Eastern and Central Europe as a journalist. After serving as a gunner on the Austrian and Italian borders, he followed in his father's footsteps and became an architect. These experiences helped forge the moral consciousness and the concern for human freedom that mark his writing. The author of I'm Not Stiller, Homo Faber, Man in the Holocene, Montauk, and Gantenbein, Frisch was one of Europe's most important postwar writers.

I'm Not Stiller translator Michael Bullock taught for many years in the Creative Writing Department at the University of British Columbia. In addition to translating, he is a poet and fiction writer.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$
US$ 4.98

Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Frisch, Max Author
Published by Dalkey Archive. 1 Paperback(s) (2012)
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New soft Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Daedalus Books
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive. 1 Paperback(s), 2012. soft. Book Condition: New. Arrested and imprisoned in a small Swiss town, a prisoner begins this book with an exclamation: "I'm not Stiller!" claiming that his name is Jim White, that he has been jailed under false charges and under the wrong identity, in this novel by Max Frisch, increasingly considered Switzerland's greatest 20th-century author. To prove he is who he claims to be, "Stiller" confesses to three murders and recalls in great detail an adventuresome life in America and Mexico among cowboys and peasants, in back alleys and docks—and yet no one can believe him. In the tradition of Kafka and Camus but with a humor all its own, Frisch's 1954 novel is also a compelling portrait of a failed marriage and a satire of Swiss complacency."Readers cannot but feel the force of what remains one of the most important novels of the post-war years."—Times Literary Supplement 377. Bookseller Inventory # 33988

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Frisch, Max Author
Published by Dalkey Archive Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press, 2006. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Arrested and imprisoned in a small Swiss town,a prisoner begins this book with an exclamation:?I'm not Stiller! ? He claims that his name isJim White, that he has been jailed under falsecharges and under the wrong identity. To provehe is who he claims to be, he confesses to threeunsolved murders and recalls in great detail anadventuresome life in America and Mexico amongcowboys and peasants, in back alleys and docks.He is consumed by ?the morbid impulse to convince,?but no one believes him. This is a harrowingaccount'part Kafka, part Camus'of thepower of self-deception and the freedom thatultimately lies in self-acceptance. Simultaneouslyhaunting and humorous, I'm Not Stiller has cometo be recognized as ?one of the major post-warworks of fiction? and a masterpiece of Germanliterature. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_1564784509

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Frisch, Max Author
Published by Dalkey Archive Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Secaucus, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press, 2006. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KB-9781564784506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Frisch, Max Author
Published by Dalkey Archive Press, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 213 x 140 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Arrested and imprisoned in a small Swiss town, a prisoner begins this book with an exclamation: I m not Stiller! He claims that his name is Jim White, that he has been jailed under false charges and under the wrong identity. To prove he is who he claims to be, he confesses to three unsolved murders and recalls in great detail an adventuresome life in America and Mexico among cowboys and peasants, in back alleys and docks. He is consumed by the morbid impulse to convince, but no one believes him. This is a harrowing account part Kafka, part Camus of the power of self-deception and the freedom that ultimately lies in self-acceptance. Simultaneously haunting and humorous, I m Not Stiller has come to be recognized as one of the major post-war works of fiction and a masterpiece of German literature. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781564784506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Frisch, Max Author
Published by Dalkey Archive Press, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 213 x 140 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. Arrested and imprisoned in a small Swiss town, a prisoner begins this book with an exclamation: I m not Stiller! He claims that his name is Jim White, that he has been jailed under false charges and under the wrong identity. To prove he is who he claims to be, he confesses to three unsolved murders and recalls in great detail an adventuresome life in America and Mexico among cowboys and peasants, in back alleys and docks. He is consumed by the morbid impulse to convince, but no one believes him. This is a harrowing account part Kafka, part Camus of the power of self-deception and the freedom that ultimately lies in self-acceptance. Simultaneously haunting and humorous, I m Not Stiller has come to be recognized as one of the major post-war works of fiction and a masterpiece of German literature. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9781564784506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Frisch, Max Author
Published by Dalkey Archive Press
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1564784509 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 4122299

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Frisch, Max Author
Published by Dalkey Archive Pr (2006)
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Pr, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1564784509

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Frisch, Max Author
Published by Dalkey Archive Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
English-Book-Service - A Fine Choice
(Waldshut-Tiengen, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Press, 2006. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TB9781564784506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.88
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Frisch, Max Author
Published by Dalkey Archive Pr (2006)
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dalkey Archive Pr, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. first dalkey archive edition. 377 pages. 8.25x5.25x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-1564784509

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Frisch, Max Author
ISBN 10: 1564784509 ISBN 13: 9781564784506
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 1564784509BNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book